We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auldington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auldington
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I stay in Launceston often and always stay here. Great Location and views of the City. Always made to feel welcome and they always go the extra mile to help you with anything from recommended restaurants etc...
Beautiful old heritage Building!

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rdt1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    127
    37
    6
    10
See reviews for
64
193
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I had hoped that choosing a beautiful heritage building would enhance my experience of Launceston and I certainly wasn't disappointed! A lovely place to stay with a wonderful view. I was very impressed with the staff - it was evident there was genuine interest and concern to make my stay enjoyable and they were very attentive. The room was lovely - attractive, spacious and clean and the hotel is well located. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to others and have done so already! Thank you again James for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Booked directly with the hotel and got a free room upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HistoryBuffette2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankston, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Was down from the mainland for the footy at Aurora with one of my brothers and a couple of mates. The Auldington was fantastic value, very comfortable and warm despite the weather outside. Will be back next year. Hopefully my team wins this time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shane Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have stayed at the Auldington multiple times, Maybe being a corporate stayer i get looked after with rooms but both times the rooms have been very nice and luxurious. AC has worked a treat both times, The 1st time i was on level 3 in November and enjoyed sitting on the balcony doing some work on th elaptop in the nice weather

James has been very helpful with email bookings and i would stay again!

I have definitely stayed in alot worse and the Auldington is excellent value particularly in the off season

I had the genie wishes package which was cheaper than the city views, i had a private balcony in room 21 and this was very nice!

Room Tip: Deifinitely ask for a front room if you want a decent view, and get one on level 2 or 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snicko84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Thank you James for making us so welcome on our first visit to Launceston in 20 years. We found the Audlington by chance but were very happy that we did - caring staff, great location, stunning views, big room in an historic building. Happy to highly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here once before, it was only that I had heard that ownership had changed that tempted us back. What a difference!
The new owner James, heads keen and caring staff happy to go the extra distance. The attention to detail and genuine assistance to the guests makes me proud to be a Tasmanian!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Looks are deceiving when you drive up the secret driveway to the Auldington ... Sure it looks like a stately stunning well kept heritage home but inside it's so much more .... Your first glimpse of the splendor you are about to step into is the sliding glass door at reception but wait it gets better :) we were met at reception by a lovely young man who had been busy reconfiguring our room (we booked only minutes before arriving and it was quite a late hour ) who then helped us with our bags up to our rooms - the hallways full of beautiful old features modernised with stunning vibrant artworks . Our room was lovely, well appointed with everything you possibly would need - robes I phone5 docks big TVs, makeup wipes very well thought out
menus and room guides and the view from our private balcony is simply stunning !! I am writing this review on my beautiful private balcony eating the most amazing breakfast you can imagine !! The bathrooms are beautiful with a bath deep enough that it feels like you're getting into a pool and wide/ long enough for two ppl to share .. We had two interconnecting rooms with our own little hallway (enough room that it felt like my hubby and I had the place to ourselves for a romantic getaway !! ) the church bells outside chime very softly and it all adds to the feel of Beaty and serenity in the hotel - also a side point for other hotels to take note of - we happily ate and drank plenty of the mini bars quality wares because they were reasonably priced !! With little things like spa packages and chocolate lovers packages it just made our stay all the more amazing xxx thank you

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandellewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#17 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auldington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auldington

Property: Auldington
Address: 110 Frederick Stret, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auldington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auldington Hotel offers true boutique accommodation in Launceston, Tasmania. What was once the Presentation Sisters Convent, built in 1899, has now been converted into a luxurious, welcoming and peaceful, 4.5 Star AAA rated hotel. The preserved architecture of the heritage building now contrasts with stylish, comfortable and modern rooms, all with private ensuites. Over half of the rooms also enjoy a deep, luxurious bath or spa bath and many rooms have stunning views across our landscaped gardens, central and East Launceston and the mountain ranges beyond. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff are always happy to provide guests with useful information on all of the local attractions, restaurant and cafe recommendations. At Auldington we strive to provide a personal and welcoming customer service experience that we hope is an accurate reflection of the hotel and the values that are important to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Auldington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auldington Hotel Launceston
Auldington Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing