We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Launceston
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Dromana, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The Sebel Launceston is fantastic, I regularly travel Tasmania with business and they never disappoint, the staff are always happy and very welcoming and friendly, the ladies at reception always go above and beyond with any requests. The rooms are clean and quite comfy, food is also good value and hits the spot. Always look forward to my stay at The Sebel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bardy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thankyou Bardy1 for taking the time to post a response on here based on your stay.
I am delighted you found the room and cleanliness to your liking as well as our restaurant food.
I will also pass on your comments regarding the service you received to the rest of our team.
I hope you have the chance to visit again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    345
    74
    20
    10
See reviews for
164
387
33
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Wanting to give my 86yr old mother and a friend a holiday with something special to remember I decided that the Sebel would be perfect. Needing separate rooms with space the
Four Bedroom Spa Suite was the only way to go.

After traveling 1600klm from Sydney to Hobart then up to Launceston and spending over a $1000 for 2 nights, breakfast not included. I was dismayed by the fact that I firstly had to be my own Porter carrying 5 suitcases and handling my partially invalid mother into reception. Although pleasant the concierge was less than enthusiastic about being there.

upon entering the room and settling in, we noticed that nearly all surfaces were covered in gritty dirt and food crumbs were under the dining table. Although our concerns were rectified promptly and with apologies, it was apparent that the cleaning staff are slacking off considerably. These things may seem petty to some but are a major part of first impressions.

I will list my other complaints as succinctly as possible.

Tired and worn out appearance,
Severe black scuff marks from children suitcases and carelessness on walls.

Ensuite shower broken held together with a screw, points everywhere but down.
Coffee Plunger disgustingly dirty and rusty ...................(pictures to prove it)
Brown stain similar to plunger on ceiling light................ (pictures to prove it)
Toaster slightly rusty and crumb tray broken handle
Hotel Information Book pages stuck together with sticky Alcohol spill from previous occupants
Cracker biscuits found under couch.

Now to mention the in house food. Most of which was below average at best.
Ordering a $35 Scotch Fillet, it was totally inedible being tough, dry and sinewy. Also ordered an Expensive $$ Wagu Beef Burger which although filling was dry and reasonably tasteless. On day 2 I ordered 2 in house Pizza's, these we found were actually frozen, we knew this as the pastry was soggy, raw in the middle but at least hot.

Now for the complements.
Staff were very friendly and always helpful. Having had numerous other hotel breakfast offers in the past the Sebel is lacking in its variety and value. However my wife and I had a lovely cooked breakfast on the Wednesday, our compliments to the chef.

Having read past comments from customers and reply’s from the hotel going back quite a way, I find it unusual that most genuine complaints are met with the same response of ongoing maintenance during the off period. In some instances this may be true however in regards to my concerns it takes nothing to paint a few walls between customers and minutes to replace a broken shower. After observing the hotels practices it appears that the cleaning staff should be either retrained or let go as they are affecting the hotels appearance and reputation.
All in all we were comfortable and very happy with the room in general, it was quiet, has beautiful views of towards Cataract Gorge and overlooks the Tamar River which makes for a very relaxing stay.

I would only hope that other Sebel Hotels around Australia have higher standards.

Room Tip: From other complaints anything above the second floor and not on the city clock tower side.. The Fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thankyou Graham C for your detailed feedback. I do appreciate the time you spent on this.
Our 4 bedroom apartment is one of our most popular in the summer months. I am sorry about the cleanliness of that room as this is not an accepted standard from us. We have plans for some upkeep very shortly when we have the chance to get into it for a week. This does include a re-paint of the room. We did complete approximately 80% of the hotel prior to January.
Our new restaurant and room service menu commenced on the 3rd March and I am happy with the feedback so far. In saying this I did pass on all your comments to the team in the kitchen.
Should you be staying again, I would welcome the chance to consider The Sebel Launceston. Please feel free in contacting myself should this be the case.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We booked a Superior suite with separate bedroom and balcony. The room was excellant, modern and clean with a great bed. In our week's stay in Tasmania the Sebel was the best accomodation we experienced and certainly value for money. I would have preferred if the car parking fee and wifi was included in the room price rather than being charged as an extra (car parking $8 per night). The location was great within walking distance to the city centre. We skipped the breakfast preferring to eat at the Elm Tree Cafe on the corner. The restaraunt looked largely abandoned in the evenings as most guests appear to prefer to eat out.
Would definately recommend this hotel to others and would consider using it again for the next stay in Launceston.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveKinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thankyou DaveKinlan for your feedback.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay and the facilities and condition of our rooms.
I have just viewed our new restaurant menu featuring a nice selection of Tasmanian produce. While many guests do eat out when on holidays, we do get very good feedback from our restaurant meals and I hope you have the chance to try if you are visiting Launceston again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The staff make a hotel and the Sebel has got it, During our stay Gavin, Tara and Maree were exceptional. All our needs were met quickly, efficiently and with a smile. Dinner in the restaurant was amazing. Would recommend this hotel to anyone, we would have loved to of stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thankyou travelleriau for the comments posted on your stay.
Your feedback on the service you received from our team means so much to myself and I will pass this on to them and the rest of the staff. As you mentioned, in our industry where every hotel has a certain similarity in what is provided in a room, the service is what enables anyone to stand out.
I hope you have the chance to visit again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MORWELL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed at the Sebel Launceston for one week in January and enjoyed the experience. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and the location was a short walk away from the City Centre and the port restaurant area.
The Room was spacious and very suitable for a long stay. The restaurant food was great and the staff eager to assist with any questions.
Would recommend as a great place to stay in Launceston.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thankyou John G for your kind words.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the level of service extended to you from the entire team.
I hope you have the chance to visit again
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Property: The Sebel Launceston
Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing