We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beds!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Launceston
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beds!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great location, easy to find - walking distance to Cataract Gorge, riverfront, shops and restaurants. Friendly staff and check-in was a breeze. Good choice for breakfast. The best thing...absolutely amazing king size bed...so comfortable you didn't want to get out!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thankyou Kim N for your kind words.
I am delighted you had a very comfortable stay and you found the service friendly and the meals good.
I hope you have a chance to visit again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    352
    75
    20
    10
See reviews for
168
397
35
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

First time staying; very comfortable room, delighful staff and ample parking. Great location, close to walking tracks and lots of great restaurants. Staff very helpful with advice/directions etc. Will be staying here next time! :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thankyou Lucy954 for your comments.
I am very happy you found your stay ticked all the boxes. I will pass these comments on to our staff as they are very focused on meeting the needs of our guests.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very comfortable stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Easy walk to the mall. The restaurant was very good. Lucky to be there for the Long Table Dinner which featured Tamar Valley Truffles and we even met the Mandy, the Truffle dog. Amazing meal! The extra option of a themed menu featuring Honey in June, Truffles in July, Chocolate in Aug and Lavender in Sep is very enticing indeed. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thankyou Dianne M for your response posted.
It was a delight to have you attend our truffle dinner and I am very pleased you enjoyed the night with us.
I hope you get the chance to visit again soon.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment as travelling with a small baby and the room was perfect for our needs, contained a kitchen, 2 bathrooms and 2 separate bedrooms. Rose at the front desk was more than accommodating for all of our requests and clearly excels in her role. She was very patient with our many questions and room service orders! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: if traveling with a family - the 2 bedroom apartment is a convenient choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks Kate J for your comments.
I have passed on your words to Rose in appreciation of her service.
This feedback means a lot to the team.
I hope you have the chance to stay again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A great two night stay that combined business with an opportunity to stay on for an extra night and enjoy dinner and a late check out. The rooms are big and well appointed. We had a dud light in our first room that was blinking on and off; the staff immediately found us a new room with an upgrade to a spa which I thoroughly enjoyed. Comfortable beds, well equipped rooms with good wifi and space to work in. We enjoyed the restaurant for two dinners and breakfast including the interesting truffle dessert plate with a beautiful ice cream and panna cotta and a Tasmanian whiskey tasting on our second night. Perhaps the highlight of our stay was the staff - it is relatively easy to create pleasant surrounds; not always as easy to ensure that every element of a stay is 'perfect' and that is not important if you have great staff who have your guests' comfort and enjoyment as their focus. We appreciated all the staff that we had contact with, both in the hotel and the restaurant, and they contributed significantly to making it a memorable stay! Our Accor Advantage Card was an added bonus providing a healthy discount to meals and accommodation. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Tasfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelTas, General Manager at The Sebel Launceston, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks J-Tasfoodie for your feedback.
In our industry, the service we provide is the key and I am very happy you could experience that like all our other guests.
I will pass this on to the entire team.
I hope you have the chance to visit again.
Kind Regards
Simon Wells
General Manager
The Sebel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Launceston

Property: The Sebel Launceston
Address: Cnr St John & William Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Launceston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#7 Business Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sebel Launceston hotel is an elegant, boutique style hotel set in a central CBD location, within walking distance to the Seaport precinct and major attractions such as Cataract Gorge. Combining style and convenience, the hotel comprises 51 self-contained guest rooms boasting a private balcony, separate bedroom with luxurious king size bed and spacious en-suite. Many also feature spa baths and kitchen and laundry facilities.Showcasing natural Tasmanian stone and timbers throughout the interior and locally commissioned art, The Sebel Launceston offers charming, contemporary accommodation and unrivaled service in one of Australia’s oldest and most picturesque cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Launceston Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Hotel Launceston
Sebel Hotel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing