We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE! Absolute dump.”
Review of Waratah on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waratah on York
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE! Absolute dump.”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

After seeing the star ratings and positive reviews we booked a night at the so called heritage boutique accommodation. We were welcomed with smelly overflowing bins, unsafe stairs, and rude service. The door to the room opened and it was FILTHY! It stank, there was yelling and strange noises in the hotel - we felt we had booked into a brothel. After 15 mins in this repugnant room we left and asked for a refund we were refused. This matter is being taken further as it was completely unfit for human life. I will never go near this place again. It was one of the worst most disappointing experiences of my life. Please I beg you please don't waste your time here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    28
    20
    18
    17
See reviews for
8
74
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

In a desperate attempt to find some place to stay due to horror of another accommodation we went onto wot if and found this it gave it 4 out of 5. The photos are beyond misleading. The floor was filthy ! It's smelt and looked and sounded like a brothel! Put us in a room with a window outside the rubbish bins that stank and overflowing with rubbish. Stayed 10 mins they would not provided a refund ! Going to ombudsman! Avoid this place and Launceston all together ! It's a hole!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

If you are looking for the genuine heritage b&b experience - keep looking. Having been very impressed by the website showing a lovely breakfast room, heritage themed suites etc, we found our breakfast venue was located 50 metres down the hill in, what would appear to be, a modern extension of The Waratah called Areca - this building has also completely ruined any views you may have got from The Waratah. So what else is wrong with the place - how about the following-
- plyboard furniture in place of Victorian
- synthetic rugs covering who knows what in the bedrooms
- still promoting tourism awards from early 2000's when previous owners had refurbished and restored what was then a grand dame
- plastic flower arrangement in a highly glossed cerami winking fish vase - and other such 'artefacts'
- an overall disregard for the history of what once was an example of Launceston's Victorian past.
To sum up, this place isn't worth staying at, no where near 4 1/2 stars - we recommend you to take your business elsewhere. Bitterly disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlyMattBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st marys
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The entrance to this building is dangerous and difficult. The so called safety railing going up the steep and considerable steps (some parts had NO RAILING AT ALL) was weak and loose and NO help at all. In fact, it was a hindrance. Might even need checking by OH&S as it cant be legal. It is a beautiful old building that needs some serious money spent on it, instead it is becoming shabby and run down. Could be so much more. If you have a mobility or vision problem, I suggest you pick somewhere else. I asked to do a room "upgrade" when we arrived. We paid extra, but I think it HAD to be a downgrade as the room we got was far less than I expected for the money. Don't bother trying to ask for any kind of assistance either as it seemed to take an age just to get a bathtub plug that was missing. Internet wifi was not working either, no help from the staff, gave up in the end. Wouldn't recommend this to place to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KIMMOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

After looking at the advertising decided to book into this grand old dame for 3 nights, We had booked a double room but were given a large queen room because we asked to be downstairs. Great for us ,as my sister had a double room and it was a box ,same price. The first thing we noticed is that the handrail up the outer stairs is very loose and dangerous. Upon entering the building we noticed a very bad smell ,but put it down to the age of the building, sometimes these old properties can smell a little musty. We would have loved to use the guest lounge room but that it seems is where the smell was coming from. There was an old handbag under the desk for three days ,so obviously not cleaned. No longer can you have breakfast in the dining room ,it is completely empty. Breakfast is in the new building across the car park which is very new and
Shiny. Reasonable breakfast. Our room had paint peeling ,mould, the blind in the bathroom had to be pulled down by a piece of string ,but it was broken anyway. Very dirty and stained carpet however the bed and bedding was good. This is a beautiful old property ,I wish the owners could pay her a little respect and bring her back to her former glory, and if not , cut your rates .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valuefornomads L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked to stay here and then had to change our booking - way too much trouble, but we persisted. We arrived and seeking to confirm an earlier request for a 7am breakfast (that had been met with a 'no problem') was told that was way too much trouble. The next morning when we did head to the restaurant for our 7am breakfast, we were met by a lovely chef who could not do enough for us and we were told that a 7am breakfast was no trouble at all. All a little disconcerting and to be honest, I was happy we were a 7pm check in and 7.30am check out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJETMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay at the new Areca wing of Waratah on York. Thank you for the upgrade to the new accommodation wing. Lovely breakfast served in the new dining room. Good location within an easy walk to the centre of town.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the Areca wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
The Old Bakery Inn
The Old Bakery Inn
#15 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Heritage Edenholme Grange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waratah on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waratah on York

Property: Waratah on York
Address: 12 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Waratah on York 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waratah on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waratah On York Launceston, Tasmania
Waratah On York Hotel Launceston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing