We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a drive away from the CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Very good value for money. Across the road from a 24hour Kmart and a large supermarket open to midnight. No noise from there carries which is good. We had a two bedroom apartment which was clean with parking available right out the front. Came with kitchenette. Thoughtfully placed in the fridge was a pitcher of cold water and ice ready for your arrival. It's the simple things isnt it? My only negative was the fact they forgot to set up a baby crib for us however the positive was this was rectified within five minutes. Very good service. It was an honest oversight. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meaganl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2011

Recently stayed two nights in a standard motel suite and used it as a base to explore the wine trail through the Tamar Valley and look around Launceston itself. The room had the basic requirements for overnight accommodation, was clean & quiet at night. Elphin Villas is in close proximity to a large supermarket complex, parks etc and gives easy access to the main roads in the valley. The staff were friendly and provided helpful advice. Represented pretty good value for money & a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: If staying longer that a couple of nights look at the one & two bedroom apartmentts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philnterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Upon arrival to the Elphin Villas we noticed the great location. Right next to central park. This is an amazing park for the kids. However, when we opened the door to the rooms it had a smell of damp.

Our room looked very clean and tidy but the smell was a bit off putting. The units are of a decent size and they have a mini bar.

We had a good night sleep and the beds were comfortable. Overall, our stay was good but it highly unlikely we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MintSlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

A well located motel that was both clean and good value for money. We only stayed the one night, but the staff were welcoming and helpful. The rooms were of comfortable size, but the beds were a bit ownky to sleep on. It is walking distance from a big shopping centre so that made it easy to get supplies, dinner, etc and bring them back. Parking is a little to be desired as it is crammed due to the hillside it is located.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuppetPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Elphin Villas is in an area that is close to shops and close to the centre of Launceston.
My husband and I stayed at Elphin for business and had to travel from there to Launceston Church Grammer for meetings etc. It was a quick ten min drive and was an easy place to find.
The rooms were just the right size for us as we didnt spend much time there. The beds were very comfortable and we both got a good nights sleep. The electric blankets were a bonus and made it worth while.
There is nothing bad I can say about Elphin. Wonderful place to stay whether its a vacation away or business.
I highly recommend Elphin Villas.

Regards
Arianne & Adam Crowe

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam_Arianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The rooms are absolutely immaculate and very well presented. I was told this is due to recent refurbishments which have seen all rooms given new floors, paint, beds etc. The cleanliness of the room was outstanding each day and service at front desk was very friendly. The staff were willing to provide extra tea/coffee and milk upon request, ample information on Launceston and surrounds and were generally very happy to help. There is a supermarket/complex across the road which is 24 hours + a huge park within 50 metres + a sports centre across the road with a kids indoor playground, tennis and mini golf. absolutely no complaints - cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequent_traveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We spent 5 nights at the Elphin over Christmas in a 3 bedroom apartment and found it quite acceptable for the money. The location is not bad with a large supermarket and other shops within easy walking distance, but Launceston itself is a drive.
Unit was old and a bit tired but if you after a 3 bedroom place with a kitchen, on a budget the Elphin is ok ..
If you are after 5 star luxury look elsewhere

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob_the_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.5 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
525 reviews
1.2 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
947 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Coach House
Comfort Inn Coach House
#15 of 30 in Launceston
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments

Address: 24 Racecourse Crescent | Racecourse Crescent, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range: £56 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elphin Villas Motel and Serviced Apartments is in a quiet location and a 10 minute stroll to the city centre. The well appointed 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained villas are spacious and full of natural light, some with two bathrooms, some with full-size spa bath and all with their own private courtyard. Our 1 and 2 bedroom studio units have a kitchenette, lounge/dining area with ground floor units opening onto a restful barbeque and lawn area. The motel rooms are well appointed with refrigerator, microwave, kettle, toaster and kettle. All rooms are non-smoking and air conditioned. Free Wi-Fi and free off street parking at your front door is provided to all guests. Adjacent to the villas is the Coles/Kmart shopping centre and KFM Gym. 10% discount vouchers for local restaurants along with charge back facilities is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elphin Hotel Serviced Apartments
Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing