We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO SLEEP”
Review of Hotel Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Launceston
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NO SLEEP”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We were given room 106 on the first floor overlooking the park and initially thought that it was nice to have a view of the park.How wrong we were.
The room was nice and clean with a reverse cycle air con but only a old style TV with a STB.
Layout of the room was a little strange in that when any one wanted to pass the other it was like living in a caravan.
It was however a nice room with all the amenities included.

The horror night started around 10.00 pm when we decided to have a early night ready to travel the next morning.

Room 106 is very close to a roundabout on Brisbane St. and i think every hoon in Tasmania
chose that night to drag up and down the street past our room.

Then after listening to the hoons all night we must have finally dropped of to sleep to be woken at around 5.00 am by the council roadsweeper coming up the hill.We thought it was a jumbo jet taxiing up the street in low gear.

Not a scrap of noise suppression in our room and i am sure if we had stayed in the park in a tent it may have been quieter.

NEVER AGAIN !!

Room Tip: Do not take a room overlooking the park on Brisbane St if you need any sleep. Room 106 in particula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorb2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    173
    111
    56
    37
See reviews for
60
184
36
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Staff may be friendly but this is not 3 1/2 star accomodation, more like a low budget hotel. The decor is very dated as are the appliances in the room. Bathroom in desperate need of a renovation. The outside needs a spruce up with a pot of paint too. Location was good but noisy even with the double glazing

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashy3147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Booking a hotel 'blind' from another city can be risky, but I was extremely happy with my choice when I travelled to Launceston for a game of AFL recently and wound up here. The staff were very friendly, the rooms comfy, and the location was great. There was a bar which was handy, and the restaurants were just a short walk from the hotel. It helped too that we won the game of footy!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simond5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I thought the place could do with a long over due renovation. I think it was built in the sixties and has not been updated. May be OK for a one nighter.

Room Tip: Look at alternatives id say
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westernaustralia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I don't normally stay in Motel accomodation, but when looking in Launceston I found prices a bit on the expensive side, probably because there was some kind of music festival on. Anyhow I was pleasantly surprised by the lovely clean room and they looked like they had been refurbished recently because our bathroom was very nice. The room was a bit small but had all that you needed. The staff at Reception were very nice indeed. If you are looking for a reasonable place to stay with clean rooms and great parking you cannot go wrong with Sandors on the Park

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed here over the weekend. Its close to the city and the monkeys in the park over the road. The staff were polite and helpful and gave good drections to Cataract Gorge. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The bathroom could do with a makeover. Eveything I wanted was within an easy walk and there is a restaurant attached to the hotel. The buffet breakfast was good value - as much as you could eat for $15. There is limited room service though I didnt use this. Id stay again if I wanted a cheap clean comfortable palce to stay that was close to the city centre.

Room Tip: rooms out the back would proberbly be quieter as they are further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy2972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is really not a very nice place to stay. It's not expensive in dollar terms, but considering what it's like, it's not good value. The other review comments are pretty accurate. It may be in a good spot opposite the park, but traffic noise in the morning is very bad if you have a room facing the street. As for cleanliness, it's so old you can't really tell if it's clean, and it naturally becomes difficult to clean a room & fittings over a long time.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the street, it's noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Launceston
Mercure Launceston
#24 of 30 in Launceston
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.0 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.1 mi away
Commodore Regent
Commodore Regent
#18 of 30 in Launceston
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Launceston

Property: Hotel Launceston
Address: 3 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Launceston 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Launceston is a dual listed property and is housed within the Mercure Launceston located in Brisbane Street overlooking the leafy City Park. The property is signed Mercure Launceston and its base in the city centre is perfect for business or leisure. The city mall, restaurant precinct, Cataract George, Boag’s Brewery, river cruise terminal, tourist information centre, and other attractions are all a short walk away; or explore the Tamar Valley Wine Route and Northern Tasmania. A dual-branded hotel, Hotel Launceston offers economy and standard rooms for the budget conscious traveller, whilst the Mercure Launceston offers refurbished Superior and Privilege Rooms which can be booked via the Hotels other listing; Mercure Launceston or you may wish to pay for an upgrade on arrival, subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing