We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small room, good location”
Review of Hillview House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillview House
Ranked #27 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Sale, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small room, good location”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We recently had 2 night stay at Hillview B&B. booked room through Wotif which did not include breakfast. When we arrived we were advised that breakfast was available for an extra $15 per person but it was only available between 7.30 - 8.30. Who wants breakfast that early when on holiday..no us. We work Monday to Friday every week and while on holidays we like to sleep in a little bit.

It was a great location and walking distance down the big hill into the main town for dinner and shopping. Beware that you have to also walk UP the big hill on the way back.

Our room was small but 2 nice windows. It reminded me of being in Alice in Wonderland.
A couple of suggestions for improvement.....the mattress felt old and sagged in one section (on the side closest to the bathroom). Another issue I had was that the room was not serviced between first and second night. The bed wasn't made, the towels weren't refreshed, the milk or coffee supply was not replenished.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JKS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillviewHouse, Owner at Hillview House, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review, however, the breakfast is $15 per person and you opted for the no breakfast option. Rooms are tidies if not serviced daily, however, when the cleaner knocked at 10:30/11 with no response we were under the impression you were still sleeping as you car was still here. I am sorry you did not enjoy you stay, I wish you had of told me on check out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    29
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
7
45
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Had a wonderful stay. Very homely and very friendly host. Lovely. Thank you for the advice on driving times... Cradle and Burnie were worth the drive on final day :) Will be back to lovely Launceston and to enjoy more of the Cateract Gorge, a gem! Must get down in winter sometime too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ado c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A lovely property. Great architecture that reflects the character of the area and is simply charming.

Everything was clean and well presented, and the breakfasts generous and filling. Sandra was a great hostess who made you feel more like family than a guest and was always helpful when it came to ideas or traveling routes and was always interested in what you had been done and your thoughts.

There are four car parks inside the property itself, but plenty on the streets around it.

Its about a 15 minute walk to the middle of town, and you can walk to the gorge from here if you are feeling keen. Save some strength as the return trip is up the hill, which can be a good way to burn off dinner! (if it was particularly large dinner, try the more steeper walk up Balflour street!) There are some restaurants closer by, a couple of minutes walk down the road being the closest.

The stairs to the second story might be a bit narrow if you have mobility issues, but there are rooms on the ground floor.

Highly recommended, we truly enjoyed our three nights here.

Room Tip: Having a sneak peak into some of the other rooms, I would say room 4 would give a nice view down ove...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan_and_Ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
376 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Classic victorian house on a corner high up on a hill with a view of the entire city. Room 4 was a large bedroom and well equipped modern shower4. Excellent internet at no additional cost. Breakfast included all the usual cold options but also offered poached eggs, bacon and toast. Our hostess was very helpful in recommending things to see and places to eat. She also arranged for us to have breakfast 1/2 hour early because we had an early flight. The only issue you may encounter is if you have mobility problems. There are a lot of steps to the front door and our room was up the steps on the second floor. Some complained about limited TV options but we never turned it on so we can't comment on that. You are on vacation aren't you? Some have criticized this property for having a too soft bed and ordinary breakfast. In the last 15 years we have visited 50 countries and stayed in a lot of B&Bs and this one is well above average. If HillView does not satisfy you at this price point, you need to adjust your expectations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fsdukejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daegu, South Korea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed for a night in Aug 2013 and loved it. Super friendly reception from our host, room and bed were comfy with a lovely view. The shower was amazing, didn't want to get out. Had breakfast included which was generous and yummy.
We would definitely stay there again! Great location, easy to find coming in from Hobart, clean and we got a really good deal on the night's accomodation.
Great place, felt very welcome and had a good chat about footy too :)
Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a room on the top floor with a great city view. Had breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allisonsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was my favourite place I rested my car-journey-weary head in Tassie. It is smack bang in the middle of the nicest and most historical part of Launceston so location is a 10 from 10. The building itself is a stunning example of colonial Tasmanian architecture, but with all the modern essentials a traveler needs. Some may yearn for a "bigger tv" with "more channels" but this misses the whole point of traveling doesn't it now? This B & B offers the perfect contextual place to stay. The host and hostess are a faultless and loving couple who bent over backwards to accommodate our party, this included turning the radiator on in our room prior to our arrival "home" each night, deicing our windscreen every morning and answering any and every question we had about Tassie and Launceston. Each morning we ate breakfast which was a homely serve of eggs and toast, with muesli, cereals, fruits and tea and coffee till your hearts content. My girlfriend and I liked the place so much we stayed there at the beginning and end of our journey across Tasmania as we flew in and out of Launceston airport. Truly a delight and source of ever warm memories from a lovely trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Hillview House is a wonderful place to stay with plenty of character. The room was very comfortable and well-appointed, and our host was wonderful. The breakfasts were fantastic. We would highly recommend this B&B accomodation again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Bakery Inn
The Old Bakery Inn
#13 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
TRC Hotel
TRC Hotel
#21 of 31 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Mews Motel
The Mews Motel
#9 of 31 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hi George
Hi George
#6 of 31 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highfield House
Highfield House
#7 of 31 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview House

Property: Hillview House
Address: 193 George St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillview House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillview House was originally built around the 1840's and extensively enlarged by Rev. W Law in the 1860's. It has now been sympathetically restored to provide a charming stay for your Tasmanian holiday. Hillview House offers supurb home cooked or continental breakfasts, served in our colonial dining room with sweeping views of Launceston and the Tamar Estuary.You will find a visit to Hillview House will leave you with fond memories of personal care and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hillview House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing