We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Areca Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Balmoral on York(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Charles Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Apartments At York Mansions(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sebel Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Family Motor Inn(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore Regent(Launceston)
US$148
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Launceston(Launceston)
US$167
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Auldington(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$81
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
27
26
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
26
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfy bedyork streetfree hot breakfastcooked breakfaststay there againfree wifiexcellent breakfastcity parkmodern bathroomgood nights sleepbeautiful roomnew ownersking roomvisit launcestonstayed nightsshort stayon arrival
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Staying for a relaxing couple of nights in Launceston,really happy with the Areca / Wamatah team: good facilities, really comfy bed, great views, included wifi, friendly service & a great cooked breakfast ! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

If it's hospitality and good breakfast you're after then Areca has it all. The Hotel is small and unique with beautiful views of Laiunceston. The breakfast WOW , plent plenty plenty. Good quality and theservice was top class. Janine and Martin you are top notch. Ukie your hotel is just lovely, thank you for your care and attentiveness. The only negatie I have is the high grade of the lane that one needs to walk up and down to get to the roadway. I think I lost 3kils and have tightened the muscles in my lower legs. Overal great location and wonderful service, room and breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a car as the lane beside the hotel is VERY steep
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I'mThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Areca Boutique Hotel, is part of "Waratah On York" B&B in York Street Launceston (off Weymouth Street). Areca is the new building, only about 12 months old - therefore all rooms & fixtures & fittings are new and in good condition. Having been to Launceston on Business several times over the last 8-9 months I have now made Areca my base each time I stay. Very friendly owners ! Reasonable accommodation costs ! Delightful Breakfast cooked or cold served by Michael & staff. Light & airy breakfast dining room. Parking is a little tight, due to hilly location, but more carparks are available under the building. Plenty of hot water, good showers and a comfy bed. I am very happy to recommend Areca. Breakfast is included in the Tariff. Be sure to book early as it is now often booked out !! Vending machines available for soft drinks etc., tea, coffee & free WiFi available in the room.

Room Tip: If you want a larger room or a spa bath you will need to book a Waratah on York suite !!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great rooms, great friendly staff & fantastic breakfast. Loved the location, had to use York Street as the hill was oh, so steep. The owners chinese retaurant is great food too. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the superior king, more spacious even though we were overlooking other properties, loved the lights etc at night
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanfreoaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I booked this hotel through wotif for a planned trip to Launceston. I was no longer able to fly and had to cancel 10 days of hotels, car hire and flights. Every other hotel offered refunds or little fee for cancellation however when I expressed my need to cancel with this hotel 2 weeks ahead, they did not even respond. One week on, I sent another request for them to respond and still none. It really bothers me how hotels like this make money out of "no cancellation" policies, and take hundreds of dollars without giving anything back! They should not be in business.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Amelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews