We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for coffee and breakfast”
Review of Blue Cafe & Bar

Blue Cafe & Bar
Ranked #60 of 312 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Cuisines: Greek, Australian, Cafe
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Tasmania, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great place for coffee and breakfast”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Blue Cafe is a vibrant place to enjoy breakfast and coffee in Launceston. Situated in the revitalised Inveresk area, it's often packed with people during the morning. There is reason for this as it's cemented a good reputation for fine coffee and I have to agree! One coffee has quickly turned into two when catching up with friends here.

Have also enjoyed numerous late night birthdays and functions here too, making this place a pretty diverse venue! Would recommend Blue Cafe to visitors of Launceston and locals alike!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RowMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    46
    15
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Food!! Tiny Serving Overpriced”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Would have to be most expensive cafe ever, nothing under $24.00 for lunch, $12.00 for a bowl of chips, $9.00 for a large bottle of mineral water.

Food tasted fantastic but so overpriced I could hardly believe it and will not be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve1960Hobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“long wait for coffee”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The food was great but the service let it down. We were there for breakfast on a Sunday morning and waited 30 minutes for our coffees. It appeared that people coming in for takeaway coffees were getting theirs quickly while we waited and waited, twice we were told they were on their way and it was a good 10 minutes after the last time that happened that they actually appeared. They were also cold when they did arrive but no one was game to point this out at the time in case of another 30 minute wait!! Unexpectedly when we didn't want to split the bill and pay separately, rather we wanted the bill to be brought to the table and to work it out amongst ourselves we were made to feel like we were very inconvenient. Usually it is the other way around!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal_odonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Blue is one of the best”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Had breakfast here this morning. Enjoyed juice, coffee and ham and cheese calzone - very tasty. A busy restaurant and a few 'reserved' tables. We have been here before for lunch and we keep returning for great atmosphere, nice location, wonderful food and friendly and efficient staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy brekky and coffee”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Despite the presence of the obnoxious Charlie* we had a lovely brekky in this lovely cafe in its lovely location.

Can recommend the prosciutto, poached eggs, herb croquettes on asparagus and the corn fritters and the scrambled eggs with bacon and chili jam.

Charlie isn't really obnoxious. I'm sure he would be nice to customers he hadn't played football and cricket with.

Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Kingstonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Cafe & Bar also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Blue Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing