We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Waratah on York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waratah on York
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed 9 August 2004

My wife and I stayed here one night in February, 2004. Locating the place was a bit challenging, particularly because the main entrance and visual front of the building are not on the main thoroughfare but rather around back, on a side street. A beautiful restored mansion in Launceston, the Waratah was a true find. Our room was small but nicely furnished with a good sized bathroom and even a small writing alcove. The double bed was very comfortable. The staff was welcoming and helpful. All in all, we highly recommend this hotel.

1  Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 134 of 134 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
19132
Reviewed 6 June 2004

I stayed in a spa room at the Waratah on York for five nights earlier this year and enjoyed my stay immensely. The owners were very nice and gave valuable hints on local attractions and dining. The room was large and well-furnished - a good mix of older style charm and modern amenities. I was on the ground floor facing York Street and in spite of other comments on the site, I did not hear any noise. A number of small touches - evening sherry available in the lounge, music at breakfast made the stay complete. The management was unobtrusive - always available to assist, but valued their guests' privacy. The property is a 5-10 minute walk to central Launceston and I will definitely stay there again.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, NSW
1
Reviewed 20 May 2004

We certainly found this accommodation to be quite good in general and the hospitality nice enough. Almost fell down the steep stairs however at night and felt the garden could have been a little more attractive. The view is great but the traffic noise from the street kept us awake. Too many hoons racing their cars along york street. Rooms were quite good.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
220
Reviewed 29 December 2002

The Waratah on York is a lovely old home that has been carefully restored. The suite we stayed in (in October 2002) was a huge room with a beautiful four poster bed and a lovely bathroom with spa. We even had a balcony overlooking the Tamar River. The owners are not intrusive, but full of information if you have any questions. All in all, a great stay.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: N° 8, vue sur la ville
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Советуем выбрать номер с видом во двор.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alexey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#10 of 30 in Launceston
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.1 mi away
Hotel Launceston
Hotel Launceston
#22 of 30 in Launceston
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waratah on York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waratah on York

Address: 12 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £75 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waratah on York 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waratah on York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waratah On York Launceston, Tasmania
Waratah On York Hotel Launceston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing