We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bairnsdale Riverside Holiday Park
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My daughter and I had a small cabin. Perfectly equipped and beds were comfortable. We had the use of the shared bathroom, which was fine...showers clean and no wait to use facilitators. Free wifi which is great. It went off due to a thunder storm, but when this was reported to management, they rebooted straight away and that remedied the problem. I think on the whole, it's good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marj10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Web site says $29 per night, arrived to find it is actually $31. No laundry due to renovations and only one toilet block for the same reason. When asked about this we were told it was the fault of the local Council and in fact it was a much bigger inconvenience to the Managers!
The Main highway is very close with lots of traffic noise
The park is said to be pet friendly but pets are only allowed in certain sites none of which have grass, our site was under a large tree from which we were bombarded with bird droppings.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NigelDel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony B, Manager at Bairnsdale Riverside Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for staying at our park. We regret that you did not enjoy your stay at Mitchell Garden's Holiday Park. However, we always endeavour to provide quality services and amenities to our guests, we apologise for any inconvenience that having one of our amenities closed for renovations during your stay with us may have caused.

We do hope that you will consider visiting again and book one of our pet friendly grassed sites located close to the jetty and river.

Please note our advertised price of $29 is for 1 adult only.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This caravan park is very close to the river, as well as being close to the main shopping strip, as well as pubs and restaurants. Shady and (mostly green) sites, with sullage to most sites, the only thing missing was paper towel in the ammenities (i like paper towel) .... at $31 a night it is a little on the expensive side for this time of the year. Still we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stayed in a cabin here, thinking we'd have more space in a motel...wrong wrong wrong. The cabin was squashed next to a caravan and someone parked their van behind us right against our bedroom. To compound the issue, the bedroom window would not shut, neither would the internal doors as they were broken or somehow not working. The family that arrived in the van decided to play loud games right under our bedroom window so I spent till about 1.30am attempting to sleep on the two seater vinyl couch. The TV in the van was so high up that you had to crane your neck upwards. The bathroom had cracks in the shower stall and around the edges of the tiny room. The bed itself was hard and very short. Sorry but I really regretted staying here. I guess the positive (and I am trying) is that it is on the Mitchell River. Won't ever be back to this one!

Room Tip: If you feel compelled to stay here, choose one with some space around it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank optionalextras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We camped in a powered site for a few nights and found the park too squashy and overcrowded. The camping sites are located in a squarish patch of grass with a small camp kitchen in the middle that was not big enough to cater to peak period crowds. The amenities block is not well kept and doesn't seem to be cleaned daily - 2 of the shower stalls in the ladies block could not be used as the doors could not lock, 1 of the stalls seemed to have a defect that caused water to flow out under the door and form a big puddle outside the shower stall and the other 2 useable stalls had big clumps of hair that stayed there the entire time we were there. On our first night, some youths jumped the fence and ran around the camping area - 1 of them tripped over our tent rope and thank goodness didn't go crashing onto all our stuff in front of our tent! This certainly didnt give us much confidence in the security of the place. The caravan park is conveniently located within walking distance to the local shopping area, but was a bit too open, squashy and unsecure for our liking!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank strawberrychocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Great park. Lots off caravan sites inter mingled with cabins. Good as a base to explore area. Only 5 minute walk to main shopping and good coffee. Right on Mitchell river with walking track at robbers edge

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellett65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

My wife and me had a wonderful stay for 2 nites. The place is next to a river and the park is lined with trees thus the cabin are not hot even on a 40 degress weather. We love it there and will consider staying there again,

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kwai Loong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bairnsdale
8 mi away
Mariners Cove Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Mitchell River Tavern
Mitchell River Tavern
#1 of 13 in Bairnsdale
124 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bairnsdale Main Motel
Bairnsdale Main Motel
#7 of 13 in Bairnsdale
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Tanjil Motor Inn
Tanjil Motor Inn
#9 of 13 in Bairnsdale
72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Town Central Motel
Town Central Motel
#10 of 13 in Bairnsdale
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Riversleigh
The Riversleigh
#2 of 13 in Bairnsdale
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bairnsdale Riverside Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bairnsdale Riverside Holiday Park

Address: 2 Main St, Bairnsdale, Victoria 3875, Australia (Formerly Mitchell Gardens Holiday Park)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Bairnsdale
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Bairnsdale
Price Range: £37 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bairnsdale Riverside Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Mitchell River at the eastern end of Bairndsale's busy shopping centre, Bairnsdale Riverside Holiday Park (formerly Mitchell Gardens Holiday Park) boasts one of the prettiest Parks in the district, well appointed and relaxing. Enjoy a morning stroll or cycle along the picturesque track that runs through the park along the boardwalk to the Port of Bairnsdale, then on to the Lind Bridge and return across the swing bridge over the Backwater at Howitt Park (a round trip of approx 5.4 km). Or take the nearby East Gippsland Rail Trail - as a designated "Rail Trail" it is ideal for cycling or walking. It wends its way through the towns of Nicholson, Sarsfield and Bruthen and extends as far as Orbost in the east. Motorcyclists and motorists will find this the perfect base to enjoy the array of excellent touring routes, whether into the mountains to Dargo, Omeo or Buchan, or exploring the many coastal towns such as Paynesville, Metung and Lakes Entrance. Why not leave the car at Barinsdale Riverside Holiday Park - we are just a short 500 metres stroll to Howett Park Play Ground, BMX Track, Boat ramp and skate park and a few minutes to the Bairnsdale CBD. Whatever your choice, Bairnsdale Riverside Holiday Park makes your perfect rest stop in East Gippsland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Bairnsdale Riverside Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing