We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Satisfied!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Club Villas
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Country Club Villas was exactly what I wanted, needed and expected.

Definitely not "upper crust" in terms of fixtures, the good-sized one bedroom cottage I stayed in was thoroughly delightful. It had a tiny terrace facing the golf course, which made for a beautiful place for breakfast and to watch the sun set. One more chair in the livingroom/murphy bed room would have been nice, for guests, but if the spare bed were pulled down there would not have been room for one more club-style chair.

Furniture was clean. Linens were spotless, crisp and fresh, the bathroom was large and with no signs of mould or discouration. The grounds were spotless, even the roadways.

Great little inside pool, excellent outdoor bar-b-que and playground and tennis courts (ask at reception for rackets and balls).

It was also very affordable, with a per night stay for four nights of $99/night through an emailed special offer.

The bistro on site makes a great pizza, too, something you can walk in, order, get in ten minutes and saunter back to your villa with to enjoy on your terrace. Lovely Italian restaraunt as well, no eat-in prices over $20 at time of writing this. The food is quite excellent value for the money.

There is also free wired internet in the villas, no WIFI that I could find, but each villa has a cable in the livingroom and the technical support, should there be a problem and there probably won't be as the hardware is expertly installed and configured, is fast, efficient and friendly. As a traveller who relies on being able to connect when on the road, this sort of service in AUS is delightly welcome. Hats off to the computer tech consultants for their work here.

Room Tip: Ask for a main floor villa facing the golf course. Also, try to sign up in advance for their mailing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa at Country Club Villas for 2 nights whilst touring Tasmania - 2 adults/2 children. Staff were so helpful and friendly. The villas were spacious, clean and very well appointed. Very comfortable beds and a quiet place to stady.
The pool was great. It is located quite a distance from Launceston city centre but it wasnt an issue as we were happy to drive around and see all the sights.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We have stayed at the villas many times over the years. If you can get a good deal (say under $120) we used to think they were a good option. The rooms are on the dark side, but are roomy and have kitchenettes so you can self-cater. There is a pool onsite and free parking. However, we were surprised to come back to our room and find that we had new towels, empty bins, but no new toilet paper/tissues and the bed was not made. This is their new housekeeping policy - although we apparently should have got new toilet paper, they don't make the bed! What a nasty cost saving measure - one of the reason for having a weekend away in our own state is to not worry about making the bed... They have also stopped putting hot chocolate in the rooms and newspapers at reception are no longer free. OK - these might all be little things, but added together mean we won't be back. There are plenty of other similar priced options in the Launceston area. Watch out villas - if we locals won't stay with you in the off season, how will you fill your rooms?

One last thing - I am starting to detest those hotels with a nasty credit card surcharge - guess what the villas now have...

Room Tip: Ask for golf course room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I have stayed several times in the main hotel but saw an attractive internet deal and decided to take a villa this time. The villas are a short drive away from the main hotel - but miles away in terms of style and facilities. But... they are considerably cheaper.
Our first floor room was rather dark and dated with a view over next door's washing line, but it was clean and fairly roomy. It had a peculiar pull-down bed in the living room so would be good for families I guess.
Our included buffet beakfast was available from the on-site restaurant and was the least appealing hotel breakfast we have ever seen. The bain-marie was never tended or refreshed during the 30 minutes we were there and the coffee (which I had to chase the waitress to get) was truly awful.
You get what you pay for... next time I'll pay a bit more and go back to the main hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

As a family of five we booked two villas, I was a little shocked that although I had gone by the photo's offerd of ground level villas we were booked into villas on the upper floor, if I had known I would have asked for ground floor level, I have no doubt though if I had made comment another villa would have been offered, so if you have rubbish knees as I do ask that you are booked into ground floor level.

From the check in to our villa, all good, well painted in soft hues, linen just the best quality, the beds were so comfortable, bathrooms big and roomy, just really nice and good value for money.
three of us played golf, all good while the other two guests had coffee at the main hotel overlooking the water fountains, I would recommend the Links in the main hotel for dinner, lovely food, we did also eat in the Italian resturant by the villas, they need to improve their standards.

All in all very good if you want the Villas but use the main hotel for dinner or lunch overlooking the very lush golf course and water.

We did have one small problem but security came to the rescue when our requests to reception fell on deaf years, thanks to security in finding our passports and tickets to the UK after we had left for Hobart, it was very much appreciated,

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouisePerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We had a spa suite for two while my sister's family had a 3 room arrangement for 5. The two were targeted: theirs had a washingline and a laundry (the entryway was through it, presumably for dirty children!) and more substantial cooking facilities. Ours had an enormous bathroom and two heads in the shower (appropriate for Tasmanians) and a coffee plunger. In fact it didn't initially have a coffee plunger but did have plunger coffee. It did take a bit of persuasion to the reception staff to convince them I really could recognise plunger coffee when I saw it, and they delivered plunger soon after.

Many of the staff we met were a little like this, underinformed but very eager to make up for it by being helpful.

The rooms were indeed dark, as mentioned by others, but our beds were very comfortable and not too soft. All the linen was newish and good quality.

A fair negative was the absence of breakfast on site. The hotel offered a shuttle bus to the attached casino area, but this seemed a bit of a nuisance for our group with children, so we ended up eating externally purchased breakfast (and shared the plunger coffee).

The club is a little out of town and we appreciated being on the edge of a golf course with native hens and ducks scratching around outside the window. Our rooms were very quiet. It was a 10 minute trip into Launceston.

The pool is a fair size, good enough for laps if you turn a lot, and the gym better than average.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sommelier12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed 4 nights in a one-bedroom villa opening onto the golf course. Obtained the villa at a significant discount via an internet accommodation website made our stay even more satisfying. The reception we received was checking-in was very welcoming and professional. The bottle of wine provided was very much appreciated. The mini-kitchen was adequate for our needs; the bathroom spacious. The lounge featured two armchairs and a table and chairs. An outdoor setting was available on a small paved patio outside, overlooking the golf course. The bed was firm, but comfortable; nowhere near as hard as some experienced in our travels. For a superb meal the Villa Italiana, within the Country Club Villas complex, is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#7 of 30 in Launceston
751 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,580 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
931 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
897 reviews
2.7 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Club Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Club Villas

Address: 10 Casino Rise | Prospect Vale, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Launceston
Price Range: £76 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Club Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Club Villas sits upon large picturesque grounds and is located within the beautiful Tamar Valley just 10 minutes from Launceston's CBD. The property offers comfortable and spacious one, two and three bedroom self-contained villa accommodation. Let loose, explore or simply relax with our recreational facilities that include an 18 hole championship golf course, indoor heated pool, spa,gym, playground, and tennis court. Wine, dine, and enjoy the fresh produce Tasmania is renowned for at our two on site restaurants, bar and bottle shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Club Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Club Launceston
Country Club Villas Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing