We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic, cheap, comfortable - and free wi-fi!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Family Motor Inn
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We booked this hotel through wot-if (as we often do), as it was the only place available for the night we wanted. We discovered later that this was because the V8s were in town the next day...
The rooms are a little dated. But the room we had was spacious (Queen bed, single bed, table, large bathroom) and had a deck. Best of all, for a longer holiday, it came with a microwave! So we could actually prepare some food in-room and not eat out for once! Another bonus was the free in room wi-fi, this is the only place we stayed in Australia that had it.
The pool and spa were not quite warm enough, but were pleasant, and it was a treat to sit in the spa and watch the wallabies roaming the playground in the evening.
Right on a main road and above the motorway, we were expecting more noise than we got, and we slept quite well. Its a fair way out of town, but still only 10 minutes drive to the city.
The free breakfast was another plus. The food was basic, but enough to get you started.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel-Kiwi_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2010

We arrived at Launcesto Airport on a Sunday night at 9pm without a hotel reservation. This was definitely a mistake! So we were very lucky that we found this place at 22h15 with someone still receiving us. The staff was extremely friendly. We had an apartment which was divided on 2 floors: upper floor kitchenette, bathroom, living room. Down a squeaky stair led to the lower floor with 2 bedrooms, 1 with a queen-size double bed and the other (small) room had a single bed and 2 bunk beds. No heating in the small room!
We had nice views and it was relatively quiet. Breakfast was nothing fancy, but we had a nice dinner at the City Lights Restaurant (of course not at 10pm! It was the second night.)
Well located, a short drive from the city centre. They have free wi-fi internet, but it never worked during our stay. Nice place, I can recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luke.traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

The Village Motor Inn is conveniently located a stone's throw away from one of the hearts of Tasmania, Launceston. The apartment we stayed in was warm and inviting; there were 2 rooms, one heated and the other with heated beds, which was a very nice haven from the cold outside. The kitchen was well-stocked with clean utensil. We stayed for 2 nights at the Village Motor Inn; on the final day of our stay, my daughter left behind her mobile phone in the apartment. She didn't realize the loss until we were at the Launceston Airport. By then it was too late to travel back to retrieve it. I called the Village Motor Inn and spoke to Steven. He was empathetic of our plight, and assured us that he'll look for the phone. A few hours later, he confirmed that the phone was found. Since we're already at the Melbourne Airport, leaving for S'pore soon, I asked for the phone to be shipped back to us. Steven again assured us that he'll do that. 2 weeks later, I received my daughter's mobile phone. Steven even had the shipping charges waived. We are very delighted to receive phone. Thanks to Steven and the folks at Village Motor Inn! We had a pleasant time at the Village Family Motor Inn and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland250765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

As a business person visiting this city every second week throughout the year for the past 14 years, the Village Family Motor Inn has provided me with clean, comfortable and convenient accommodation for all this time. With only a few minutes travel to the Central Business District of Launceston, this institution has been a boon to me in my busy schedule. Highly recommended for those people on the go.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lloydtrenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Having arrived in Launceston late and without any booked accomodation, my partner and I took a punt on the Village Family Inn and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were extremely friendly and accomodating. The rooms were spacious, clean, with a retro-cool decor and a splendid view of the lovely city of Launceston... I loved the bar too, it greeted us with a warm smile and a friendly scotch in a cozy setting... At the restaurant, I highly recommend the steak, an absolute must! ... I would definately return to The Village Family Motor Inn, perhaps next time with the family in tow... I know they'd love it too, with plenty to keep the kids entertained including heated pool/spa, billiards and arcade games... Two big thumbs up & high-fives all-round!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telltim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I have been coming to the Village for a while now and I always get the same friendly service and clean comfortable rooms. The restaurant also does delicious great valued meals with a nice view overlooking the Launceston. Its my home away from home.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

The place was musty, dusty, cramped ... and the railing for the stairs was unsafe for our toddler. The reception staff are nice, but thats where the joy of the place ends. We had a plastic chair as part of the lounge furniture. They consider "ensuite" to be open to interpretation. Their website says ensuite, but there's no toilet or bathroom or anything off the bedroom. It pretty much a closet with a toilet and shower in it ... off the kitchen area. The carpet is worn, there's nothing appealing about the units. We hated it. Ended up having to find other accomodation ... 6pm ... with a toddler. Dont stay there it'll ruin your holiday.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
Thank vivstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.9 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
525 reviews
1.5 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,617 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
2.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Family Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Family Motor Inn

Address: 84 - 100 Westbury Rd, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £67 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Family Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Village Family Motor Inn. Conveniently located only five minutes from the city of Launceston and fifteen from the airport. You'll enjoy the clean and comfortable accommodation, restaurant and bar overlooking Launceston and the Tamar river. Children under 12 stay free...Games room, playground, heated spa and indoor pool. Choose from motel rooms (continental breakfast included), or 2&3 bedroom self-contained units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Family Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Family Motor Inn Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing