We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Review of Hotel Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Launceston
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were shown and booked room 223 for an 8 night stay, room & an included continental breakfast, nice room, quiet, full bathroom en-suite and lounge area plus breakfast each day. On arrival we found renovations in progress adjacent to our room, passageway boarded up. When staff were challenged about the renovations, they said they did not know about it WHAT RUBBISH ..... LIES...plans had to have been drawn up and contracts let for weeks in advance.
They just wanted our 8 night booking.
Restaurant closed Monday night, and they have the audacity to call themselves a hotel!!!!
as for breakfast, NO BREAKFAST BAR IT HAD BEEN REMOVED we were told we could have poached eggs & bacon on Sourdough toast every day anything different was extra... that meant juice tea/coffee etc. was extra also, tea was $4.50 per small pot extra... what RIP-OFF.
if you want a low standard motel this is fine anything else go elsewhere.
On the evening of the 2nd day we were told we had to leave the room we were being relocated due to water being cut-off ... we were put into a small motel room, NO lounge area, a small shower en-suite with NO BATH directly opening onto a brightly floodlit public car park with all it's noise and disruption.
We did not think things could get much worse BUT THEY DID MUCH WORSE the following evening upon leaving our relocated room we surprised 2 intruders trying to break into the hotel rooms. We chased them off and immediately went to the management i.e. 1 young female staffer, a junior staffer at that, the only 1 on duty. Whilst having this conversation with her about the intruders a fellow guest overheard us and approached the staffer and said "I have just chased them out of the rear section of the Hotel behind the carpark" there is obviously NO security in place at all the staffer had no idea what to do she just stood there looking finally saying I will have to try to find a collegue and discuss this with them.....nothing happened. no follow up NO NOTHING
On checking out we paid our account less $20.00 as the staffer said she was not authorised to discount any more... so for 8 mornings of no breakfast we were reimbursed $20.00 HOW GENEROUS Seems that senior management have very limited hours and the place is run by Junior Staffers...

Room Tip: choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kevin i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    173
    111
    56
    37
See reviews for
60
184
36
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Room was good, service was good, however when I booked I was asked if I wanted a quiet room, which I replied yes.
I don't consider the room next to a stairway quiet which had people roaming till about 3 in the morning.. This was the let down..

Room Tip: Stay away from access points, i.e. stairwells..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The receptionist was very friendly. Due to her efforts, i was able to find more exciting things to do in Launceston specially monkeys in the park. Walkable distance to the CBD. Good place to sleep in after a long day of exploring Launceston. Bus ride from the airport costed $24 for two people. Rooms are nice. Do not expect 5 star quality but value for your money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Omer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Front Office Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we are pleased that you have utilised our knowledgeable receptionist, we all aim to ensure that our guests are given some assistance to make the most of our gorgeous city. To see that you have found our hotel is good value for money is very pleasing and we hope to see you the next time you are in Launceston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The water heater was not working on the day we arrive and the water is freezing cold.
We complaint 2 times but the staff only said they were working on it and could not tell how long it would take to get it repaired. We waited for 2 hours and requested them to let us have a shower in another room as it was already late at night. We waited for another 2 hours and there was no reply from them.

Finally, we had our shower with the freezing cold water.....

By all means, avoid this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank VHornbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Front Office Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing Hotel Launceston. I am highly disappointed to find that you have been treated in such a poor manner during your stay at our hotel, I will personally be following up this matter. I can only apologise on behalf of the owners of the hotel and I will ensure that this matter is dealt with to avoid ever happening again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

After staying here for one night for work, I told my employer to never book at this hotel again. The layout of the hotel was awkward different levels built in a U shape around a noisy car park with tight parking spaces. A bit of a maze to get from the front desk to the back upper level rooms. The room is simple and pretty tired with mismatched furniture. TV is small and archaic with complicated instructions on how to use the two remotes navigating the TV and the cable box.

The most offensive thing I encountered was the sign on the desk from management stating they have limited services on Sundays and public holidays because of limited housekeeping. At first I didn't understand this sign. It's not like there's a shortage of unemployed people looking for work in Tasmania, so my only conclusion is that management is too cheap to pay the penalty rates for staff to clean on Sundays and public holidays. As a customer, it leaves a bad taste. I'm more than willing to pay more for the night knowing that its staff is being taken care of.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitona007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Front Office Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for making time to review our hotel, I am very disappointed to find that you have found our hotel below par for yourself. We are currently undergoing renovations to attend do our hotel rooms that need the most attention. The current owners have recently purchased the hotel, with a clear vision that the rooms require attending to in order to raise the standard. That being said, we do have budget rooms that are very clearly advertised online as being so and we believe to clean, tidy and good value for money.

In regards to the cleaning on Sundays, we do roster our staff members on for extra hours leading up to Sundays and Public Holidays to ensure that guests are always provided with extra necessities to ensure a comfortable stay – and that way our busy housekeepers will always manage to have at least a day off for the week. Reception is also just a phone call or visit away for further enquiries or assistance. I do apologise for any concern caused from this, we did not want to come across to guests with the wrong message.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great staff and meals,but the room was not nice .Very noisy with traffic and very old furnishings . Owners doing upgrade ,if I had know this before hand I would not have stayed there .As you spend a lot of money to have a holiday ,I expected more .We stayed in Hobart and at Cradle Mountain as well and felt comfortable at those premises .Very dissapointented ..

Room Tip: Check to see if upgrades are being done ,look for photos of rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Front Office Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we are glad to read that you have enjoyed the bistro during your stay at the hotel. To find that you have not found the hotel room to an adequate standard Is disappointing. The current owners have recently purchased the hotel, with a clear vision that some renovating needed doing, to raise the standard of our rooms. Renovations have been performed – where possible – with no disturbance to guests and I do apologise for the disruption to your stay. To apologise I would like to offer you an upgrade to a deluxe room when you are in Launceston next, permitting renovations are finished and rooms are available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

would describe my one night experience as just adequate. whilst check in staff were friendly, they were easily distracted by tradesmen working in the foyer and not focused on clients. decor was quite dated and carpets not clean. bistro meal was ok and staff in that area were friendly and helpful. there was a lot of external noise to my room (124) which sounded like laundry trolleys. breakfast was not available prior to 8:00am on Sunday morning, and foyer area which patrons needed to walk through to get to the bistro/breakfast area was locked off and late in opening. Result had to walk out of the back of the hotel, around the side to the front entrance in the rain. Would not recommend this hotel unless price was the dominant factor. Otherwise found onsite car parking was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MelbourneSilvafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOffice_HL, Front Office Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am pleased to find that you have found our bistro staff to be friendly and attentive; however it is very disappointing to read that you have had disruptions to your stay caused from renovation works. We do appreciate your feedback and we have now endeavoured to ensure that hotel staff are not involved with trades people to ensure that our clientele are given the highest standard of service that we always strive to deliver. I have personally followed up with the staff from the day to find out why you were inconvenienced from being late in opening. I can only apologise for the inconvenience and If you do find yourself in Launceston again - I would appreciate the opportunity to show the standard of service that we strive to give any other day at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Regent
Commodore Regent
#21 of 30 in Launceston
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Launceston

Property: Hotel Launceston
Address: 3 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Launceston 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Launceston is a dual listed property and is housed within the Mercure Launceston located in Brisbane Street overlooking the leafy City Park. The property is signed Mercure Launceston and its base in the city centre is perfect for business or leisure. The city mall, restaurant precinct, Cataract George, Boag’s Brewery, river cruise terminal, tourist information centre, and other attractions are all a short walk away; or explore the Tamar Valley Wine Route and Northern Tasmania. A dual-branded hotel, Hotel Launceston offers economy and standard rooms for the budget conscious traveller, whilst the Mercure Launceston offers refurbished Superior and Privilege Rooms which can be booked via the Hotels other listing; Mercure Launceston or you may wish to pay for an upgrade on arrival, subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing