We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Friendly staff, rooms very clean and tidy. Close to city centre and bar and resteraunt are great. Rooms warm and cozy and decor fantastic. Great for travelling rep and staff build great rapport with customers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    541
    302
    70
    48
See reviews for
231
487
99
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed last Thursday at the Best Western Launceston Plus and was pleasantly surprised by the attentive nature of the staff in all aspects reception, housekeeping & the restaurant. The customer service was exceptional and the recent renovations have improved the product significantly. Would highly recommend to any business traveller.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Always welcoming and rooms are warm.
great central location, easy walking to local shops and cafes.

Rooms at rear are best
Having wifi access is really good.
It is my favoured place to stay when working in Launceston.

Room Tip: Ask fora room at the rear, you will get the morning sun and have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bingi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edithvale, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

very friendly staff in all areas of hotel including room service , reception an bar . rooms clean and comfortable but a bit outdated ..................................................................................................................

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Peter H

Thank you for staying at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel

We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards

Leon Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had booked the hotel as it was one of the few in Launceston that seemed to have direct shuttle service from the airport. It turns out it's easier to take a taxi but that's another story. We stayed two nights over three (we went to Cradle Mtn in the middle of our trip), and found it a pretty decent place to stay. The front desk staff, especially Heather (I hope that's her name, sorry if it isn't) was very helpful and friendly. The room was basic, but my family didn't need much - just a place to keep our luggage and rest out head at night. The missus and I both found the beds a bit uncomfortable, but with that said, we usually have issues with beds that aren't are own. Fussy, I guess. The room was clean, albeit a bit small, once the three beds were considered. Again, this wasn't a problem for us.

The buffet breakfast was pretty good, a wide range of basic cereals, fruits etc. We didn't eat in the restaurant, but did eat in the Tram Bar, which was good food. A minor point was that we had to wait for someone to take our order.

The hotel is very centrally located...central Launceston is right around the corner, and the Gorge is about a 45 - 60 minute walk...easily done.

In summary, I'd ask myself, would I stay here again? And I don't have any reason why I wouldn't.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angry_Canadian888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms, recently updated.

Lots of parking, and lots of on site amenities (bar, restaurant etc.), really nice vibe to the place. Well laid out room with work desk and casual table as well as the basics. Very handy for a traveling rep.

Easy walk to the CBD and attractions. I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dVaridel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The rooms were ok but I called room service three times before having to leave a message. I got no response so concerned that the restaurant closed at 9pm I went done to eat at 8.30pm only to find it closing. When I asked why I hadn't had a response to my voice mail, I was told my volume must be down on the phone in my room as they said they had called back. I checked for volume control when back in the room and it was on high! The lady in the restaurant arranged for room service which I appreciated but the overall quality of the room was it was small and very cold. The heating wasn't adequate. The room service experience was off putting.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon W, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear John W

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

If you could please contact me so that I can apologize and discuss over the phone. leon.wood@bestwestern.com.au

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

kind regards

Leon Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Address: 3 Earl St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Launceston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston is conveniently located in the city centre, 15 minutes drive from the airport and 2 minutes walk from the main shopping precinct. The hotel features 116 rooms,FREE WiFi, a restaurant specializing in local produce and a cocktail bar. Nearby local attractions include the James Boag Brewery, Launceston Seaport and Cataract Gorge. #FREE WIFI# ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Launceston Hotel Launceston
Accor Launceston
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing