We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An comfortable, atmospheric apartment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartments At York Mansions
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We recently stayed in the Duchess apartment for 3 nights. It has a textured, heritage feel, while still being clean and very comfortable. The living / dining room was large, well furnished, and heated by a gas fireplace. The bedroom was warm and the bed, while a little creaky, was fine. The kitchen is well supplied and more than adequate for eating in. The usual managers were away, but the lady helping out was friendly and helpful. The rear garden is a pleasant and quiet spot.

The apartments are only minutes walk from shops and restaurants etc, and it is just a brisk stroll to attractions like the Gorge.

All in all, we found this place comfortable and clean, reasonable value and well located. We will have no problem re-booking there again when we next visit Launceston.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with steps, a lower apartment may be more suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CondaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

A bit of boutique history, a bit of grandma's house, friendly and helpful hosts, free wifi, and a very comfortable bed. Not much else to say other than the other good reviews of the property certainly do it justice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mykenbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Being old doesn’t mean things are all smelly & creepy like ur uncle, rather the privately operated York Mansions are almost boutique or homestay-like. This heritage style building is divided into a number of separate apartments each containing period-themed furniture & furnishings. The stay was homely & comfortable with the gas fireplace in the cold Tassie night.

The Duchess of York apartment is comfortable for 4 people had high ceilings, 2 separate floors, separate bedrooms with queen & the smaller room 2 singles (roof room), full kitchen, bathroom with corner spa, balcony & living room with gas fireplace & typical high ceilings. Fast free wireless. LCD TV, stereo, DVD player & movies. Fully functioning apartment with all life’s necessities including bubble bath liquid, (free) wireless & fireplace. The furniture is not immaculately period or old, they resemble more of an old person’s house minus the pot-puri & cats. 1 parking spot for each apartment.

The owners/managers, John & Ann, a friendly retired couple live outside in a separate building out the back where a nice little tiered garden available for guests to enjoy the Launceston sunshine. There is very little traffic at night on York St but that sums up Tasmania as a whole.

The apartments are located in a quiet area of the CBD & is within walking distance to restaurants & pubs. Under $300 a night sleeping up to 4 or $250 for couples beats a motel any day, however you could easily sleep a few more on the couch or carpeted floor if you’ve had a few too many Tasmanian beers. Booking made thru Wotif without any problems.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Pale_Ridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Stayed for a week in York Mansions - rooms good size and well appointed. Free wifi available and parking out the front too! No complains, but two items to note - for a self catering apartment, there is too much fine china and not enough mugs etc. Also we were charged in full immediately upon arrival, having paid 50 percent deposit. Money up front wasnt the problem, but we were not given the option on how to pay, meaning we couldnt split the bill easily between us - it would have been nice to have been asked rather than to be presented with a credit card receipt slip, which technically we hadnt authorised.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ManWithSillyHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Arrived for a night met John who greeted us with warmth and kindness. We were in the gamekeeper room downstairs on the road but the traffic was fairly minimal and the front room is the tv anyway. The two bedrooms are at the back where it is very quiet. The rooms were just gorgeous and had charm and character. A lot to admire and look at. Brekky was plenty, toast, fruit,yoghurt and cerial and brewed coffee all in the fridge ready to go. Not a thing to
really complain about!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swervin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

John and ann were excellent hosts and were very helpful. The rooms certainly have a period feel, and can be quite dark and the doorways quite low (watch your head). It was very close to York Road and being in the bottom apartment it was a bit noisy in the front room. However, the fire place, and lots of different rooms were a real plus. A very different stay to every other hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelpotts05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

It was amazing accommodation, my husband and I enjoyed 4 nights there, and just loved everything. If you like history, and period furniture, paintings etc, stay there. Kept beautifully my owners John and Ann, very helpful if you need anything at all. Very spacious, and clean, and centrally located, walked to tea every night. We had the Countess Suite, one floor up, with balcony. Could open all windows, and we did not find it at all noisey, rambling garden, to sit in, and they have just purchased a new BBQ, and new flat screen T.V's. I could not criticise anything, and I don't want to. We also stayed there on our way back around Tassie. Thanks Ann and John.

Margaret and Trevor D. QLD.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#10 of 30 in Launceston
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
834 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,677 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments At York Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments At York Mansions

Address: 9 York Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £102 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments At York Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self contained 2 & 3 bedroom apartments located in the heart of Launceston. All with full size kitchens, gas heating, laundry facilities, free wi-fi and car parking. Walk to the CBD, restaurants & cafes, the Tamar River, Aurora Stadium, City Park, Tasmanian Design Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apartments At York Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Mansions Launceston
Apartments At York Mansions Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing