We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4.5star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Launceston
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not 4.5star”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked this hotel due to the central location and rating.
The location was very good - close to shops and restaurants however the accommodation was definitely well below what i would expect from a 4.5 star. The rooms were small with no air conditioning - they did have an evaporative cooler however this was noisey and not really that cool. Very, very basic room. Parking $6 per day

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristmasSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear ChristmasSydney

Thank you for taking time to write about your stay and I am please that you found the location of the Hotel very good

We are currently in the process of upgrading our guest rooms. I am pleased to note the first container of goods has arrived and the first load of new beds will arrive next week.

We do currently have two floors that are air-conditioning and we are in the process of upgrading the remaining rooms.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Leon Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    587
    316
    75
    51
See reviews for
256
520
106
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

O'k, so I'm not one of those people that photographs my food and then posts it online........Damn I wish I had because we stopped in at the Tram Bar of this hotel for desert and it left me speechless. The three of us ordered the black forest mousse.
Plate consisted of the following-
Three torn pieces of scattered dried out chocolate cake the size of a fifty cent pieces with 2 cherries and some chocolate topping?
When it was placed in front of us the waitress said "and here's your deconstructed mousse"
I would have much preferred to eat my $12 thank you very much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear F1007

Please accept my sincere apologies as I read about your experience with the deconstructed black forest mousse cake.

When your order was taken our team should have explained to you in detail the different elements of this dish and what a deconstructed cake is.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience, it gives us ability to take positive steps towards meeting our customer’s expectations.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.


Kind Regards

Leon Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel is well located near the center of Launceston CBD. And, that's all the goodies stopped. We booked the hotel via Accor and was surprised to find the hotel is now under "Best Western". Room itself is OK. But, the whole hotel is bit old and tired. They don't even have central air conditioning. We had to open the windows during the night. There were a lot of noises both outside the hotel and within the hotel (corridor and lift area). Didn't have a good night sleep. Would probably give it a pass next time. There is not so much of a price difference between Mecure and Sebel. But, Sebel was full........... The hotel would need an urgent upgrade of rooms and facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ray c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear ray c

Thank you for taking time to write about your stay and I am please that you found the location of the Hotel centrally located convenient.

Since taking over the Hotel we have highlighted the need to enhance our product and we are currently in the process of upgrading our guest rooms. I am pleased to note the first container of goods has arrived and the first load of new beds will arrive next week.

With regards to air-conditioning we do have two floors that are fully air-conditioned and we are in the process of upgrading the remaining rooms.

We look forward to seeing you back with Best Western Plus Launceston in the near future.

Kind Regards

Leon Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had a short one night stay at this hotel mid November. We found the hotel to be conveniently located, comfy and clean. We ate at the tram bar for dinner and thought the food was nice. It would be nice if parking was included (it's $6 a night) and would be nice to know on the hotels website that the gym they say the hotel has is really the 'anytime fitness' that's located a short walk behind the hotel and costs $10 a day. Other than that we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reneericho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Contributor

Thank you for taking time to write about your stay.

I was pleased that you found the rooms clean and comfortable and the Food in the Tram Bar nice. I will look at away to change the information about the Gym

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Leon Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have stayed here a number of times under the old Mercure name. Whilst Best Western have only had the property since August I think the standard has slipped. My room was comfortable and the big bed was fine, but the walls are a bit thin. The tea/coffee offering in the room was limited and there were no biscuits but a packet of chips and peanuts left on the bench - assume they were part of the mini bar. No movie channels either, and 30 mins free wifi then you have to pay. A hot breakfast was included in my $155 room cost. Honestly, you can do better than this in Launceston for less.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnygirlHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear SunnygirlHobart

Thank you for taking the time to let the team here at Best Western Plus Launceston know about your stay with us.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the ‘’comfortable big beds’’ we have at the Hotel and I am pleased to let you know that we are in the process of upgrading these beds next month.

I’m sorry to read that you could not find a movie to watch, as we have a choice of over 20 movies currently playing on demand, 10 Foxtel channels and all the free to air channels.

Thank you once again and I do hope to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Leon Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I have stayed here under previous ownership and stayed not long after ownership changed. The service had definitely improved and whilst the service at the front desk continues to be great I found that breakfast had it's challenges.
Day 1 I saw no staff, had my breakfast and left without ever being asked my room number, no "Good morning" and nobody at the desk when I left.
Day 2 - nobody at the desk again and a tour group occupied most tables with just 4 free tables, 3 of which had not been cleared. A number of people came in shortly after me and had to ask for the table to be cleared. 2 staff were on the floor but working quite slowly and seemed to ignore guests unless called.
Hopefully this will improve again into the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Sylviaei

Thank you for taking the time to let the team here at Best Western Plus Launceston know how much you enjoyed your stay and how the Hotel has improved.

Also please accept my sincere apologies as it is a disappointment that I read about your experience with breakfast service.

It is only through guests such as yourself that take the time to let us know about their experiences that we are able to take the positive steps towards meeting and exceeding our customers’ expectations.

Please be assured that we continuing retaining and I have spoken to the team to avoid this situation in future.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future

Kind regards,

Leon Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Had the breakfast included deal which was great. Hotel staff very helpful. Located just walking distance to the CBD.
Would recommend this hotel.
Spent a day at Cataract Gorge a must do. Just lovely.
Easy city to walk around.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doc2293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear doc2293.

Thank you for your feedback and choosing Best Western Plus Launceston as your choice of accommodation.

I was pleased to read that you have a great stay and that you found our location in the CBD convenient.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Leon Wood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Launceston

Property: Best Western Plus Launceston
Address: 3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
Best Western Plus Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing