We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a great time”
Review of Hotel Tasmania

Hotel Tasmania
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tasmania
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed 7 March 2008

We enjoy our stay , we stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is clean, staff are friendly.
I would absolutely come back again. Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mambosambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tasmania
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2007

I stayed on a Thursday night and used earplugs for sleeping and didn't notice the music downstairs. The room I had was the smallest I have ever stayed in. There was hardly enough room to get out of bed at the sides and being over 6ft tall, I had to get out of bed by sliding down to the foot of the bed and get out that way. bathroom was tiny also. Breakfast was delivered to me by the staff the previous night on a tray. It's an OK place if you're in town for a night or two and are planning on doing a bit of bar hopping. I wouldn't recommend this place for a couple on a romantic weekend.

Stayed: May 2005
1  Thank puntrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne.
110
Reviewed 27 October 2005

Absolutely atrocious.
Had the severe misfortune of having to spend a night in this dump a few years ago.
Whilst it is a visually neat and tidy accomodation venue, the problem is with the venue underneath - The Saloon Bar.
The only way that you will be able to sleep is by drinking very - and I mean VERY - heavily downstairs to the point where you are almost comatose.
Any other way and you will be subject to pumping and extremely LOUD bass and music from the nightclub. The walls and floors were literally wobbling until 6am Sunday morning in the room which I tried to sleep in.
I would recommend the club as a good venue, but the accomodation is not worth a cracker.

Stayed: October 2003
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dublin, Ireland
116
Reviewed 6 January 2004

The rooms are above a casino/sports betting place and an adjoining niteclub. I stayed on a saturday night without much sleep due to loud thumping bass from the niteclub. There was no such problem on the following Sunday night. The included breakfast is handed to the visitor on checking in: a package containing breakfast cereal, a cereal bar, fruit juice and UHT "milk". The rooms are clean, as detailed in this hotels advertising, but they could do with refurbishment and modernisation. Having stayed in the excellent St Andrews Inn 40 minutes down the road from Launceston on the previous two nights, Hotel Tasmania was very disappointing. I did not feel that I had received good value for money.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kristhel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
The Old Bakery Inn
The Old Bakery Inn
#14 of 30 in Launceston
242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.3 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Apartments At York Mansions
Apartments At York Mansions
#21 of 30 in Launceston
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Star Bar Cafe & Hotel
Star Bar Cafe & Hotel
#30 of 30 in Launceston
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tasmania

Address: 191 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range: £108 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tasmania 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tasmania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasmania Hotel Launceston
Hotel Tasmania Launceston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing