We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate, good price, great service and very good breakie”
Review of Waratah on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waratah on York
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Adequate, good price, great service and very good breakie”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I stayed in the newer section with an awesome veiw over Launceston. Room ok, dated weird furniture, old bedding but clean, very freindly and accomodating staff, free wifi.....not the best hotel around, however great price with full breakfast included, cooked as u wait, I would say great value for those with budget in mind and well placed a short walk from the cbd....be aware it is atop a bloody great big hill, so if your on foot it is testing, all in all, I'd go back

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaunKarrathaWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    28
    20
    18
    17
See reviews for
8
74
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Waratah on York in Launceston is gorgeous - inside and out. We were moved to a brighter room with airconditioning as they were experiencing a heat wave. The bed and the pillows in our room were like sleeping on a cloud - literally. The chef Michael was very pleasant and happy to cook whatever you could want for a hot breakfast. Yuki and Janine were very efficient, helpful and happy to please. It's in a very convenient area, close to restaurants, parks, hotels, etc.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer building are airconditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Total disaster from the time we entered our room. Room was dirty, carpet stained, television wouldn't work, faulty power switches in the room making lights flickering on and off through the night felt unsafe. Manager advise was she was unable to get electrician as it was the weekend.
No apologies and no offer for another room. No hair dryer in bathroom..

This is not a four star hotel, we warn future guests to be wary...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sadiesummers146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable. It had an unusual mix of old and chinese furniture. Could have done with a carpet in the hallway to cut down on the noise of people walking past our room. Breakfast was in the building behind but was very good. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hezdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this great place. Friendly staff, and a great full English breakfast included in the tariff complete with dining with a wonderful view over Launceston in the brand new dining room. We were ugraded to a beautiful heritage Queen suite with spa and four poster bed because they weren't very busy. The bed was SO comfortable, complete with divine down pillows, and the room was lovely and quiet and spacious.We will be back next time we visit Launceston and highly recommend this hotel as being great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for room 8, with a view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the old section in a very small room. The carpet was heavily stained and the room was a bit musty, but the bathroom was very clean and the bed comfortable enough with very clean sheets. breakfast is very generous in the modern part of the premises, but it felt a bit strange going from old wordly to modern. The image ands feel of the place needs to be refined a bit.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puccamelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

We were totally disgusted with our room. The room smelt awful. The carpets were stained and the bathroom was clean but boring. Spa totally uninviting. How on earth it ever got a 4 star rating is beyond me. My rating 3. It is not pretty or luxurious in any way. Just a large spartan room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeaDam96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
The Old Bakery Inn
The Old Bakery Inn
#15 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Heritage Edenholme Grange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waratah on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waratah on York

Property: Waratah on York
Address: 12 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waratah on York 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waratah on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waratah On York Launceston, Tasmania
Waratah On York Hotel Launceston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing