We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Launceston
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Launceston(Launceston)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parklane Motel(Launceston)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
Waratah on York(Launceston)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore Regent(Launceston)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Balmoral on York(Launceston)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
84
179
120
56
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
179
120
56
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity parktitanium barrenovated roomsteep drivewayclean roomsshort staybed was comfortablereception staffnight staystayed here for one nightpleasant staycentre of towncataract gorgebistrofootyminibarshampoo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hotel Launceston was affordable, clean and well appointed. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. After arriving late in the evening it was so convenient to be able to grab a meal for my family with the staff keeping the kitchen open for us!
Walking distance to the centre of town with off street parking available. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ryders999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Front Office Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

It is terrific to hear that we have "fit the bill" during your time in Launceston. It sounds as though you have made the most of our convenient location - and free parking during your stay, and we look forward to seeing you next time you stay in Launceston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We located in a room at rear of hotel , no view but quiet for sleeping, comfortable Q bed with large F screen TV. City view rooms were impacted by some noisy traffic. Bistro was exellent for breaky & dinner in evening moderately priced and good food with many choices. Staff were fantastic,well manered,helpful & worked together like family.Bistro atmosphere was relaxing and homely with "mood" lighting and pleasant music. All public areas have been re-decorated and looks "sooo" good. Room tariffs r value for money. We recommend u stay. Close to CBD easy walking distance. Accommendation rooms r next to be re-furbished. Will make Hotel Launceston a great fair priced venue to stay. We'll stay again. Congrates to Management. Thanks to bistro & bar Staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Front Office Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

We thank you for the terrific review of our hotel, we are a very close knit team and to find that you have noticed this during your stay is very pleasing! We are delighted read that you have made the most of our location and bistro during your stay and found the room to be great value for money. It would be a pleasure to greet the both of you to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Not only was Launceston itself fantastic, the Hotel Launceston is as well. Couldn't fault the service, especially the size of the TV, the breakfast in the morning, and the amount of TV's downstairs. The staff are approachable - some might even be Hawks supporters too, which is the main reason why we came to town, for the match in Round 1 (2014) - If you're thinking of going into town also, walking is best, it's literally down the road. City Park across the road, and the view of Aurora Stadium, it's pretty much close to everything

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RadarRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Front Office Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for the review of our hotel, we believe that we have one of the best locations for Aurora Stadium - and to find that you have utilized our hotel for the football is terrific. Some of our staff are Hawks supporters (others can at least that agree the team are good for Launceston!) We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Launceston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Convenient location although on a busy road.
Rooms were at the back up a very steep driveway with loose gravel which caused cars to skid with accompanying noise.
Rooms were clean and adequately appointed, but a bit small.
We ate at the bistro and enjoyed the food and good service. Breakfast was expensive for what was offered.
A good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Front Office Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am glad to see that you have found the location convenient during your stay - we do have some rooms that are located away from the road - which may be more suitable for yourself. We have also listened to feedback regarding the driveway and have had some works performed to make the driveway much safer and quieter for the future.
It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the bistro during your stay and we have made some large alterations to our breakfast options - so that it is much better value for money to our guests. We hope that you would give us another opportunity next time you are in Launceston as most issues have been already attended to – and look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The staff were very friendly,and attentive.We found the bistro to be of a high standard for dinner & for breakfast.I would definitely stay again.It was just a short walk to all the shops & restaurants.The room was clean & comfortable,the only thing was the pillows were to low no support.I would recommend to my friends for good value.

Room Tip: i would ask for a room over looking the park next time,just for the view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Front Office Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel, it is very pleasing to find that you have enjoyed your stay at Hotel Launceston - and you found the bar and bistro to be of high standard, we take great pride in our services and are glad to hear that this has been no exception to yourself. We look forward to seeing you at our hotel in the future, we are currently in the final planning stages of beginning room renovations - which will be completed by winters end if you are seeking a more luxurious stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews