We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Tasmania”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Launceston
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We recently stayed in Cradle Mountain, Hobart and Launceston: The Sebel in Launceston was the highlight accommodation of our trip. Good quality finish in the apartment, the most accommodating staff and good food. The price on special for the Winter season was exceptional. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbliss330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks travelbliss330 for your kind words.
Our aim is to consistently deliver a product which keeps our guests coming back. I will pass your comments on to the entire team. While we all love the work we are in, I am sure your feedback will encourage them going forward.
I hope you have the chance to visit again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Great location in Launceston, within walking distance of everything. The staff were lovely and really helpful and the accommodation was simple, clean and super comfortable. Perfect stop in Launceston, would highly recommend this accommodation!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EddieOates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thankyou EddieOates for your comments on your stay.
Keeping it simple is often the best way to consistently deliver.
Service, cleanliness and upkeep are our keys and I hope you have the chance to return and see this offered again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Sebel Launceston provides a high standard of apartment style accommodation in the centre of Launceston. Generous size rooms with kitchenette, bath and shower are comfortable and well-equipped. It is not your historic, rural style place that some people want in Tassie, rather a well-maintained contemporary option - which suited me fine. Right in the city centre, with lovely walks along the Tamar river and cooked breakfast in the package - I think this is a great option in Launceston. Well-priced in relation to the few other contemporary hotels!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thankyou Michelle Hi for your response.
I am pleased that our location and style of room met all your needs as to the quality of our breakfast.
I hope you have the chance to visit Launceston again and stay with us.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Sebel is very comfortable and centrally located and is walking distance from most attractions and the convention centres at the Tramsheds. The main bedroom that can be partitioned off from the main living area is uncommon in many hotel rooms but is certainly a good idea. Breakfast was really good and the service was relaxed and efficient. The only downside was that the wireless internet was only available in the lobby and then only for 30 minutes. In this day and age and in an upmarket hotel, wireless internet should be freely available at a moderate speed. If hostels can manage this it seems quite amazing that hotels such as the Sebel cannot.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Stevokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thankyou Stevokin for taking the time to provide a commentary on your stay.
I am very happy that on the whole you enjoyed the layout of your room, service and quality of our restaurant food.
In regards to wifi, we do provide this complimentary to our Accor Le Club members. This is free to sign up to and provides many benefits to its members. If you are staying next time our staff would be only to happy to help you with this.
We will also be going through a complete upgrade to our broadband and wifi system. Like most hotels, we have technology which is over 7 years old and with todays speed and increase usage than that several years ago, speeds etc have caused us problems. We have identified this as a major concern and with our planned changes along with the NBN coming to Launceston in the coming months we are confident in the product we can offer our guests.
I hope you have the chance to visit and see the results soon.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for our family of 4 (2 children 8 & 11 years). It was fabulous. Clean, well appointed and warm. The staff were very helpful (especially Gavan on the front desk). He gave me directions to a small grocery store close by and even called them to make sure they were open on the long weekend. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenJen8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thankyou JenJen8800 for posting comments on your stay.
I am very pleased the service experienced during your stay was a highlight of your stay.
I will pass this on to our staff in particular Gavin. Working in this industry, it is the main reason behind our work however to get this feedback is very rewarding to us.
I hope you have the chance to visit again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed for 2 days 2 weeks ago, the staff are great and helpful, great breakfast in dining room.Double sliding doors from living room to bedroom were great,could watch my tv shows while my partner slept. We would stay there again happily.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks Lorraine179 for your comments on your stay.
I am very pleased you found the size and design of our rooms met your needs as to your breakfast in the restaurant.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I regularly stay in Launceston for business and the first place I always check for availability is The Sebel Launceston. The service is always amazing and I've been lucky enough to be upgraded 3 out of the 8 times I've stayed there which is always an added bonus!

The location is a short stroll into the centre of town and there is parking available for a really small fee.

The rooms are incredibly well appointed with a full kitchen, including a fridge, stove, microwave, kettle and anything else you could need.

Most apartments have a desperate sleeping and living area which is nice for longer stays.

My favorite feature is the Appells toiletries which are organic and Australian.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks Emily G for your kind words.
It is a pleasure to hear this and I will pass your comments on to the entire team.
We have only recently moved over to the Appells toiletries and am happy you noticed this change.
I loook forward to welcoming you back whenj next in Launceston.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 31 in Launceston
1,012 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 31 in Launceston
1,704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
3.8 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#4 of 31 in Launceston
870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £93 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing