We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Launceston
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is conveniently located in the CBD. Parking at the rear of the hotel at $6 a day is a bonus but best to check in early to ensure a spot. We stayed one night in a standard queen room No. 405 which was very good quality and value for money as it was roomy with views over the Launceston hills and appeared to have been recently refurbished and repainted. Our booking which had been transferred from the previous owner Mercure was handled very efficiently by reception staff who were helpful, pleasant and friendly. We had dinner in the restaurant which unfortunately had a very restricted menu and would probably not do so again even though our meals were OK. This is something the new owners may like to consider. Breakfast was available punctually at 7 a.m. and was OK although some instructions on how to operate the coffee machine would be helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Gwyn

Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Best Western Plus Launceston

I pleased that you found the Hotel conveniently located in the CBD and the parking convenient.

We have reviewed our Menu and have noted that we did make this a little too restricted and this is being rectified.

I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to Best Western Plus Launceston soon and again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards

Leon wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,323)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Launceston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

there was no staff in the restaurant when we arrive, so we sat ourself. It took 5 minutes for a staff member to appear. Ask some basic question concerning menu, staff member couldn't answer any of these no product knowlege at all. Tried ordering wine of the wine list only to be told we are out of stock, not just on 1 but 3 of the wine we wanted to order, so settle for a beer & cider.
Food took a long time to come out even though it wasn't busy only 4 other tables & then it was luke warm or cold. It has really gone down hill since Best Western has taken over

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank louise r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear louise r

Please accept my sincere apologies as it is with great disappointment that I read about your experience.

While we aim to present exceptional service to each individual guest I do apologise on the wait for you to be seated in the restaurant. I have noted that we didn’t receive any feedback on the night and if so would have been able to rectify any issue you had with your meals.

We have had very good feedback about our menu so I do apologise that we haven’t meet your expectations on this occasion.

It is only through guests such as yourself that we can continue to improve on the previous standards and experiences.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Leon Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Excellent stay at the hotel.

The room was clean and well presented. The bed was comfortable. The room was layed out well. The bathroom was clean and contained many hygiene products.

Staff were amazingly helpful and friendly with all our odd requests, and our middle of the night excursions outside for a smoke.

The only issue we had with the room was the reception of some of the TV channels could be rather hit and miss. Seemed to be maybe a loose attenae connection?

Will definitely be staying here again next time we're in Launceston.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tintario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Tintario

Thank you very much for your feedback. I’m extremely happy to note your overall satisfaction with the services provided to you during your recent stay with us and how well the staff looked after you

I am pleased to note that we fixed the issue with the TV

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards

Leon Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The room was quite roomy and offered basic coffee/tea facilities. The bathroom was spotless, though a bit tired - no exhaust fans! Breakfast & dining is easy in the Hotel restaurant (The Snapper) with welcoming staff, but very dated and somewhat sterile/boring dining room. The portions are amazing! Breakfasts offers plenty for all tastes .......
Dinners can be a bit hit & miss. As a first course, the squid is sooo good, a must-try! (better than Black Cow's starters). Main course, Salmon with macadamia crust - well, I'd prefer that to any of Black Cow's steaks any day! Pork Belly - it's good! Their pizzas taste great too ..... not pre-fab!
It's all one needs from a hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 249Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear 249 Chris

Thanks for taking time to write about your stay at Best Western Plus Launceston.

I was pleased that you found the Staff welcoming and you enjoyed the breakfast, Salmon with the macadamia crust and the Pork Belly.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind regards

Leon Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Spent one night at this hotel in early December. The room was quite spacious, large windows that open slightly, nice view of the hills. I was on the 5th floor and it was quiet, earplugs not needed. I didn't like the window blinds, they weren't one thing or another, curtains would have been much better and the towels were a bit "rough" on the skin, well used. The buffet breakfast was fine . The hotel is centrally located, just off Brisbane Mall and City Park is about one block away from the hotel, opposite way to Bris. Mall.They had a Japanese monkey display in the park, in a large rocky enclosure, and they were great fun to watch, especially the little one's. Couldn't find a supermarket in the city area - I found out later that a "Coles" s/mkt was about 3 blocks away. And no McDonalds, amazing, all I found were Subway and KFC.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Possomchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear Possomchops

Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with Best Western Plus Launceston

I pleased that you found the Hotel “central to the City” and you enjoyed the Japanese monkey display across the road in the park.
We do have two large supermarkets within walking distance to the Hotel and if you are travelling back to Launceston the team would be happy to give you directions.

I am pleased to let you know that we have ordered replacement curtains for the Hotel which will be arriving soon.

I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to Best Western Plus Launceston soon.

Kind regards

Leon Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location, close to everything in Launceston, but I am not sure how the 4.5 star rating has been allocated to this hotel. The rooms are small and the bathrooms old, with no exhaust fans and no air conditioning. However, on the plus side the staff are very friendly, the rooms clean, the Tram Bar is a pleasant place to have a 'happy hour' drink and the parking is convenient and cheap at $6 per day. Overall, I would recommend this hotel but don't expect 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stats1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Dear stats1

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Best Western Plus Launceston

I pleased to read that the team have provided you a comfortable stay and you enjoyed the Tram Bar happy hour. We do find that people find the location of the Hotel centrally located to the CBD “excellent”

We are in first stage of our room upgrades with new beds and soft fixtures being upgraded in all rooms which has started.

I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to Best Western Plus Launceston soon.

Kind Regards,

Leon Wood

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This hotel was centrally located, close to restaurants and shops. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms were big enough for a hotel but maybe are getting a little tired, however they were clean. We didn't use the a/c or heating as it wasn't needed. The windows do open slightly which was good to get a bit of fresh air. We had the buffet breakfast which was quite sufficient. We had a coffee in the Tram Bar which is a great bar, once again the staff were very friendly. We got a great deal on Wotif.com. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMM920829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear CMM920829

Thank you very much for taking the time to let the team here at Best Western Plus Launceston know how much you enjoyed your stay.

I pleased to read that the team have provided you a comfortable stay and you found the location of the Hotel centrally located to the CBD.

I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to Best Western Plus Launceston soon.

Kind Regards,

Leon Wood

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Launceston

Address: 3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £75 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
Best Western Plus Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing