We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ranked #2 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We spent two nights here and loved the house and the breakfasts. Jennifer was a gracious host and breakfasts were delicious. The room was very comfortable and even though the weather was unseasonably hot, the house was very cool. We bought some cheese and wine and had one meal on the back deck which was lovely and we finished off with a complimentary muscat from the loungeroom - yum! Jennifer also allowed us to use her laundry at no extra charge which was very useful. It is walking distance to everything but it was a long, hot walk back up the hill!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewfromfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Ashton Gate Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at Ashton Gate. Both rooms we stayed in were immaculate. The beds are very comfortable and the linen excellent quality.

Jennifer prepares a wonderful breakfast and compliments it with home made breads, jams, and stewed fruits all served in the beautiful breakfast room.

The staff are very friendly and always ready to help with tips on places to see while in Launceston.

Thank you Jennifer for making our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent a total of four nights here and had a wonderful time. The cooked breakfast is a feature with plenty of choice and home made bread. A bonus is meeting the other guests and sharing experiences. Jennifer, the host, made us very welcome and was always nearby to help with questions.

The rooms are nicely decorated with excellent linen. They are very comfortable. The housekeeping staff were particularly friendly.

The area is really nice and only a short walk (downhill) to the city. We did this several times for meals and there was plenty of choice for restaurants to go to. There is plenty to see and do in Launceston so you could make this a base.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wing6rider-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A great place to stay in launceston - located on a hill just on the city fringe, easily walkable to town but a big hill on the way back. Our room was spotlessly clean and we booked the spa suite which apart from an enormous bathroom also had a separate sitting room with TV and couch to relax in overlooking the courtyard. Jennifer was a great host full of helpful advice, but the standout was her breakfasts with home made everything from the bread, stewed fruits grown in the garden to the yoghurt - all simply delicious. Great value room rate as well.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sydneyite89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful federation house on a hill above Launceston. Great rooms and decor with basic but good ensuites. Cooked breakfast in the morning with choice of eggs, bacon, spinach, mushrooms, tomato, sausage etc! Best lemon curd I have ever had too!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Aus_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The property sits atop a hill on High Street and while it is a 15-minute walk to the town center we usually drove as the trudge back uphill can be a little daunting - we are not big walkers btw. We've actually taken a walk around the neighborhood and it was lovely - peaceful and serene. It is set against a residential neighborhood and like much of Launceston, has a number of old, stone houses which really acts character to the surrounding.

We stayed in the Campbell room which is separated from the main house, which is like an annex to the main building. The bedroom and the living area are in separate rooms. What is immediately distinct is the meticulous care taken in decorating the room and making sure everything is tidy and in order. The room was tidied and the beds made everyday, which was a happy surprise for us as this was the first BnB that does that if we stayed more than one night. It is beautifully decorated with nice little touches here and there. What also stood out was the breakfast which had a good menu of hot items to order from. Breakfast hour is however short - between 8 to 9am, which is a little tight for us as there were three of us sharing the same bathroom. Nonetheless, I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone visiting Launceston.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Campbell room if you want a rom within the main house itself
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ashton Gate with another couple and we were all very impressed. The house is a beautiful Victorian bungalow, filled with antique furniture and ornaments, in the Victorian style and set in a magnificent garden filled with flowers. Everything was well maintained, spacious, and very comfortable.
The cooked breakfast was ample and delicious, with homemade jams and lemon butter.
Our hostess, Jennifer, was welcoming and informative and nothing was too much trouble for her.
We also enjoyed the complimentary port, sherry, muscat, and biscuits in the guests' living room, which added to the home away from home atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
512 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton Gate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton Gate Guest House

Address: 32 High St | East Launceston, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range: £79 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashton Gate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashton Gate Guest House (b1880), is a beautifully maintained heritage listed Victorian home located just a short stroll from the city centre. All rooms are exquisitely furnished to the period yet feature modern en-suites and bathrooms with quality fittings. A cosy lounge or the spacious private back deck provide ideal retreats for quiet moments with a drink and a book or a convivial meeting place to swap and compare Tasmanian experiences with fellow travellers. A delicious full breakfast, cooked to order with local and home grown produce is served in the breakfast room which overlooks the magnificent oak trees of St Georges Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ashton Gate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton Gate Guest House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing