We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in Tassie!!”
Review of Hillview House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillview House
Ranked #27 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B in Tassie!!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was my favourite place I rested my car-journey-weary head in Tassie. It is smack bang in the middle of the nicest and most historical part of Launceston so location is a 10 from 10. The building itself is a stunning example of colonial Tasmanian architecture, but with all the modern essentials a traveler needs. Some may yearn for a "bigger tv" with "more channels" but this misses the whole point of traveling doesn't it now? This B & B offers the perfect contextual place to stay. The host and hostess are a faultless and loving couple who bent over backwards to accommodate our party, this included turning the radiator on in our room prior to our arrival "home" each night, deicing our windscreen every morning and answering any and every question we had about Tassie and Launceston. Each morning we ate breakfast which was a homely serve of eggs and toast, with muesli, cereals, fruits and tea and coffee till your hearts content. My girlfriend and I liked the place so much we stayed there at the beginning and end of our journey across Tasmania as we flew in and out of Launceston airport. Truly a delight and source of ever warm memories from a lovely trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    29
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
7
45
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Hillview House is a wonderful place to stay with plenty of character. The room was very comfortable and well-appointed, and our host was wonderful. The breakfasts were fantastic. We would highly recommend this B&B accomodation again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed for 1 night at the Hillview House in October 2012. The hotell is real nice and cosy, the staff was super friendly and gave us a big room on the top floor with a view over the city. The hotell is situated a nice 5 min walk from city center and has free parking. We were also served a really nice cocked breakfast in the morning. All in all, a really nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanLah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
176 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The host Sandra gave us an extremely warm welcome upon our arrival and provided helpful advice for touring Launceston and Tasmania. The deluxe room is very nice but the twin room is on the small side and is also slightly dark. Definitely worth it to pay slight more for the deluxe room. Sandra and Robin cooked up a great hot breakfast consisting of 2 eggs, bacon and toast. There's of course also cereal etc. There's also free wifi. There's a couple of restaurants close by but if you want more variety, you can walk 10-15 minutes to the bottom of George Street. There's also a Coles close by to stock up before heading to other parts of Tasmania.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Free D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Great place, awesome hosts and very reasonably priced!
Sandra and Robin looked after us really well, gave us plenty of advice and cooked us a great home cooked breakfast (which was included!). They even bumped us up to the deluxe room because it was free at no extra charge. They were more than happy to give us plenty of advice on places to go, what to see and where to get a good ale.
The place was pretty quaint and cosy, maybe not the most luxurious but very homely and worth every penny. It was cheaper than most of the other B&Bs and exceeded our expectations.
Also located very close to town.
Definitely stay here again if we come back to Launie.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jx X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We chose this place because of the great reviews. Our first impressions were not great, the proprietors had stuck a key in the envelope with our name and room number written on it sticky taped to the front door, at 3 in the afternoon. Not a very nice greeting! Found our room, room 3 and the first thing I noticed was the musty smell. My husband sat on the bed and almost sunk out of sight into the mattress! It has to be as old as the house! Mine was just as bad. The blinds didnt cover the windows properly so everytime people came back (last couple at 3 am) the entire room lit up like a xmas tree! worse night sleep i have ever had especially as i had to brace my leg against the wall to stop me falling out! The white towels were grey and threadbare, the kettle was dirty and had to be filled up from the shower tap. The tv was a tiny one circa 80's with 2 channels. We didn't stay for breakfast just wanted to leave.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosietas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview House, responded to this review, 27 October 2014
Hi,

I noticed your review from tripadvisor. We are the new owners of the property. We only kept one double room and we upgraded all others into queen beds. We also got in new towers and thew away the old ones. I am sure you will have a nice stay when you come next time.

Regards,

Hillview House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Lovely old National Trust rated home with great attention to detail. Our room had such pretty wallpaper, lamps, little bits of old china etc. Our hostess made us feel very welcome, and the atmosphere in the dining room was so homely and friendly. There was a full home cooked breakfast included too. The location is perfect for walking into town for dinner. We thought it was incredible value for money, and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiebooklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Commodore Regent
Commodore Regent
#21 of 30 in Launceston
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kilmarnock House
Kilmarnock House
#15 of 31 in Launceston
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
TRC Hotel
TRC Hotel
#21 of 31 in Launceston
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ashton Gate Guest House
#2 of 31 in Launceston
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways
0.3 mi away
Sportsman's Hall Hotel
Sportsman's Hall Hotel
#16 of 31 in Launceston
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview House

Property: Hillview House
Address: 193 George St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillview House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillview House was originally built around the 1840's and extensively enlarged by Rev. W Law in the 1860's. It has now been sympathetically restored to provide a charming stay for your Tasmanian holiday. Hillview House offers supurb home cooked or continental breakfasts, served in our colonial dining room with sweeping views of Launceston and the Tamar Estuary.You will find a visit to Hillview House will leave you with fond memories of personal care and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillview House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing