We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couple of issues but nice location/staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sebel Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sebel Launceston
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    338
    73
    20
    9
See reviews for
159
373
32
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We booked a Superior suite with separate bedroom and balcony. The room was excellant, modern and clean with a great bed. In our week's stay in Tasmania the Sebel was the best accomodation we experienced and certainly value for money. I would have preferred if the car parking fee and wifi was included in the room price rather than being charged as an extra (car parking $8 per night). The location was great within walking distance to the city centre. We skipped the breakfast preferring to eat at the Elm Tree Cafe on the corner. The restaraunt looked largely abandoned in the evenings as most guests appear to prefer to eat out.
Would definately recommend this hotel to others and would consider using it again for the next stay in Launceston.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveKinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thankyou DaveKinlan for your feedback.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay and the facilities and condition of our rooms.
I have just viewed our new restaurant menu featuring a nice selection of Tasmanian produce. While many guests do eat out when on holidays, we do get very good feedback from our restaurant meals and I hope you have the chance to try if you are visiting Launceston again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

The staff make a hotel and the Sebel has got it, During our stay Gavin, Tara and Maree were exceptional. All our needs were met quickly, efficiently and with a smile. Dinner in the restaurant was amazing. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, we would have loved to of stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thankyou travelleriau for the comments posted on your stay.
Your feedback on the service you received from our team means so much to myself and I will pass this on to them and the rest of the staff. As you mentioned, in our industry where every hotel has a certain similarity in what is provided in a room, the service is what enables anyone to stand out.
I hope you have the chance to visit again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MORWELL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Sebel Launceston for one week in January and enjoyed the experience. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and the location was a short walk away from the City Centre and the port restaurant area.
The Room was spacious and very suitable for a long stay. The restaurant food was great and the staff eager to assist with any questions.
Would recommend as a great place to stay in Launceston.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thankyou John G for your kind words.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the level of service extended to you from the entire team.
I hope you have the chance to visit again
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

A group of us booked into the Sebel Hotel which we had booked for The Penthouse. Due to having a Hens night. To our suprise & disapointment upon checking into our room, we were told that the computers had been playing up & caused a double booking. In this case our group couldn't stay in the room we had originally booked & paid for, we were moved into 2 rooms on the second floor.. The rooms were very nice, updated & clean. Although didn't have an oven like the room originally booked for did. But at reception they were happy to take our food to the kitchen & heat up so we could eat at 6pm. For the inconvenience with our booking we received a couple bottles of free wine, free parking & a hot buffe breakfast for all who was staying. Breakfast was a sham, due to dealing with different receptionist we didn't get our free Hot buffe breakfast, apparently they don't do hot breakfasts, only continental ones. So we could either have the continental breakfast of cereal, fruit & toast or pay $10 & have a choice off the menu, which most of us did. My main complaint is we never got the room we originally paid for due to their stuff up, and didn't get our hot buffe style breakfast like we were told we would get. Being in two different rooms was a hassle for a hens do, we managed but next time i'll be booking over the phone, that way i might get the room i paid for!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvlyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thankyou luvlyf for your feedback.
I am very sorry for your inconvenience being an important gathering for you.
I know the team did try and contact you before hand and try and talk through the booking error in our system. Unfortuantely we do only have one penthouse and had to make some arrangements for one of the bookings.
I am glad you found the two bedroom apartments at a standard you were happy with though and the added extras however it seems the breakfast part was not communicated as effectively as it should.
If you have any reason to be staying in Launceston especially with a few friends etc, please fill free in contacting myself so we can ensure you go away with the right impression of our hotel.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Property: The Sebel Launceston
Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing