We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well equipped and conveniently located hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sebel Launceston
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well equipped and conveniently located hotel.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just stayed 2 nights at the Sebel. Very well equipped, suite style property.

One bedroom suite included self contained kitchen facility, washing machine, dryer and even a clothes airer Well appointed for moderate price. Good quality comp products in huge bathroom.

Bedding was lovely, super crispy white sheets and doona.

Only supermarket we could find was Coles at other end of Charles street. Handy to be able to prepare own meals.

Loved hearing the bells ringing from the post office tower up the street.

All up good property. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracycyclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thankyou Tracycyclone for your review posted on line.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the hotel room features suited your needs.
I hope you have the chance to visit again at some stage
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    352
    75
    20
    10
See reviews for
168
397
35
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed here at the end of March for work and enjoyed my stay.

The bathroom was massive so perfect for families where you need to shower/bath kids. Balconies off the room, plenty of living space.

Staff were really good, and the food in the lobby bar is great for a snack if you cant be bothered getting out.

Definitely stay again next year...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thankyou Jason O for your feedback on your stay.
I have passed on your comments to the team and we look forward to your stay next year.
Please let us know if there is anythign we can do for that next visit.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, WA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel consists of serviced apartments, with a mixture of long-term and short-term guests. The location is very nice, within easy walking distance of shopping, the Boag’s brewery district and (a bit longer) a lovely city park/garden plus the Tasmania Design Center, a must if you like fine design in wood.

We stayed in early April for one night in a king one bedroom spa unit which was quite nice. The living area had a modern three-person couch, coffee table and flat panel TV. The kitchen facilities include a microwave, a small refrigerator, a sink, a kettle and sachets of instant coffee and tea. There was no dining table, but there was an amply-sized desk. There is also a small balcony, although since we were on the side of a main road, the noise was a definite drawback. If you are not already a member of the Accor Hotels’ loyalty program, you’ll need to join in order to get free WiFi. This seems to be true even if you are just using the public computer in the hotel’s lobby to print boarding passes. To date, joining has not produced any unwanted e-mails from the program.

The bathroom, with a Jacuzzi tub separate from the spacious shower, was very nice. There was ample counter space for toiletries, and also drawer(s). Breakfast consists of a very modest continental cold buffet and a large menu of cooked items. On the buffet, the pastries were less than inspiring, and the fruit offered was not ripe. The nicer touches, such as fruit compotes or Birchermuesli that we found at other large chains were absent. From the cooked menu, the eggs Benedict had a lovely lemony Hollandaise sauce, but one of the poached eggs was almost hard-boiled, while the other was very runny.

There is covered parking for $8/night, but it leaves a lot to be desired. The spaces in the bays for hotel guests are few, and very narrow. If you have a passenger, they will need to exit the vehicle before you pull in – otherwise, they’ll be trapped overnight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GHgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thankyou GHgrrl for your feedback.
I have passed on your feedback to the breakfast team to improve the continental buffet. Most of our breakfasts do consist of hot cooked to order meals but we can still look at further options to the buffet. While every poached egg is cooked to a set time to ensure consistency, I am unsure why one was rock hard. Again valuable feedback to the team.
I hope you have the chance to visit Launceston again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Friendly welcome even though the receptionist was away doing room service it didn't take long. Was upgraded which was nice room have always been clean and well presented.
Didn't eat or drink here this time, gym is TINY and I was told I could use gym over the road.....they said no.
Other than that it's well located clean and staff way friendlier than my last visit.

Room Tip: Go high. It's less noisy....mind you the street in front during rush hour is hardly busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thanks Don2156 for your comments on your recent visit.
I am very happy you chose to stay with us again. I am in the process of following up with the gym as they always had a preferred agreement with us for our guests to use their classes etc at their establishment. We do only have a gym with basic running and cycling machine and weights machine for limited workouts.
I hope you have the chance to visit again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a trip to Launceston. The reception ave a good impression and our room was fresh and modern with all the features of a one bedroom apartment: aircon, kitchenette with fridge and microwave, bathroom with washing machine and drier, separate bedroom with wardrobe, iron and ironing board. There is a small balcony with table and chairs. A good feature if staying with family or friends is the ability to connect two adjoining rooms by closing the corridor main door. The Receptionists were helpful and provided a map of Launceston and gave directions for places we wanted to visit. We have stayed at other hotels in Launceston over the years and The Sebel now rates as the best we have enjoyed. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thankyou JohnLevingston for your review posted on your stay.
Both myself and the team are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Property: The Sebel Launceston
Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing