We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a stop over ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Club Tasmania
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Everything you would expect from a 4.5 star , but the health centre is a fail . Everything cramped in a tiny space .
Staff is very polite and helpful .
The hotel needs to focus on something other than gambling.
Rooms are well done and comfortable

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Shrikant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Definitely staying here again. Wonderful, polite staff, room and facilities were excellent.
The place is clean and spacious and is not too far from the airport. Heaps of activities to keep you busy. No complaints and heaps of kudos. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chintarmanya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A really terrific place to stay. Great facilities and a beautiful outlook from the room. A really easy drive into town. Highly recommended. The pool could have been a bit longer as I'm into swimming but it's a minor thing. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great location and facilities. Suited our purposes superbly. Friendly helpful staff good restaurants and regular artists appearing in the showroom. We attended a Jon English and the Foster Brothers concert and the venue and facilities were excellent as was the show,purchased as a package!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Flynn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Good location, it's just 15 minutes drive from Launceston airport and close to the city. Valet parking is quite good and the bell boys helped us with our bags w/o even having to ask for it.

Room was good and facilities were great, my wife loved the bathroom, jet shower and spa. Bathrobes were a really nice touch and overall, it's a good place to stay for a few days and relax. TV set was outdated though and image was not that great.

Customer service needs to improve a lot:

I requested flowers and chocolates for my wife upon arrival since it was her birthday, but they managed not to arrange it at all despite me emailing my request and credit card details.

Also, I came down with some fever and requested some Panadol from reception. They engaged in a long argument about Panadol being a drug and them not being allowed to give it away for free. When I asked how much would the charge be, I got told best thing was for me to go to the Chemist (on a public holiday!!). Customer service is all about helping a customer but in this occasion they did not. I didn't feel like a valued customer.

Room Tip: Request rooms facing the golf course. It a good view with a pond and ducks swimming on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Roberto_Calero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a great stay! everything we asked about was never too much. Staff were friendly and helpful and rooms were big and clean. Pool was great to relax in in the evenings. Plenty of wildlife around to see. Would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AlanaMiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We recently stayed late October at the Country club Tasmania, booking direct with the hotel. The impression we gained from the information we had read and looked at about this hotel, was that the hotel was set in large grounds made up of gardens and a golf course. This is all true, only we didn't realise there was a casino situated right in the hotel it's self. We found this very distracting and tacky, it was located in the main building right near the entrance of the hotel and was very busy at the weekend with the general public. This was not the sort of atmosphere I was expecting from a hotel that marketed itself as a country golf club. As you may guess we are not lovers of casino, gambling types of places, so the hotel/casino was not really our bag. The rooms were of a fairly decent standard, we were told they had been refurbished, but we found they were a tad tired in places. The bathroom was tiny! The loo was located tight up right behind a door, so quite a squeeze! The rooms were serviced daily, but vacuuming of carpets,(which were dirty in our room) and dusting of furniture did not feature in this visit. Only bath towel change and waste bins emptied. The building generally looked ok from a distance, but don't look too close and you may be disappointed.
The staff were ok, but we did have a problem with our bill, BEFORE we arrived at the hotel. We had paid in advance for the Three night stay direct with the hotel, but after checking my credit card purchases before our holiday, I found that the hotel had made two requests for payment off our credit card, in advance of our stay! The first was for the correct amount, the second for a similar amount again, that was then held on my card for seven days after the request was made. When I contacted the hotel, they said they had no information held regards the second amount? But our bank confirmed that it was the country club casino that had made the request, and confirmed this with a transaction number for the request. So beware and keep a close eye on your credit card payments! All in all, we were ready for a move after three nights at this hotel, 5/10.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angef261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
3.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
965 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,635 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
3.8 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
526 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Club Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Club Tasmania

Address: Country Club Avenue | Prospect Vale, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £93 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Club Tasmania 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Club Tasmania is located amongst over 20 acres of native bushland within the picturesque Tamar Valley yet only 10 minute drive from Launceston's CBD and the airport. The hotel is Launceston's premier choice for holiday accommodation, dining and live entertainment and offers a variety of accommodation choices. Your stay will offer you the freedom to let loose, explore, and discover all that Northern Tasmania has to offer but when you're staying at a property with five restaurants and four bars showcasing gourmet Tasmanian produce, swimming pool, bike, walk and running tracks around the lake and beyond, 18 hole golf course, spa, sauna, tennis courts, natural therapy centre, squash, a boutique casino, horse riding and driving range, you may find yourself never wanting to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Club Tasmania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Tasmania
Country Hotel Launceston
Country Club Tasmania Launceston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing