We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel in convenient quiet location”
Review of Auldington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auldington
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Grand hotel in convenient quiet location”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room was clean, tidy and quiet with great views over Launceston and beyond. There are local restaurants and the centre of town a 15 minute walk. My only quibble is that, although located away from the city centre with plenty of parking available, the hotel charges $5.50 per night to park, I would assume 90% of guests drive so this should be included in the standard tariff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    132
    37
    8
    10
See reviews for
71
205
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Nice room, very quite part of town, lovely view.. I have the spa room
And it has lots if space. Stairs are
Lovely and the pictures all around the hotel looks great. Great parking space if you don't mind paying $5.50. Love the gardens. Recommend

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Courtneyaidenpayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Great views from the second and third floor verandahs over the city to Ben Lomond in the distance. Spacious, non-fussy high ceilinged room, friendly yet unobtrusive staff, within walking distance of restaurants (we loved Calabrisella). Only grizzle - wish they'd supplied info about the history of the convent. Some rooms have private balconies. Worth asking for a room with a view. Would definitely stay there again if returning to Launceston.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calochilus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This was my first visit to The Auldington and the location is excellent. I stayed with my 11-year-old granddaughter. Our room, at the back of the building, was small for 2 and basic but with a good-sized bathroom and a huge tub. It included all facilities and amenities as listed on the website eg hairdryer and bathrobes, a small TV/DVD player and a well-stocked mini bar. Great to have windows that opened on warm summer nights and I loved the communal balcony and lounge.
I booked through Wotif and included a request that we might be given separate beds but this apparently was not possible so we both slept in the queen size. Soft and comfy.
The room was serviced daily. The art on the walls was indeed modern and all by 'Vicki'. Staff were friendly and helpful though I didn't much like the additional $5per day parking fee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking onto the balcony if you want the view - 2 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Late check-in was very well handled. Room was whisper quiet with very large and clean facilities. Bed comfy, well stocked and reasonably priced mini-bar. Bathroom excellent. The TV was a bit old-school and small but not a real problem. Hardly saw the staff but room was serviced very well. Would definitely stay again and recommended. Would be cool if some sort of on-site breakfast was available....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We thought we book into something historic and we were glad we did. We were greeted by their very efficient receptionist, Rachel. There was even a lift which was welcoming. The place has modern conveniences & immaculate garden. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony. It overlooks a beautiful church & their immaculate garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Some good some bad. Good points were that the room and bathroom were nice. We were given the bath deluxe room which was nice too. The bad points were that the hotel was right next door to a primary school so each day we were woken up early and could not get a good sleep in over the three days we were there. Another disappointing thing was that you had to pay for parking each day. Overall a good place, if you are getting up early that is...

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest from the primary school
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Bearcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
502 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
867 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auldington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auldington

Property: Auldington
Address: 110 Frederick Stret, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auldington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auldington Hotel offers true boutique accommodation in Launceston, Tasmania. What was once the Presentation Sisters Convent, built in 1899, has now been converted into a luxurious, welcoming and peaceful, 4.5 Star AAA rated hotel. The preserved architecture of the heritage building now contrasts with stylish, comfortable and modern rooms, all with private ensuites. Over half of the rooms also enjoy a deep, luxurious bath or spa bath and many rooms have stunning views across our landscaped gardens, central and East Launceston and the mountain ranges beyond. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff are always happy to provide guests with useful information on all of the local attractions, restaurant and cafe recommendations. At Auldington we strive to provide a personal and welcoming customer service experience that we hope is an accurate reflection of the hotel and the values that are important to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auldington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auldington Hotel Launceston
Auldington Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing