We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you dont like the Audlington then you too hard to please”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auldington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auldington
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you dont like the Audlington then you too hard to please”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

This place is fantastic. The atmosphere is delightful. The rooms are modern and spotlles and the staff go out of their way to help. The rates are reasonable for the size and quality of the rooms. This place is the best kept secret in Tasmania. Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    127
    37
    8
    10
See reviews for
67
196
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

This is my second stay at Auldington... and both times we have had room deals, making the price reasonable at $119. Otherwise the room was supposedly $298 - and the room is definitely not worth that price. We got a fantastic king size bed and deep bath, but only a very small window on the side which wasn't fantastic. However the hotel is quiet, but you can hear movement from the floors above. But for the price it was a good deal - not including breakfast, but the cupboard is fully equipped for takeaway or breaky cutlery. My only dislike is the gap under the door which allowed the orange hall light to beam into the room all night, a bit off putting. But overall a nice quiet sleep. We had dinner at the Northern Club which is a great deal on a Monday and Tuesday night as they have a $14 menu. Fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

Auldington in Launceston Tasmania has been the accommodation of choice for myself over the past four years as I travel to Launceston monthly. The historical building has been beautifully appointed during it's renovation and rooms with sweeping city views are available if you select a front one. As a traveller with many hours of driving I enjoy the rooms with deep large luxurious baths for a good soak at the end of a long day. With no restaurant on site I also enjoy a walk through Launceston's park land area to the river quay where a variety of meals are available. Breakfast at Auldington is fresh and nutritious with croissant, fruit, fruit juice and cereals on a room tray. The staff are freindly and helpful and I have always found them willing to accommodate any special requests such as early book in's etc.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobartjohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

Auldington is a beautiful hotel with spacious rooms that are stunningly furnished. It is located in a very quiet area and has the most comfortable beds and luxury pillows you can be assured of a great night sleep.
The staff at Auldington are always friendly, very welcoming and a delight to deal with. I always enjoy staying at Auldington and I would recommend you to stay there too. I will continue to visit Auldington when I’m in Launceston for work and personal visits.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agriffithsHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

Located a close walk to restaurants. A nice deep bath was just what we needed after a long Cradle Mountain walk. The staff were pleasant and informative. Auldington delivered and ideal Boutique stay and the gardens were beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theunknowntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

I purchased a "romantic package" that included a room with a large spa bath, candles, chocolates, breakfast. Everything, apart from breakfast, was excellent. The spa was huge, comfortable for two people, jets plentiful and in the right spots. Decor, location of the hotel, etc were superb. The breakfast was a huge disappointment though (no choice, little amounts of food, stale croissants, instant coffee only) , the best I can say about it was that we had it on the balcony, so enjoyed the sunshine and views. That can be improved easily and at no much extra cost, but overall the hotel was terrific.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NowCallAustraliaHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

We stayed two nights at the Auldington and paid what I thought was initially a reasonable rate. The room was dusty and porrly cleaned. I know it is an old building but a gap of nearly 1" gap under the door is unacceptable, we had to place a towel to stop the noise and light coming in and you could still hear ever footstep of the people above you. The hotel itself has no communal area so ends up feeling a little bit like a glorified backpackers. It is not actually near any dining precint in Launceston and no restaurant of its own so you have a long walk to go out for dinner.

Although the reception staff were freindly they did not have the expereince required and the Manager/Owner of the property was particularly odious. On our original day of departure we overslept an hour after normal check out time, upon waking we offered to stay an additional night but they jacked up the price significantly, we then said we would check out and they charged us $60 for the late check out. I have never heard such rubbish in all the years I have been travelling.

Auldington is a lovely building but seems like the folly of people who do not know the first thing about running a hotel, Basil Fawlty would do a better job than this lot! - Never again

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alwaysontheroad98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auldington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auldington

Property: Auldington
Address: 110 Frederick Stret, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auldington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auldington Hotel offers true boutique accommodation in Launceston, Tasmania. What was once the Presentation Sisters Convent, built in 1899, has now been converted into a luxurious, welcoming and peaceful, 4.5 Star AAA rated hotel. The preserved architecture of the heritage building now contrasts with stylish, comfortable and modern rooms, all with private ensuites. Over half of the rooms also enjoy a deep, luxurious bath or spa bath and many rooms have stunning views across our landscaped gardens, central and East Launceston and the mountain ranges beyond. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff are always happy to provide guests with useful information on all of the local attractions, restaurant and cafe recommendations. At Auldington we strive to provide a personal and welcoming customer service experience that we hope is an accurate reflection of the hotel and the values that are important to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auldington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auldington Hotel Launceston
Auldington Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing