We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best views in Launceston”
Review of Hillview House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillview House
Ranked #28 of 33 Launceston B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Yes, great views are what you get from a B&B named for both the hill and the view! This historic house is perched near the top of the steep George St hill, affording views of the town and the river. The two cute old-fashioned windows in my upstairs corner room revealed no less than six church spires, from some of which issued hourly chimes. The ground floor is graced with a veranda which would no doubt be lovely on a summer evening, and which also affords excellent views. Breakfast was both cooked and continental, and eaten in a charming room with lovely views down the valley. Decoration throughout the house is cottagey and homely; in fact, ‘homely’ is probably quite a good way to describe Hillview House – I really liked it, but don’t come expecting the sort of jazzed-up expensive B&B that Werona, for example, seems to be – this is a different price point. I got my room on Wotif for less than $100 including breakfast, although I was actually upgraded to a large corner room costing about $130. I thought it was good value and would stay there again. There is limited off-street parking but plenty of street parking available.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillviewHouse, Owner at Hillview House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for your review of Hillview House, we also think we have one of the best views in Launceston. Our aim is to make people feel as comfortable as possible as we welcome them into our home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2010

Luxurious bedroom with bathroom, excellent cooked breakfast. Small terrace with super views over the city which is within walking distance. would stay there again but it was up for sale at the time of our visit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoxtonCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

A friend and I stayed one night at Hillview House on a recent short trip around Tassie. The B&B is located on a very step hill but had lovely views of the city and was a quick walk to everything. The room was okay, a little dated and a smallish bed but clean and neat. Some negatives were that the TV reception was a bit hit and miss, the towels in the bathroom were a little sad and the carpark is difficult to get to.

The owners were very friendly and put on a lovely $10 a head breakfast though.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leelou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Very clean and well situated. The owners are friendly and helpful and provide a good breakfast.

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank junegregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ruby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillviewHouse, Owner at Hillview House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HillviewHouse, Owner at Hillview House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bibilupabilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
The Old Bakery Inn
The Old Bakery Inn
#14 of 30 in Launceston
256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kilmarnock House
Kilmarnock House
#18 of 33 in Launceston
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hideaway on George
Hideaway on George
#14 of 33 in Launceston
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview House

Address: 193 George St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range: £60 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillview House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillview House was originally built around the 1840's and extensively enlarged by Rev. W Law in the 1860's. It has now been sympathetically restored to provide a charming stay for your Tasmanian holiday. Hillview House offers supurb home cooked or continental breakfasts, served in our colonial dining room with sweeping views of Launceston and the Tamar Estuary.You will find a visit to Hillview House will leave you with fond memories of personal care and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillview House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing