We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ranked #2 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just lovely!!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

There is little I can add that others have not already said in their reviews. It was a beautiful palce to stay and I would stay there again in an instant. The house and all it had to offer made up for the cold wet weather outside during our stay.

Room Tip: Look at the photos on offer and the floor plan if there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anovel2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    29
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
102
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

You'd have to fall for Ashton House solely for the facade... a wonderful late 1800s home, verandah, white picket fence, masses of beautiful roses adding charm, fruit trees and vegetable garden that provide produce for the excellent hearty breakfast. The house pedigree is known and documented for visitors to read. All the rooms are individually named and themed, spacious and charming with comfortable furniture. There is a communal lounge - always supplies of tea, coffee, biscuits and a decanter of port for those wanting a tipple, magazines, books and games. This guest house is the accommodation I use as a template to measure the excellence of anywhere I stay. It remains on the top of my list and I am a regular guest. Visitors at breakfast could be from anywhere around the world. Spotless. The staff friendly and the owner always happy to go the extra mile with a smile. Appointed next to a small park. Neighbouring homes are elegant. Plenty of parking outside. For those who enjoy walking, the centre of Launceston is not far away. If you want to feel cosseted in a very professionally run establishment make sure to head to Ashton Gate.

Room Tip: Rooms are themed - so if you want a more masculine room chose one with a man's name and vice ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Ashton Gate. Each room has a personality of it's own that fits the Victoria charm of the house. We stayed in William, and were very happy with the accommodation. Home made bread, stewed apricots and lemon curd made our full cooked breakfast experience even more special! What a great way to set up a day's sightseeing and wine tasting. Just a short drive from the centre of Lonnie, this is a great location from which to explore. We definitely recommend this charming B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vixsterb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A lot of thought has gone into making a stay here a great experience. Attention to detail as always makes the difference. Everything is in keeping with character and heritage of the house. The rooms are spacious and the guest lounge supplied with just about everything you can think of. Breakfast was excellent. Jennifer is an attentive and welcoming host. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance down to the town with a good walk up to get rid of those calories.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJandMrsCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC suburbs
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Beautiful Victorian home. Very comfortable bed, tastefully decorated room, terrific shower and wonderful cooked breakfast served in a community dining space. Just what a B&B should be.

Complimentary drinks and cookies are available in the reading/game room along with the usual tea and coffee. Internet is very strong in that room.

No reservations in recommending this property if Launceston is part of your travels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apba66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Our host Jennifer was very friendly & accommodating - we were most impressed when offered a complimentary upgrade upon arrival to the 'William' room! Breakfast was delicious, Port/Sherry/Musket & Chess in the evening was a romantic touch!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shesmilesweetly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
287 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here for eight nights and felt at home from the moment that I arrived. Jennifer is all over everything, which means that all the details get her personal attention. So, of course the drinks and cookies are out each night in the common room and quality wine and beer are always available for purchase. She is very accommodating; for example letting me do my laundry in their facilities. Breakfasts are incredibly good, with homemade bread and yogurt. Breakfasts are made to order and the breakfast room is adorable. Rooms have an authentic feel and my bathroom (in Margaret room) was modern and everything worked. A small store about a block away allowed me to purchase a newspaper early each morning. Free wifi was spotty, but I was always able to find a signal.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Margaret room, which faces east. The sun came right into bed with me in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tirebiter8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashton Gate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashton Gate Guest House

Property: Ashton Gate Guest House
Address: 32 High St | East Launceston, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashton Gate Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashton Gate Guest House (b1880), is a beautifully maintained heritage listed Victorian home located just a short stroll from the city centre. All rooms are exquisitely furnished to the period yet feature modern en-suites and bathrooms with quality fittings. A cosy lounge or the spacious private back deck provide ideal retreats for quiet moments with a drink and a book or a convivial meeting place to swap and compare Tasmanian experiences with fellow travellers. A delicious full breakfast, cooked to order with local and home grown produce is served in the breakfast room which overlooks the magnificent oak trees of St Georges Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashton Gate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashton Gate Guest House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing