We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable accommodatoin but watch out for the bathroom light”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 33 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Penny Royal apartments are a quaint village style accommodation on the outskirts of Launceston. The furnishings are generally comfortable and of a good standard although when we stayed some items in the apartment were in need of maintenance. For instance, some of the tiles on the floor in the bathroom were loose and unsteady. The buildings appear to be quite old so if you have noisy neighbours when you stay (as we did) you’ll be kept awake by sounds coming from the other rooms. We had a downstairs apartment and the people upstairs made a fair bit of noise as they walked (or perhaps ran) around in their apartment. The complex is also close to a highway so it can be noisy in the mornings when the traffic builds up.

One thing that was particularly annoying was the lighting arrangement in the bathroom. Instead of switches on the wall they have installed movement sensors which automatically turn on the lights and bathroom fan. The arrangement is far from perfect as the light in the bathroom (which didn’t have windows) would turn off while you were having a shower or a shave. This was needlessly annoying and unnecessary. I’m sure it keeps the power bills down but it’s not a great experience for the customer and would probably prevent us staying there again.

We also had difficulty getting the soap dispenser filled. We left a note asking the people who serviced the room to fill it up and got a message saying it had been checked but it was still empty. However on the plus side, we had an issue with access for my mother who is elderly and has had a knee operation and this was solved quickly and with great consideration so I’m sure the issue with the room servicing was an oversight.

WiFi internet access is not free which it should be considering the price of the accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomaPHILE33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,305 - 2,311 of 2,389 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

Good location next to Cataract Gorge and easy walking distance into Launceston, but situated on very busy road. No double glazing so made rooms very noisy. Quite dated but clean. Not a very well-equipped kitchen for those staying with family, more of a business hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The staff went out of their way to assure we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Price- $272 for 2 nights for 2 adults and 3 young boys
Location ; well known tudor style complex located next to Cataract Gorge but our room was located away from the reception in a complex. Our room was in the corner with no views/outlook, free parking
Kitchen: good kitchenette and breakfast table
Bathroom: good clean bathroom with bath and strong shower, pay laundry in complex
Bedroom: separate bedrooms upstairs, clean , comfortable beds,
Lounge: small LCD TV
Additional; with reception located far from the rooms this 'hotel' seemed impersonal which is OK if that's what you want.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
Thank mallibull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Yeah, this was great. Gorgeous, well appointed and rooms and apartments, with rustic charm and style, but VERY clean and well maintained. Room aspects vary somewhat, so it is worth asking to see a few to find one that suites.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

The restaurant on the premises is EXCELLENT. I thought it was a bit expensive to begin with, but then I discovered that the quality and portion size are commensurate. Nothing but good things to say about the whole place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We were upgraded to a studio from a hotel room. Fully refurbished and with a small kitchenette. TV was a bit old . Bathroom was very good. Whole place was clean and fresh. Convenient with off street parking. Walking distance to the city , and adjacent to the Cataract gorge.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Nice comfotable room. helpful staff and within walking distance of town centre. had a good meal in the bar/resteraunt attached. good laundry which we used and room facilitys.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckycol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 31 in Launceston
1,704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 31 in Launceston
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 31 in Launceston
1,012 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Address: 147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range: £63 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing