We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst experience ever. Dishonest hotel. Don't stay there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever. Dishonest hotel. Don't stay there!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

our first time to tasmania and the day spoiled by this hotel. We booked thru an online agent which quoted us a wrong room rate. Upon checking in, the receptionist Cathy was horribly rude and judgemental. I made the booking for four but didn't know why the online agent quoted a price for two. The hotel wanted us to pay more but of course we refused. The receptionist then said we tried to CHEAT them. She even said "a lot of people tried to do this... ". We requested to see the hotel manager Tania who at the end charged my credit card FOR FOUR PERSONS without notice! I would have CALLED THE POLICE if time allowed. since she insisted charging us instead of letting us cancel the booking, we took a look of the room. The interior badly need renovation. Its old and the beddings are dirty. The lightings also inadequate. Quite bad impression generally. (the online agent allowed us to cancel the booking without penalty but the hotel turned it down). Anyway, trust me, don't stay there. Its not worth the money. There are numerous motels along elphin road and we paid cheaper price finally but stayed happily at another motel with a magnificent view of launceston from the balcony. Don't risk spoiling your holiday like we did.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank getawaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ollie08, Manager at Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
We at Elphin Villas, appreciate and acknowledge feedback from our guests, whether it be positive or negative.
TripAdvisor is a site for honest reviews to assist travellers and not a bargaining tool used to post negative comments, when a guests unreasonable demands can not be met.
The booking site on this occasion did not quote the wrong rate. It is clearly stated on the website that the discount rate is for 2 adults and then $30.00 per person.
The online agent also did not allow this booking to be cancelled without penalty, in fact a site Supervisor explained in detail over the phone to the guest, her obligations once the booking was made.
I commend our receptionist Cathy for her professionalism under the extremely unpleasant circumstances she had to endure and am very confident that past reviews and our many repeat customers ove the last 30 years of trading, speak for themselves.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    47
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
32
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
meaganl78
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Very good value for money. Across the road from a 24hour Kmart and a large supermarket open to midnight. No noise from there carries which is good. We had a two bedroom apartment which was clean with parking available right out the front. Came with kitchenette. Thoughtfully placed in the fridge was a pitcher of cold water and ice ready for your arrival. It's the simple things isnt it? My only negative was the fact they forgot to set up a baby crib for us however the positive was this was rectified within five minutes. Very good service. It was an honest oversight. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meaganl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Recently stayed two nights in a standard motel suite and used it as a base to explore the wine trail through the Tamar Valley and look around Launceston itself. The room had the basic requirements for overnight accommodation, was clean & quiet at night. Elphin Villas is in close proximity to a large supermarket complex, parks etc and gives easy access to the main roads in the valley. The staff were friendly and provided helpful advice. Represented pretty good value for money & a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: If staying longer that a couple of nights look at the one & two bedroom apartmentts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philnterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Upon arrival to the Elphin Villas we noticed the great location. Right next to central park. This is an amazing park for the kids. However, when we opened the door to the rooms it had a smell of damp.

Our room looked very clean and tidy but the smell was a bit off putting. The units are of a decent size and they have a mini bar.

We had a good night sleep and the beds were comfortable. Overall, our stay was good but it highly unlikely we will stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MintSlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

A well located motel that was both clean and good value for money. We only stayed the one night, but the staff were welcoming and helpful. The rooms were of comfortable size, but the beds were a bit ownky to sleep on. It is walking distance from a big shopping centre so that made it easy to get supplies, dinner, etc and bring them back. Parking is a little to be desired as it is crammed due to the hillside it is located.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuppetPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huonville
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Elphin Villas is in an area that is close to shops and close to the centre of Launceston.
My husband and I stayed at Elphin for business and had to travel from there to Launceston Church Grammer for meetings etc. It was a quick ten min drive and was an easy place to find.
The rooms were just the right size for us as we didnt spend much time there. The beds were very comfortable and we both got a good nights sleep. The electric blankets were a bonus and made it worth while.
There is nothing bad I can say about Elphin. Wonderful place to stay whether its a vacation away or business.
I highly recommend Elphin Villas.

Regards
Arianne & Adam Crowe

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_Arianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

The rooms are absolutely immaculate and very well presented. I was told this is due to recent refurbishments which have seen all rooms given new floors, paint, beds etc. The cleanliness of the room was outstanding each day and service at front desk was very friendly. The staff were willing to provide extra tea/coffee and milk upon request, ample information on Launceston and surrounds and were generally very happy to help. There is a supermarket/complex across the road which is 24 hours + a huge park within 50 metres + a sports centre across the road with a kids indoor playground, tennis and mini golf. absolutely no complaints - cannot fault this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_traveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.5 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments

Property: Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments
Address: 24 Racecourse Crescent | Racecourse Crescent, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elphin Villas Motel and Serviced Apartments is in a quiet location and a 10 minute stroll to the city centre. The well appointed 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained villas are spacious and full of natural light, some with two bathrooms, some with full-size spa bath and all with their own private courtyard. Our 1 and 2 bedroom studio units have a kitchenette, lounge/dining area with ground floor units opening onto a restful barbeque and lawn area. The motel rooms are well appointed with refrigerator, microwave, kettle, toaster and kettle. All rooms are non-smoking and air conditioned. Free Wi-Fi and free off street parking at your front door is provided to all guests. Adjacent to the villas is the Coles/Kmart shopping centre and KFM Gym. 10% discount vouchers for local restaurants along with charge back facilities is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elphin Hotel Serviced Apartments
Elphin Villas, Motel & Serviced Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing