We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not unless you're used to backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Launceston Backpackers
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed here for a night as part of a tour in a single room. I was unlucky enough to have a room with some kind of vent in the door and therefore heard every single foot step up and down the stairs all night. Extremely stuffy as the only window opened into the stairwell and the place had been nearly smoked out by someones' cooking. Not recommended unless you are used to this sort of a place.

Room Tip: Get a room without a door vent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahl0uise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Hello Sarah, thank you for your review. We apologize for your sleep being interrupted by noise from other guests, this is a difficult matter to control. You mentioned cooking smells.........our kitchen is very busy each evening. We have a huge extractor fan above the gas cookers. At times the guests turn the extractor fans off. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your Tasmanian tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very cheap, close to supermarket and some nice staff, but nothing else good.

Rooms, common areas and bathrooms all dirty. The showers were also bad - poor water pressure and blew hot and cold all the time. Room was small and stuffy. Wifi wasn't cheap and could only buy an hour at a time. Kitchen was poor - even turning on the hobs was an ordeal!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hello Katie thanks for your review. We are sorry that you found some of our areas untidy. The backpackers is cleaned daily and the kitchen is cleaned 3 times a day. The water pressure is deliberately kept low to minimize (water robbing.....a plumbing term) this also reduces excessive hot water coming through the showers when water is being used elsewhere in the building. The gas knobs you mentioned are special safety ones and there is a technique to using them. They are designed this way to stop gas leaking out while there is no flame burning. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Cheap, close to the city centre, receptionists were nice and kind. However the couch in the common room desperately needs to be cleaned! The dormitory where i stayed are clean, however an air conditioner would be nice, but i suppose for such a good price, no air con would be considered appropriate

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Brendan NT P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you for your review Nguyen. You are one step ahead of us when you mentioned the couches. Our next improvement is buying new couches for the TV room.. This will be done soon. Safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My mum and dad had a separate private double bedroom to my griflriend and I and for $58 a night for each double room the place was great value.

Nothing extravagent but everything was clean and tidy and the staff were helpful.

Good cooking facilities and overall very happy for the price. The place was not noisy and full of middle aged people using as a base to do walking tours.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank cornwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, General Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you Cornwood for taking the time to review Launceston Backpackers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a short description then here it goes:

It is a backpackers hostel, clean, modest and simple that has just what you need to cook, shower, use the bathroom and sleep. If you want a four seasons category hotel with swimming pool, free wifi, spa and so on, go to another place and don't waste this people lovely company...

Are you still reading??

Good!

Here it goes a little bit more detail.

On our arrival (Christmas Eve) we picked the key to our room from the secure box and proceeded to leave everything in our room.
First impression is: 'wow! This place is quite simple... Just the bed and a closet and some of the room wall seems deteriorated...'
But then you start walking around and notice is just room 24 to 30 the ones in the old building. On our walkabout ran into the kitchen and met 'Fred' one friendly member the hostel. He told us to take a seat and prepare to have dinner because he was cooking for everyone.
That was something completely unexpected. My partner, a little bit confused, replied 'don't worry, we are not going to eat here, we are going to Coles to buy some food!' To which he replied 'then could you buy us some strawberries?'
Still puzzled went to the store and came back with some fruits (as we could not find strawberries) to find he had our meal ready for us. He even made us pancakes with cream!

After that you start looking the place with a complete different light... Is not anymore 'just the place to sleep at' it becomes a place where you feel comfortable with the minimum you really need to live (which is food, a bed and a roof). Mind you, there is a tv and a DVD in case you want to watch something.

The place is pretty clean even though the old building could use a little bit of work. It is also quiet so you can sleep properly. The kitchen is in pretty good condition as well and Fred will help you out with anything if he is around.

Now... You don't have free wifi (and you probably don't need it as it will promote social interactions)

It does not provide towels for you to take a shower... But is highly probable that you have your own towel (if you did not know this detail... You could always request one to the manager).

The car park is open between 8am to 9pm... So if you want to be early on the road you better leave you car outside.

In conclusion, our next time in Tasmania will include a stop here. This place is pretty good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rodrigoelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Thank you Rodrigo for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is a no frills place to stay in Launceston. No towel or linen supplied beyond a fitted sheet and pillow with case, but we had our sleeping bags so it was OK. The bathrooms were clean as was the kitchen, which is well stocked and easy to use. Affordable and the staff were friendly. There's a cat on the premises, but it was friendly and didn't get in the way. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelindaJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, General Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for your review Belinda. Our bed prices are always far cheaper than other backpackers because a large percentage of customers bring their own bedding. For those that don't we can hire them liner and towels. We hope you enjoy travelling in Tasmania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I came here without much expectations (after all, it was only $25/night). But to my surprise, it turned out to be a great stay. My traveling companions and I found the beds really comfortable and we slept very well during the 4 nights that we stayed. Blankets can be rented at 50 cents each. The toilets were extremely clean – dirty toilets are my biggest pet peeve when staying in hostels – so imagine how happy I was when I realised the toilets were nice and clean!

I also appreciate the fact that they had a huge kitchen available. Many people would cook their dinners there every night, and we never had to wait long to use the stoves. We also met a lovely elderly couple one night and had a great chat over dinner in the dining room.

Overall, it was one of the most pleasant hostel stays I've had. It's not a party hostel, so if you're looking for a young partying crowd, this isn't the place. I'd recommend this if you want a nice quiet environment to stay in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for your review Catherine, the staff at Launceston Backpackers put a lot of effort into keeping the hostel clean and it is nice that you took time to make a comment about this on Tripadvisor. Safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.7 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
554 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Coach House
Comfort Inn Coach House
#15 of 30 in Launceston
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Launceston Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launceston Backpackers

Address: 103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Launceston
Price Range: £15 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Launceston Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launceston Backpackers is a one hundred year old Victorian building. It has 30 rooms, including double ensuite, doubles, singles, triples and dormitory rooms. It has a large commercial kitchen, large TV room and separate dining room. There is a free car park. Launceston Backpackers has a modern fire protection system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Launceston Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Launceston Backpackers Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing