We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartments At York Mansions
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed here 20 years ago and enjoyed it so much always wanted to return. Have to say it is even better than I remembered. Comfortable, clean and beautiful. Best place to stay in Launceston. Convenient location and easy access to the city.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artizan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

It was freezing outside. The heating was on when we arrived and we could make lovely cups of tea and coffee to warm up immediately!

Great beds, great shower, close to town, beautifully furnished, parking directly outside.

Very friendly host. I can't say enough good things about this place and would definitely recommend to all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Location is very central although it was a little tricky to get to due to one way streets. We had the Lodge Apartment which meant parking was right by the front door which was great for access. For my elderly parents it was easy in and out! When we first entered the apartment it smelt a bit musty but that soon dissipated. the lounge chairs were recliners and after a long day driving - perfect! I must admit I did think it was a little over priced. To my way of thinking it is better to show a rate for 4 people if that's how many beds you are offering and $50 per person for the 3rd and 4th person was excessive but it was nice and clean and suited us for the night. John met us on arrival and was very pleasant so would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarwinBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

York Mansions is a real gem. We stayed in the Game Keeper apartment, and it was a breath of "old world" charm and comfort. Two separate bedrooms, a large living room with comfy sofa, chairs, desk and large LCD television and DVD player with a supply of movies, a full kitchen and of course a full bath. This is definitely not your standard hotel or motel experience, but instead, hosts John and his wife provide a residence more like a country cottage -- yet it is in CBD of Launceston. We highly recommend this establishment and will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Tasmania.

Room Tip: Don't let the photo of the exterior fool you for it doesn't convey what you'll find insi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

What a delightful establishment!
With a warm welcome from owners Anne and John, this is a must for the Launceston visitor.
Built in 1840, each self contained unit has a theme, we stayed in the Gamekeeper unit, with wood panelling, comfortable furniture and lots of game prints and artifacts throughout the unit. 2 bedroom, modern bathroom, quiet, clean and welcoming. Only a short walk to the city centre with its 1800s architecture and alleyways, all in beautiful condition, and of course, many restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Very pleasant, well-appointed rooms and friendly, helpful hosts. It is an easy walk to most things that tourists might want to visit, including fine dining restaurants, the excellent market and many cafes. However, the price is very high for shoulder season accommodation and there was no per/day reduction for a stay of several days: this seems poor when the cost to the owner is basically cleaning and laundry, which is the same at the end of a 4 day stay as it is after 2 days. In fact, we were charged more per day for an extra day than we paid when booking through an internet agent, which is unacceptable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John m, Owner at Apartments At York Mansions, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Firstly I would like to thank the Guests for their positive comments regarding our property and I regret their concern regarding the rate for the extra night.
The Guests initially booked, via Agoda, for Wednesday 5th, Thursday the 6th and Friday the 7th of Match 2014.
For Wednesday and Thursday nights they paid of $180.00 per night (which was a mid-week special rate) and on the Friday night they paid $248.00 which is our standard weekend and peak period rate for the apartment they were occupying.
Our published rate for the Saturday night was also $248.00.
On Thursday morning the Guests requested an extension for Saturday night. I confirmed the reservation and noted that it that would be the same rate as Friday night.
We had an amicable parting on checkout.
I should have been more precise as I suspect the guests, at a later date, calculated the average cost of the first three nights ($202.70), and were unaware of the higher rates for Friday and Saturday.
The Guests were offered our best rates for each day of their stay and we regret that there has been a misunderstanding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My friend and I stayed at York Mansions for two nights in February 2014. The location in Launceston is perfect for walking into the CBD and they have offstreet parking aswell. They are easy to find. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the owner, John who was very accommodating and pleasant. He happily showed us the apartment which we agreed to rent. The main bedroom and loungeroom are very large and have all mod cons, including an ipod dock and juliet balconies in the loungeroom. The apartments are very clean and grand. The second bedroom, although smaller has two single beds, dressing table and wardrobe and the kitchen has everything required including tea, coffee and suger. There is also your own washer and dryer outside your kitchen door on the little verandah area. The bathroom is very modern. John was so helpful and friendly. I thought the apartment was good value for money and street noise was minimal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cshanhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 31 in Launceston
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 31 in Launceston
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 31 in Launceston
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments At York Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments At York Mansions

Address: 9 York Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £92 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments At York Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self contained 2 & 3 bedroom apartments located in the heart of Launceston. All with full size kitchens, gas heating, laundry facilities, free wi-fi and car parking. Walk to the CBD, restaurants & cafes, the Tamar River, Aurora Stadium, City Park, Tasmanian Design Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartments At York Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Mansions Launceston
Apartments At York Mansions Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing