We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on Motel - highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Colonial Motor Inn Bairnsdale
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Bairnsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

An overnight stay on the way to South Coast of NSW.
Warm welcome at reception (country style), and spotlessly clean room with eveything!
Even fresh real milk, ground coffee and plunger!
Kitchenette perfect for a quick "on the road" dinner, and table/chairs in the room to sit and enjoy a meal.
Comfortable queen bed, and HD TV.
Oh - almost forgot - FREE internet that works well!
"Motel" done perfectly in my opinion...
Highly recommended...

Room Tip: We had a standard queen room - it came with everything (that we needed anyway!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

We stay in Bairnsdale once or twice a year and we have found there are 2 motels worthwhile staying at. This is the one we choose first and the reason is simple. It is clean, comfortable, friendly and reasonably priced. The location is ideal for us and getting a free muffin each on arrival was a lovley idea. It is not far in to town for a meal and there are always plenty of places to choose from. Yes I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longtimetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I can highly recommend Best Western Colonial Motor Inn at Bairnsdale Victoria.
From the first greeting and free muffin to the excellent meals for both Breakfast and Dinner, free WiFi internet, free newpapers and the always happy management it makes your stay enjoyable and comfortable.
No Restaraunt on site but the room service makes up for it.
Yes fresh milk supplied and the unit had a kitchenette with sink, microwave, toaster, kettle and clean plates and glasses. A good amount of Tea & Coffee with free plunger coffee supplied as well.
Air Conditioned to keep you warm or cool too.

Thanks

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was a large unit with two bedrooms (one Queen), a large living/dining/kitchen area, and bathroom. The unit was probably some years old, but nicely furnished, neat, bright and clean. There were two TVs, and kettle, toaster and microwave in the kitchen along with a sink. The bathroom actually had a bath as well as a shower. The most noticeable first impression was of a super-abundance of soaps, tea and coffee supplies, biscuits, muffins given on arrival, and chocolates to go with the drinks. We felt that the charge was more (less!) than reasonable, so we ordered dinner in our room, and that was delicious. My only small niggle was the brightness of the living room light: I do like bright lights for reading. Owner Jan was very helpful and friendly. Our unit was at the back of the property making traffic noise minimal. If ever I come to Bairnsdale again, this is the place I will be staying!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonialbairnsdale, Owner at Best Western Colonial Motor Inn Bairnsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Our priority here is guest comfort and we endeavour to create a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The abundant supply of refreshments is unique to the Best Western Colonial Motor Inn and reflects the level of hospitality we like to extend to our guests. The lighting is an issue, I agree. It is a challenge to find the level of light required (whilst doing our bit for the carbon footprint) using low energy globes! but I am working on it. Thank you for staying with us and leaving feedback - I do appreciate you taking the time.
Kind regards
Jan Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We wanted to have a spa room for our last night of our holiday and we were given a room that helped us relax. It was well serviced, ready for us to just walk in and be comfortable. The decor made us feel relaxed as well. We would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonialbairnsdale, Owner at Best Western Colonial Motor Inn Bairnsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

It is pleasing to know our guests are happy with their stay with us. We are always looking for ways to provide the highest level of comfort possible. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback.
Kind regards
Jan Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

The service was friendly and they even give you warm muffins and real milk.
The room is average but the service and friendliness makes up for it.
The breakfast is excellent. I would recommend it for anyone travelling through Bairnsdale

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonialbairnsdale, Owner at Best Western Colonial Motor Inn Bairnsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Our muffins are certainly popular with our regular guests and we endeavour to provide a level of hospitality that reflects the personalities of not only myself but my wonderful staff as well. Thank you for staying with us and we do appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I used to stay at this motel for business for seven years on a regular basis but this ceased two years ago. It was always a good motel to stay at and it was pleasant to see that all in all it was good to return. The motel is well positioned. It is a short walk to the train station, the town centre where there is a large array of shops, restaurants, churches and other businesses.
Most if not all the rooms have a double bed and a sofa bed so at least three to four people can be accommodated. The largest room also has a lounge area.
I've always found the motel to be well looked after, in that the rooms are always spotlessly clean and any maintenance issues have always been addressed promptly.
All rooms feature flat screen tv's and dvd players, and have reverse cycle air conditioning. A mini bar, microwave oven as well as tea and coffee making facilities are also provided.
The motel itself has changed ownership since my last visit but the current owners thankfully are maintaining the same high standards established by the previous owners.
I can recommend the motel to both business travellers and leisure travellers at any time of the year.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Railmotor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonialbairnsdale, Owner at Best Western Colonial Motor Inn Bairnsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Firstly, thank you for returning to the Best Western Colonial Motor Inn. We endeavour to provide as high as possible standard of comfort and hospitality to guests with the hope that as you have kindly done, return to visit us again. I do sincerely appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards
Jan Simpson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bairnsdale
0.1 mi away
Bairnsdale International
Bairnsdale International
#4 of 13 in Bairnsdale
329 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Riversleigh
The Riversleigh
#1 of 13 in Bairnsdale
169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mitchell River Tavern
Mitchell River Tavern
#2 of 13 in Bairnsdale
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bairnsdale Kansas City Motel
Bairnsdale Kansas City Motel
#10 of 13 in Bairnsdale
73 reviews
8.3 mi away
Captains Cove
Captains Cove
#1 of 2 in Paynesville
145 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Colonial Motor Inn Bairnsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Colonial Motor Inn Bairnsdale

Address: 335 Main Street, Bairnsdale, Victoria 3875, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Colonial Motor Inn Bairnsdale)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Bairnsdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bairnsdale
#2 Family Hotel in Bairnsdale
Price Range: £73 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Colonial Motor Inn Bairnsdale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Colonial Motor Inn Bairnsdale is a family owned and operated property featuring fourteen ground floor units. Situated close to Bairnsdale Hospital, Bowling and RSL clubs and within 1 kilometre of shops, restaurants, bars, railway station and cinema it is the ideal location when visiting Bairnsdale. Free Wifi and a complimentary car parking space for each room is included in the tariff. Each room features a sofa, flat-screen TV, DVD player, 8 Foxtel channels, reverse cycle air conditioning and kitchenette including microwave, refrigerator, kettle, toaster, crockery and cutlery. Bathrooms include shower, hairdryer and toiletries. Complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits and fresh milk are provided with an additional selection of soft drink, water, wine,beer and snacks available from the reasonably priced minibar. Breakfast served daily to rooms from 7am. Chargebacks are available from a selection of local restaurants in the evening, with some offering delivery to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Colonial Motor Inn Bairnsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bairnsdale
Bairnsdale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing