We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love, love, love!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love, love, love!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Shambles, I felt like I was living in a Scottish fairy tale. Each of the cottage's four rooms, quaintly decorated in Scottish period pieces, transported you back in time and to another world. Beautiful flowerbeds surrounded the property, and the on-site laundry room was an added blessing. Hosts Louise and Rob were so welcoming, helpful, and gracious; I was ready to move in permanently and did not want to leave! The food provided in the kitchen was ample enough for breakfast and a road snack as well. I would go back in a heartbeat if it weren't half-way around the world away!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanineKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    22
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
99
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

What a great place to stay. A short trip to Launceston shopping centre. The accommodation is tastefully decorated with period pieces. Stayed in the Welsh Cottage, cosy dining / kitchen area, nice relaxing lounge area, wonderful bedroom and well appointed bathroom with spa bath and separate shower. I think it is the little things that really impress, a selection of old books, fireplace, crockery and art works. Totally relaxing and wish we could have stayed for more than 2 nights.

Room Tip: Each of the spa hideaways are similar and would be of similar quality. This is a great place for a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_G255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swan hill
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

we loved alices cottages.the location was within easy walking distance of most of launcestons many attractions and the surrounding countryside was beautiful if you hire a car and go touring as we did .Bonnie Doon our cottage decorated [in a scottish theme complete with authentic 4 poster bed] was warm and well equipped for those who wish to dine in.A very generous continental breakfast was supplied for each days occupancy the cottage even came with thomas the cat who if you wanted his company would curl up happily in front of the fire each evening.Yes i can honestly say i could recommend these cottages to anyone we are well travelled and rate these cottages very highly.The owners are to be congratulated for creating such a special unique form of accomadation.We cant wait to come back next year.

Room Tip: bonnie doon had a great spa comfortable bed and onsite parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pappi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Louise & Rob have created a truly great property. The accommodation is fantastic, the renovations are true to the period, the hosts are generous with food, the port and other supplies that stop the rush to a supermarket. Your hosts are a good source of information about trips around the place and offer their advice freely.

This property lived up to and beyond its brochure blurb - and look out for Ziggy the cat; my bootlaces are just recovering from the 'attention' - but it was good fun!

Room Tip: All rooms are great - book with confidence
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Brilliant cottages, lots of thought and care taken to make it a very pleasant experince.
Couldn't have had a better time.
Our hosts were pleasant and efficient, great food for breakfasts, comfy bed .
Huge bathroom and spa bath , very relaxing, in a great area .

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

We almost didn't book this place as we were a bit put off by the web site's focus on honeymoons. But we were glad we did as the cottages are a neat part of history, well stocked and roomy. They made a great base for exploring wine country and lavender fields. The only downside is you are supposed to wash your own dishes and they dont clean the room each night. At the price we paid, that seems unreasonable. Can you really trust the last customers to really have hand washed the dishes? We sure didn't.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
165 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Louise and Rob took perfect care of us, gave us the perfect cottage, the cottage is equipped with every possible thing one would need in a house, it is huge place, perfect for couples as well as a family, laundry, kitchen every thing is taken care of in the cottage itself, so you don't need to go out for all of this.
i really liked the antiques and the way each cottage is different from the other and decorated so well. it was a great place to stay here, we stayed in a spa cottage and it was something very different than what we have experienced before

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atwin90frames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways

Property: Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways
Address: 121 Balfour St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a wickedly wonderful romantic retreat in one of Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways tucked away in the historic heart of Launceston. The accommodation is self-contained with roaring log fires and bubbling spas. Launceston's finest restaurants and fabulous Cataract Gorge are a pleasant stroll away. Saviour the complimentary bedtime port, chocolate truffles, brewed coffee and sweet treats which all just tops a tremendous experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice's Cottages And Spa Hideaways Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing