We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay at Sebel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sebel Launceston
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at Sebel”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have stayed at the Sebel, Launceston several times over the last 12 months. On every visit we have found the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel excellent. The meals served in the in-house restaurant are always of high quality and service friendly and efficient.
We have always found that the staff at the hotel are one of its best asset. They always greet you with a smile and go out of their way to assist you and cater for your needs.
All of our stays at the Sebel have exceeded our expectations and we always look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear of the hotel have an outlook over to the Cataract Gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thankyou Richard P for taking the time to post a response on your stay.
I will pass your comments on to the entire team. It is very much appreciated receiving this feedback.
I hope you have a chance to return soon.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    348
    75
    20
    10
See reviews for
165
393
35
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geeveston, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice and very convenient hotel, good and easy walking distance to all things worth seeing in Launceston. Will stay there again, not to shabby at all. Nice and friendly staff as well. Having the parking for just a few dollars is very convenient as well as the free WiFi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bojangles1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thankyou Bojangles1954 for your feedback.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and the facilities and service met all your needs.
I hope you have the chance to visit Launceston again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed in a 2 Bedroom apartment with balcony. Rooms are generous in size. Have washing machine (Not automatic), dishwasher plus host of other things in the room. Big TV and comfy sofa.
Could stay in the room the whole day if the Launceston becomes a bit unpredictable. Was offered free WiFi as well. Splendid hotel! Will certainly stay there again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor to get away with the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks Ray C.
I am very happy you enjoyed the facilities and furnishings of our two bedroom apartment.
They are very spacious particularly for 4 people.
I hope you have the chance to visit again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager.
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The problem with reviewing places like the Sebel, is you pretty much know what you are getting before you turn up. The place is like most other hotels from one of the big chains. And that is not a negative. It was pleasant, clean and crisp sheets, plenty of space etc. Parking was close to reception. A positive experience. The problem is you could have been anywhere once inside the room. But this is the norm for such a place. I would stay here again if in Launceston without a doubt. But more likely I would stay 30 mins or so out of town in a small Tasmania town and drive in. Staff were very helpful and courteous, from the receptionist to the cleaners. Was a bit expensive, but that could have been due to Agfest being on at the same time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ultracrepidarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks Ultracrepidarian for your review.
Agfest is a major event period for Launceston with demand for rooms very high. For this weekend, prices do tend to be higher than other off peak times.
I am pleased you enjoyed the facilities and the consistant standard offered.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for a hen's weekend in the Penthouse - beautiful suite with 4 bedrooms, one with it's own walk-in robe & ensuite, 1 twin room & 2 other rooms with King beds, and another bathroom and separate toilet. Also included a laundry.
Great floor to ceiling windows in living area, plus the balcony was an excellent place to enjoy a coffee.
Staff were great - gave us plenty of elevator keys, but only 1 room key for 10 women!
Would be great if travelling with 2 families - everything you could want.
Would stay again, if in a group.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thanks Kathy M for your review.
I am very happy you enjoyed the facilities of our 4 bedroom penthouse. When you consider the number of people you can sleep with all its facilities, it is very cost effective way to stay.
We are about to complete some added improvements to the look of this room in the very near future to keep it fresh and bright.
Hope you or other friends consider it when in launceston next for a group suchb as yours.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
3.8 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Property: The Sebel Launceston
Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing