We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Sebel Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Peppers Seaport Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Country Club Tasmania(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Balmoral on York(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Family Motor Inn(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hideaway on George(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,509)
Filter reviews
2,509 results
Traveller rating
740
1,025
512
135
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
740
1,025
512
135
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscataract gorgekings bridgeadventure parkgreat locationold millbedroom apartmentwalking distancecity centreold world charmold buildingshort staygreat value for moneywould stay againgreat place to stayfree parkingaccommodationwindmill
Filter
Updating list...
2,290 - 2,295 of 2,509 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights in early February, once when arriving in Tasmania and again when leaving. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was located a few minutes up the road from reception. The apartment was well equipped and comfortable and parking was plentiful. Handy to restaurants and attractions. The weather was mild so lack of air conditioning did not affect us.
Would recommend staying at this location rather than the block where reception was located as parking there was very tight and chaotic. All in all would stay again when visiting Tasmania.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aged65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time provide your feedback with regards to your recent stay a Leisure Inn Penny Royal.

It is always great to receive positive feedback from our guests and we are happy that your time with us was enjoyable and memorable.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Kind Regards
Natasha Beck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Second visit to Penny Royal after first in 2001. A lot has changed. We were accommodated in the Apartments further up the road from the main hotel. Room was on the second floor; not so good for four 'oldies' with large luggage. Room was reasonable although bedrooms were upstairs whilst the loo was downstairs (ever tried being whisper quiet during the night on one of your loo visits?). The adjoining rooms were in the process of either being demolished or renovated; how could a hotel expect visitors to enjoy such an experience? The attraction at Penny Royal used to be the somewhat corny enactments of days gone by using ships and cannons etc to entertain visitors. This has since gone into disrepair. Whether Leisure Inn are attempting to resurrect the place to its former self, who knows. A very disappointing stay and not inexpensive too.

Room Tip: Possibly stay at the main hotel - better still, not at all!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal6159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The décor is very appealing and there's lovely seating areas on the grounds plus it's close to the major attractions and city centre. However, it's missing any café/restaurant facilities to make people want to hang out on the grounds and would appear quite overpriced given that it doesn't have any major on site facilities. It also seems to be a bit unsafe for people with children as I couldn't find one plug socket that my kettle could reach meaning that I would need to either leave the kettle on the floor or balance it on the edge of the table with part of the kettle hanging over the edge. On check-in the receptionist seemed a bit abrupt, but I put this down to her possibly having a bad day. It can also be noisy if other guests are talking in the court yard so may benefit from signs asking people to keep the noise down. I can imagine that this place would also be very cold during the winter as there was only one small heater so if I did choose to return here, it would only be in the summer. Apart from that, the place was clean and my belongings were safe plus I did 't have trouble finding a parking space on site.

Room Tip: Request upstairs so there's less noise from people walking around in the room above
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Sir,
Your comments have been noted and action has been taken regarding your reception on check-in, Leisure Inn Penny Royal was sold 8 months ago. New owners are refurbishing and upgrading the property, within the next few months the Restaurant & Tavern area will be re-opening. Your comments regarding the cleanliness and safety of the property is appreciated, I thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Best Regards,
Chrissy Long
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My partner and I had never travelled to Launceston and we were really excited. We arrived at the Penny Royal and were put in a room with no windows - none, no air con, no air. I complained the next morning and we were moved but not much improvement - had windows but no air and it was a hot spell. There were rooms on the upper level with balconies that were empty, wonder why we didn't get one of those? The room also smelled strongly of cigarette smoke - they need to enforce the no smoking policy. Just awful.

The cleaning staff did not wash the two mugs and wine glasses - they had been rinsed and were in the sink. The wine glasses that were in the room, were of different sizes, not hard to get that stuff right really.

No tissues in room but there was a dirty one in couch, bathroom had no storage, in fact room had so little hanging space we had to lay our cloths on the bed. Very disappointing and I would not recommend the stay, cute as it looks.

Room Tip: Make sure you are specific about not having the windowless room (should be used as a storage cabinet really).
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear Vivien
I apologise for any inconvenience caused to you and your partner during your stay. I have noted your comments regarding service and standard. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, guest satisfaction is important and feedback is something we can work on to address any issues raised.

Best regards,

Chrissy Long
General Manager

Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I've stayed with group of the friends in this lovely historical place but it was sad to see that whole property is not maintained and upkeep-ed well. We stayed in 2 bedroom apartment, standard equipment with nice small kitchenette and nice lounge. Unfortunately, apartment dont have aircon which proved to be an issue for duration of our stay. The rooms upstairs were to hot to sleep in so we turn to lovely Tasmanian wine to help us sleep.. Front staff at checking in was efficient but no personality and during our stay we havent see any of the staff around the place. Location is great and great restaurant is nearby - Cataract on Paterson, only 5 minutes walk down the street..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funfranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Dear/Sir/Madam
Leisure Inn Penny Royal is going thru the process of a refurbishment programme, plans are in place to transform the grounds behind the apartments, also Restaurant/Bar at the Motel will have changes and will re-open soon, this is to be completed by the new owners of the property.
Launceston has experienced some extremely hot weather over the past month, I apologise for any inconvenience caused due to the lack of air conditioning at the property.
I would like to thank you for your review, and your comments have been note.

Best regards,

Chrissy Long
General Manager

Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews