We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but a little lacking in charm.”
Review of Auldington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auldington
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Large, clean, well appointed rooms in a nice building with gardens. The spa bath was a lot of fun. The folks at the desk were really helpful (when it's staffed). Location is great for the city, Cataract Gorge, Stillwater restaurant.

However, it all felt a little sterile and gave a slightly mercenary vibe in the sense that everything except the basics incurs an extra charge. Given such a nice building to work with it could be a much more romantic boutique hotel experience. As an example, we arrived about 10pm and had arranged to get our key from a safe deposit box. That's fine, but we were a bit put off by the sign above saying that calling the after-hours number would invoke an undisclosed charge for anything other than emergencies. Not very welcoming. Internet and parking also involve fees. Various websites claim that they have an airport transfer service, but this only means they will call the standard airport shuttle for you. Artwork was all by "Vicki" and a little dubious. The "room service" was commercial frozen dinners.

A simple gesture like chocolates on arrival, or fresh flowers, would have left us with a much better feeling. Still, I think it's a great option if you want to avoid a large hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms at the front on the ground floor can be noisy with people coming and going.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Auldington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

Just a one nighter on business in Launceston. Lovely clean hotel, nice big clean room, good location, friendly staff and reasonable. Location is a short walk from town. Would recommend to anyone and happily stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Stayed in the Spa room, which is located near the night door and relatively noisy. Could feel every spring in the mattress which made for a very unrestful night's sleep. Bathroom itself very spacious and spa bath relaxing. Big sized room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReiseleiterMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Great little hotel within easy walking of Cataract Gorge, shopping mall and restaurants. Nice views over Launceston. Friendly service. Great breakfast place (Cuccina) just down the road. You do need to drag your suitcase up the stairs though.

Room Tip: Ask for a verandah room overlooking the town.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The Auldington is an old style hotel located on the outskirts of the Launceston CBD. The room we stayed in was clean, spacious and comfortable. Our room faced out towards the city and the communal balcony passed right by our window. This somewhat compromises the privacy of your room. I recall one instance of being in the room with people on the balcony right outside our window, not knowing of they could see us or not. Of course there are blinds that can be closed, but then you lose your one and only source of natural light. It would be nice if the balcony was refit such that each room had a smaller private balcony, but perhaps the owners prefer to maintain the heritage of the building. There are some nice views of Launceston from the balcony.
As part of a Wotif deal we received an upgrade to a bath/spa room, free internet and a free packet of Tim Tams. Being on the third floor we found the wifi very spotty and gave up on it. Upon checkout we were told we could have had a router brought up to our room, so keep this in mind if you also have trouble with the wifi.
Parking is charged at $5.50 per day. Although a small fee, it was a bit of an annoyance that it wasn't just included in the room price.
During the limited contact I had with the staff I found them to be very friendly. Cleaning staff would always say hello if you passed them in the building. Check in was quick and easy, and the girl who served us was more than happy to answer our questions about Launceston.
Also note there is no restaurant or cafe of any sort at the hotel. There are however a few within a 5-10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

With no bar or restaurant, this is a guest house style establishment. Our hopes were up when we read The Lonely Planet's description of a funky place, but we were very disappointed to find a rather dull place. Rooms are fine with all you need, including air-con. But funky they are not. All a little bit basic and dull really. Location is not very good either, quite a long walk into town. However, overriding all this is why would you really want to go to Launceston anyway? It is such a dump, and much of the rest of Tasmania is so much nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny_jay_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Auldington is situated one block back from the main North/South road into Launceston and being on the side of a hill offers good views over Launceston. We booked off Wotif and got a very reasonable package with large spa bath.
Audlington is a former convent overlooking the church and school. All of the building has been beautifully restored and upgraded to provide a very pleasant, quiet four star experience. the rooms are well equipped, albiet with a rather small flat screen TV. We did not have much of a view but you could go out onto the wide verandah and look out over Lauceston.
The service was attentive and thorough, however having to pay for off-street parking was a bit poor in this day and age. Also wi-fi was an optional extra. A breakfast pack was available at an extra cost, but even that was a bit over priced.
The location is excellent. It is a 10 minute walk into the CBD and to Stillwater restaurant.
There is a lot of accommodation in Launceston, but if you want something a bit different, a bit upmarket from the run of the mill motel room I would recommend Auldington.

Room Tip: Try to get a city view room if possible. There are a lot of different packages available.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TasMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,536 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auldington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auldington

Address: 110 Frederick Stret, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: £70 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auldington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auldington Hotel offers true boutique accommodation in Launceston, Tasmania. What was once the Presentation Sisters Convent, built in 1899, has now been converted into a luxurious, welcoming and peaceful, 4.5 Star AAA rated hotel. The preserved architecture of the heritage building now contrasts with stylish, comfortable and modern rooms, all with private ensuites. Over half of the rooms also enjoy a deep, luxurious bath or spa bath and many rooms have stunning views across our landscaped gardens, central and East Launceston and the mountain ranges beyond. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff are always happy to provide guests with useful information on all of the local attractions, restaurant and cafe recommendations. At Auldington we strive to provide a personal and welcoming customer service experience that we hope is an accurate reflection of the hotel and the values that are important to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auldington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auldington Hotel Launceston
Auldington Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing