We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD WORLD CHARM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights in Aphrodites and highly recommend this place. It was peaceful and quite. Beds were soft and comfy. Huge bathroom. Kitchen was fully equipped with every possible thing one would need in a house and even clingwrap and aluminium foil was supplied. There was nothing to complain about. The owner Louise was extremely friendly so was the resident cat Thomas who visited daily.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roadstar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

The reviews of the rooms and hosts are pretty much spot on. The rooms (we stayed in the English cottage) are very nice and cosy and the hosts hospitable, friendly and very welcoming.

I have a grudge though that nearly prevented me from booking at all. We had decided through the trip advisor reviews that it sounded like a nice place and we would book. Then we encountered the Draconian booking system used by Alice's cottages that call themselves "Bookaroom" or "Channelmanager". It states that it is an advertising and booking system. You must agree to receiving marketing emails and marketing phone calls or you can't book. An 'administration fee' of $20 will be charged if you cancel, regardless of how much notice to 'cover credit card charges'! Fortunately we didn't have to cancel our booking and we are still waiting for the influx of emails and promotional phone calls. It's the first time I've seen this. Most other accommodations are very flexible. We would stay here again - if the booking system was different.
Can you tell I'm still angry!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emmanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shambolic129, Owner at Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thanks for your review.
We were embarrassed about how angry you were about the booking process. We were not happy either and have contacted the company that organises our bookings. We have to use them as many people use a third person ( booking company ) to book. This avoids double bookings. Our channel manager explained to us all the processes that they have to endure to change and cancel bookings plus the charges made by the banks etc etc.
These booking companies also have their charges to us.
We'd encourage people to contact the properties direct via email or phone for a better response. You can often negotiate a discount especially for longer stays.
Good luck with your next booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Strongly recommend to anyone who goes to Launceston. This place is just near to city, peaceful surrounds, quiet at night. You can just park your car right outside the cottage. The bathtub and spa is just awesome! Host are great, friendly.
The English cottage is soooooo nice ! :) Everything that you need for cooking is provided in the kitchen. The English cottage is very well maintained and is so clean! Seriously, there is Nothing for me to complain or dislike about.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watermelonlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Alice's Cottages is a group of 19th Century Cottages carefully restored within walking distance of the Launceston center. It is located within a neighborhood and extremely quiet. Each cottage has a different theme, with antiques from that country.

Cataract Gorge and the seafood restaurants on the renovated harbourfront are within significant walking distances. However, on nice days both are worth the "hikes".

The owners, Rob and Louise, are the true quality behind Alice's Cottages. They will help you with information, reservations, and provide you with any extras you might need to make your stay comfortable. They are really good people and run a nice quiet, place from which to explore Cradle Mountain National Park and Northern Tasmania.

Room Tip: Any cottage will do, but I preferred the Scottish Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxleyrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The room was unexpected! I didn't want to go out once we stepped in - it's as though we stepped into a different world. We stayed at Camelot and the bed & decor lived up to its name. The place is warm, clean and luxurious. The spa bath was lovely. Amenities in the bathroom were excellent and toiletries were lavender-based. Location is excellent - in a quiet area but near supermarket/restaurants. Louise and Rob are very friendly and have prepared a folder of restaurants and bits of information which are very helpful. The breakfast basket was packed with yummy goodies and plenty to eat and drink. There are a selection of books and even a decanter of port(?) with chocolates ready for a nightcap. Wifi is weak in the room; we sat in the bathroom to get online.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie_Koh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We have stayed here several times and every time is a new experience in one of the fantastic themed suites or cottages. All are comfortable with fabulous amenities. A warm welcoming family business run with a heart adds to the total experience. The bonus is that it is reasonably priced, close to the city centre and pets are welcomed.
Highly recommend this as a fabulous place to stay in Launceston.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marysems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

3 wonderful days in the Welsh cottage. So quaint. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and a great,
relaxing spa with gorgeous lotions and bubble bath.

Terrific location. Walk to Cataract Gorge and to Seaport and retail hub, etc. A good Coles
supermarket nearby. Delicious breakfasts. The gardens were beautiful and we loved every
minute of our stay.

Well done Louise and Rob. Gracious hosts. We will be back! Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen_sessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.9 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#3 of 30 in Launceston
798 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#5 of 30 in Launceston
908 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways

Address: 121 Balfour St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Launceston
Price Range: £90 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a wickedly wonderful romantic retreat in one of Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways tucked away in the historic heart of Launceston. The accommodation is self-contained . Launceston's finest restaurants and fabulous Cataract Gorge are a pleasant stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice's Cottages And Spa Hideaways Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing