We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable night”
Review of Hillview House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillview House
Ranked #28 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Hobart
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable night”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We chose this place because of the great reviews. Our first impressions were not great, the proprietors had stuck a key in the envelope with our name and room number written on it sticky taped to the front door, at 3 in the afternoon. Not a very nice greeting! Found our room, room 3 and the first thing I noticed was the musty smell. My husband sat on the bed and almost sunk out of sight into the mattress! It has to be as old as the house! Mine was just as bad. The blinds didnt cover the windows properly so everytime people came back (last couple at 3 am) the entire room lit up like a xmas tree! worse night sleep i have ever had especially as i had to brace my leg against the wall to stop me falling out! The white towels were grey and threadbare, the kettle was dirty and had to be filled up from the shower tap. The tv was a tiny one circa 80's with 2 channels. We didn't stay for breakfast just wanted to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosietas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview House, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Hi,

I noticed your review from tripadvisor. We are the new owners of the property. We only kept one double room and we upgraded all others into queen beds. We also got in new towers and thew away the old ones. I am sure you will have a nice stay when you come next time.

Regards,

Hillview House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    29
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
7
45
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Lovely old National Trust rated home with great attention to detail. Our room had such pretty wallpaper, lamps, little bits of old china etc. Our hostess made us feel very welcome, and the atmosphere in the dining room was so homely and friendly. There was a full home cooked breakfast included too. The location is perfect for walking into town for dinner. We thought it was incredible value for money, and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiebooklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Reading some of these reviews, I think that I stayed at a different place.

The location was great, with easy access to town.  The owners were extremely pleasant and knowledgable of what to do in and around the area.

However, the rooms needed a good, thorough clean. The accommodation was very tired, and in dire need of a complete refurb.  The building itself needs a lot of Tender Loving Care. And given that the owner and his son are both builders, it is a very sad, sorry situation.

The breakfast was ok.  Given the abundance Of fresh fruit in Tasmania, the tinned fruit at breakfast very disappointing!

I look forward to new owners transforming this place, otherwise I am sure there are better places to stay for the money.

Room Tip: Wait for the new owners to refurb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheAmershanReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillviewHouse, Owner at Hillview House, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry your stay with us was disappointing and issues were not dealt with while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Diamond Beach
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Great location high up on the hill. Nice quaint rooms clean and tidy, ours was really quiet, had the best nights sleep. Breakfast room relaxing and hosts very accommodating. Breakfast delicious with all you could want for a B&B cooked or uncooked your choice. Would liked to have stayed longer. Thank you for running a professional establishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddyDiamondBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Beach, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

Clean! Friendly service! Really nice breakfast! Sweet rooms! Can recommend it! The location is fantastic! The owners know the area well and can offer local info! After our awful b&b in Hobart, was a refreshing visit!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlendaSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillviewHouse, Owner at Hillview House, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Being locals does sometimes have its advantages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had a pretty room in this character filled old house. Although there wasn't a view behind the lace curtains we were very happy with our quaint room which even included a staircase to access our own bathroom which was down half a level. Breakfast is held in a colorful room overlooking the city - great breakfast delivered with a smile. We hadn't booked any where and were won over by the friendly hosts and very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillviewHouse, Owner at Hillview House, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for your review, the room you stayed in was once access to the Reverends house (next door) hence the stairs to the ensuite. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Great views, great room, great service, great breakfast. This b&b was one of the few during our whirlwind tour of Tasmania that provided a warm, home cooked breakfast. The building is older but very well maintained. Porch area would be great place to hang out if the weather permitted. The location is superb for walking around downtown Launceston. The parking spots on the property facilitated the loading and unloading of our heavy suitcase.

This was an excellent value, and I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a pleasant stay in Launceston.

Room Tip: Ask for the large room with overlooking the downtown area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeanutWalnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillviewHouse, Owner at Hillview House, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
People do have some lovely times sitting out overlooking Launceston in the warmer weather after a day of exploring our beautiful City or having a leisurely breakfast planning their day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Kilmarnock House
Kilmarnock House
#17 of 31 in Launceston
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hi George
Hi George
#6 of 31 in Launceston
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hatherley Birrell Collection
Hatherley Birrell Collection
#15 of 31 in Launceston
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fiona's Bed and Breakfast - Launceston B&B
1.3 mi away
Aberdeen Court Launceston
Aberdeen Court Launceston
#18 of 31 in Launceston
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Centennial Hotel
The Centennial Hotel
#26 of 31 in Launceston
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview House

Property: Hillview House
Address: 193 George St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillview House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillview House was originally built around the 1840's and extensively enlarged by Rev. W Law in the 1860's. It has now been sympathetically restored to provide a charming stay for your Tasmanian holiday. Hillview House offers supurb home cooked or continental breakfasts, served in our colonial dining room with sweeping views of Launceston and the Tamar Estuary.You will find a visit to Hillview House will leave you with fond memories of personal care and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hillview House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing