We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming apartments in a beautiful old building” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quest Launceston
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Charming apartments in a beautiful old building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed at Quest Launceston for one night recently in one of the rooftop loft style apartments, well appointed, great location near all the CBD restaurants and shops, beautiful restored building. Very efficient and friendly staff. Only a 5 minute walk to the bars and restaurants along the waterfront promenande. Just be aware if you choose a loft apartment there is a staircase as soon as you open your door to get to your apartment.

Room Tip: If you want a very quiet room choose the loft apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H-and-S-Langwarrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear H-and-S-Lang,
We are so fortunate that our beautifully restored heritage building has the best CBD location and is so near to such an abundance of dining options for our guests. I'm pleased you found one of our Loft apartments suited you, we do have regular guests that request these apartments for all the same reasons you have mentioned. I have passed on your generous comments to all our friendly team and we look forward to your next visit to Quest Launceston.
Thank you and kind regards Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    287
    66
    29
    14
See reviews for
205
218
15
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The apartment was very good - clean and hygienic. Perfect accommodation. Bed was comfortable and we had a good night rest. Staff was also very helpful in suggesting where we could go for dinner for a nice meal or if we wanted a scenic dinner. Staff were attentive and friendly to our needs. Free wifi was also provided for. Only minor thing was that the hot water got exhausted after a couple of us showered. The rest had to wait for an hour before there was hot water again. So for travellers in big groups, you'll have to be mindful to spread out the showering time or just shower quickly! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onevonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Onevonne,
Thank you for taking the time to submit such a positive review from your recent stay in one of our comfortable apartments. Our team are always happy to assist guests with their dining options, we are so fortunate to be in such a close proxcimity to some of Launceston's best restaurants that our guests are so spoilt for choice. We look forward to welcoming your group back upon your next return to Tasmania.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Today I just returned from a week in beautiful Launceston.
The Quest was very central and we stayed down stairs and the apartment style accommodation was absolutely perfect. Clean comfortable .
As an insomniac it was wonderful it had a lounge sitting area with a very very comfortable couch so I could sit up for a while before retiring and keeping my partner awake. It is perfect. The parking although not free is very reasonable.
It has just the right amount of cooking facilities indeed everything you could want. If something was missing the incredibly professional staff were always very willing to help.
The staff were absolutely brilliant nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Dont be afraid to stay. Use the car park because its quite reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Petersj,
It was fantastic to read that our professional "Quest Team" were able to play such a positive part in your week long stay in Launceston. It's always pleasing to receive feedback from our guests that we have "ticked" all the boxes and your generous comments certainly were uplifting. Our whole "Quest Team" works hard to meet guests expectations and I've passed your feedback to them. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future travels.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

A quick one nighter in connecting rooms on 2nd floor was made easy by booking staff,lovely roomy rooms,well appointed & very clean. My only dissappointment of these apartments is the hard beds and noisy laneway under our bedroom window. As it was a sat night this laneway is obviously used as a cut-through and even the double glazing couldn't block out the noise. A different room perhaps would change this,but please update your mattresses!!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if staying on the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Julandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Julandra,
Thank you for submitting your review from your previous stay. I'm pleased you found your apartment clean and well appointed. Thankyou for your feedback regards the mattress in your apartment, we are in the midst of doing room refurbishments and would appreciate you contacting us to advise which apartment you stayed in so we can address your feedback immediately. We can also then add a note on your profile to allocate rooms away from the laneway for future stays.
Look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Thankyou to all at Quest Launceston! We have been staying here over the last two years and we are really impressed with the standard of this quest! The facilities are perfect, great location, great staff and clean and functional.

Keep up the great work!
PS special thanks to Paula who organised my hair and nail appointment!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestLaunceston, Owner at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear HelenC,
Receiving such complimenatry feedback from one of our regular guests highlights the fact we are meeting the high standards our guests have come to expect. I'm delighted yet not suprised that one of our professional friendly front office team members, Paula, was able to coordinate your pampering session for you. Thank you for taking the time to submit such an uplifting review and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.
Kind regards
Vijan Patel
Franchisee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed two nights at the Quest Launceston in one of the basement rooms, which was okay - it had a window onto the lane! There is no charge for to use the hotel's washing machine, and parking is opposite at a reasonable charge.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful.
The location is good for restaurants, shopping and attractions.

Room Tip: Mention if you don't like staying basement rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lu Lu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear LuLuB,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay. It's great you enjoyed our central location and that you found our front office team helpful. We only have a few basement rooms so please advise us on your next booking that your preference would be rooms located on a higher floor and we will more than happy to oblige and make a note on your profile for all future bookings. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed for five days in the one bed apartment, one of the best apartments I have stayed in. It has a full bathroom, laundry facilities, large bedroom and a really good lounge/kitchen area. It was a well set space, good heating, very comfortable. If was in great location, close to restaurants and pubs. It was very quiet and the tower clock didn't bother me at all, didn't think it was that loud. Staff were friendly and I thought the handwritten note and chocolate on arrival was a nice touch. Will definitely stay her again. Car parking is just over the road in a public carpark, convenient and easy to use.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestLaunceston, Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear SueM,
How wonderful to read that your stay in one of our fully equipped spacious one bedroom apartments was such a comfortable one.
We aim to ensure our apartments are equipped to most guests expectations, so its great to receive feedback advising us that we are succeeding.
Glad you enjoyed your chocolate on arrival and we hope to welcome you back soon to our apartments in the near future.
Thank you and kind regards,
Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Launceston

Property: Quest Launceston
Address: 16 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Family Hotel in Launceston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Launceston 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent restoration of the historic Murray Building houses Quest Launceston. Centrally located, the property is a short stroll from the Launceston City Shopping Mall, Restaurant Precinct, Tourist Information Centre, City Park and Convention Centre. Only minutes to the renowned Cataract Gorge, Boags Brewery & River Cruise Terminal.As part of Australias largest serviced apartment chain, Quest Apartments, Quest Launceston offers all the modern facilities you expect with space, comfort and style.Offering a flexible variety of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments, Quest Launceston is the ideal choice for business, relocations, groups, families and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Quest Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hotel Launceston
Quest Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing