We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Launceston
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Always welcoming and rooms are warm.
great central location, easy walking to local shops and cafes.

Rooms at rear are best
Having wifi access is really good.
It is my favoured place to stay when working in Launceston.

Room Tip: Ask fora room at the rear, you will get the morning sun and have less street noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bingi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,320)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Launceston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

very friendly staff in all areas of hotel including room service , reception an bar . rooms clean and comfortable but a bit outdated ..................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, General Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Peter H

Thank you for staying at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards

Leon Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had booked the hotel as it was one of the few in Launceston that seemed to have direct shuttle service from the airport. It turns out it's easier to take a taxi but that's another story. We stayed two nights over three (we went to Cradle Mtn in the middle of our trip), and found it a pretty decent place to stay. The front desk staff, especially Heather (I hope that's her name, sorry if it isn't) was very helpful and friendly. The room was basic, but my family didn't need much - just a place to keep our luggage and rest out head at night. The missus and I both found the beds a bit uncomfortable, but with that said, we usually have issues with beds that aren't are own. Fussy, I guess. The room was clean, albeit a bit small, once the three beds were considered. Again, this wasn't a problem for us.

The buffet breakfast was pretty good, a wide range of basic cereals, fruits etc. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but did eat in the Tram Bar, which was good food. A minor point was that we had to wait for someone to take our order.

The hotel is very centrally located...central Launceston is right around the corner, and the Gorge is about a 45 - 60 minute walk...easily done.

In summary, I'd ask myself, would I stay here again? And I don't have any reason why I wouldn't.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angry_Canadian888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms, recently updated.

Lots of parking, and lots of on site amenities (bar, restaurant etc.), really nice vibe to the place. Well laid out room with work desk and casual table as well as the basics. Very handy for a traveling rep.

Easy walk to the CBD and attractions. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dVaridel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The rooms were ok but I called room service three times before having to leave a message. I got no response so concerned that the restaurant closed at 9pm I went done to eat at 8.30pm only to find it closing. When I asked why I hadn't had a response to my voice mail, I was told my volume must be down on the phone in my room as they said they had called back. I checked for volume control when back in the room and it was on high! The lady in the restaurant arranged for room service which I appreciated but the overall quality of the room was it was small and very cold. The heating wasn't adequate. The room service experience was off putting.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, Manager at Best Western Plus Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear John W

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

If you could please contact me so that I can apologize and discuss over the phone. leon.wood@bestwestern.com.au

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

kind regards

Leon Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Wouldn't chose this hotel for a holiday but fine for basic and cheap accommodation.
It's located centrally in Launceston, so very convenient to get to the shops... And onsite parking at $6 per day was brilliant as we had a hire car.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Having stayed the best part of a week in Bicheno on our way from Hobart we made the choice to attend the DanceSport competition held at the Silverdome in Launceston.

The choice to stay at the Best Western Plus at Launceston came about as a result of checking Lastminute.com on the web and then choosing a "Mystery" package which turned out to be . . . . . you've guessed it, the Best Western Plus.

On arrival at around 2.00 p.m. the receptionist Amanda greeted us cordially, checked our booking and provided all the details we needed to make our stay a seamless one. She was an employee her emplyers should be proud of.

We already knew and had accepted the charge for parking so no surprises there and $6.00 for a 24 hour period is hardly daylight robbery.

Our Wi-Fi access code was printed on the back of the small folder holding our key cards and being a free service it worked seamlessly.

Our room was 612 and was delightfully furnished with a relatively small bathroom (but still larger than our own at home). Mini bar well stocked. Tea and coffee making facilities of good quality and in working order.

I'm guessing the king sized bed was the clincher! We loved it and especially the additional pillows AND the white robes in the wardrobe.

Did we enjoy ourselves? You bet your bippy we did !

Thanks Amanda for welcoming us so well and thanks Ryan in the Tram Bar for happy and professional service.

Guess what? Next time we're in Launceston, we'll be returning to the Best Western Plus !!!!!!!

P.S. Did I mention we didn't have to pay an arm and a leg to stay here?

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Launceston

Address: 3 Earl Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £74 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
Best Western Plus Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing