We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

The staff was very welcoming. Arranged me a room even though I arrived before check in time.
The restaurant and the bar were fantastic. The bar has a full tram car where you can enjoy a few drinks.
Room was spacious with a a great deal of daylight and nice view. I stayed at the 5th floor.
The hotel is located in the middle of all the good places you want to go to.
Shopping and churches in every direction.
Albert Hall and a few park in the area.
The staff was really incredible. Always had a smile in their faces.
Great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hi, mauroisch,
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and our freindly servcie. See you again soon I hope.
SIMON MARCHANT
Customer Service
Best Western
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    536
    300
    70
    48
See reviews for
227
485
98
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tolga, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived very early due to return of hire car - the staff could not have been more helpful suggesting we pop upstairs for the smorgasboard breakfast and then a room should be ready. True to their word it was. The rooms are a little tired looking but clean and roomy. I have back problems so the first thing I tried was the bed and it was great. We stayed four nights enjoying their ample breakfasts and room service meals. The Tram Bar has a great atmosphere. Will be back.

Room Tip: Great eateries not far from this hotel, all within walking distance. We were on the 4th floor had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller982013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Traveller982013,
Great to hear you had a good time with us. Hoping to see you back in The Tram Bar sometime soon.
SIMON MARCHANT
Customer Service
Best Western
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Booked into a Mecure hotel to find that when we got there it was in fact a Best Western. Rooms were not air conditioned and were quite stuffy. Beds not very comfortable and blinds didn't open. We did, however, get amazing chocolate brownies from room service one night. The hotel probably does meet expectations of a Best Western, but certainly didn't meet my expectations of a Mecure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank sjlgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear sjlgg,
Thank you for your review. Best Western took over this hotel from Mercure in August. We are currently upgrading many aspects of the property including the provision of cooling air-conditioning. Best Western conducts extremely strict Quality Assurance assessments and this will assist us in improving and I hope you may come back sometime and see for yourself.
Regards,
Simon Marchant
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Firstly, they changed the name of the hotel and didn't tell us.
Then we had to pay for parking for two days when out voucher only was for one day.
Our room was supposed to come with free Wifi, Tasmanian fudge and Sparkling water, our whole stay they allowed 30 megabytes of data or 30 minutes, there was no sparkling water or fudge.
there were paint brush bristles in the paint work in the bathroom and the paint was all uneven.
The television was the size of a laptop.
We were really looking forward to our stay here as we booked one of their premium rooms but were highly disappointed.
once it came to showering, you had to jump out of the way to not get sprayed by cold water.
Down beside one side of the bed was caked with dust,
They only good points I can Think of were the location and that the bed was comfy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyana95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear lyana95,
Thanks for your comments. When the hotel became Best Western we did get in touch with all guests for whom we were given contact details. I'm very sorry you missed out on the fudge but bottled water is complementary for all and Wifi is free in a Privilege Room. The TVs are 26" but these might become larger once our planned refurbishments take place. I hope you may return then and enjoy the improvement.
Simon Marchant
Customer Service
Best Western
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balldale
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

For $129 with a full buffet breakfast for 2 we thought great. On arrival we were told there was parking around the back but it would cost $6 which would be added to your bill (ch-ching.) The sign in the foyer and the lift said happy hour $10 cocktails from 5-7pm. What a great idea a cocktail. That will be $13 thanks. What??? But the sign says happy hour prices $10. Oh yes but that is only on page one the $10 ones the rest are various prices. (ch-ching.) Oh well off to bed and maybe watch a movie. Oh no $17 per movie, well perhaps a good night sleep instead.
Well that was great until 1am when the lads started to come home and yah hooing from the moment they got off the lift until they got to their rooms. Then that went on and on and on all through the night. The bed was hard as nails so between the road noise, the bed and the noisy guests we had very little sleep. Oh did I mention there wasn't a price list for the mini bar so goodness only how much things cost. Don't bother looking for the sugar because there isn't any of that either.

Room Tip: If you have a choice try the rear of the building not the roadside and whatever you do don't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Melstock,
Thank you for your comments. I'm pleased the B&B deal was good value. To clear up a couple of other points, the minibar tariff is in the room info compendium and our recent release movies are $14.95. The happy hour cocktail deal is detailed in the bar and I'm sorry you missed that. We have staff on site 24/7 and we are more than happy to quieten any rowdy guests if any disturbance is reported as we know that a good night's sleep is of top importance. We'd love to see you again in the future.
Simon Marchant
Customer Service
Best Western
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Address: 3 Earl St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing