We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ballarat gold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sovereign Views Apartments
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Ballarat
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ballarat gold”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Found this hotel to be in a great position if you were visiting sovereign Hills.
Cost was equivalent to most other hotels we stayed in on our road trip. We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite in less than 5minutes after moving to our original small room,we didn't have time to even sit down before there was a knock on door asking if we would prefer a larger room.

Rooms are heated, They could do with some maintenance and general tiding up.there is an elevator and ramps for people that can't handle stairs. Laundry is downstairs but plenty of baskets available. Full kitchen also an asset..think this would be a fairly good family motel.

Room Tip: Don't select rooms near pool unless you like kids noises, and games rooms. Corner suites are lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahwanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    26
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
34
19
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just spent a weekend here. The location is good to Sovereign Hill. Check in did not go smoothly as they had no record of our booking made in May online and we were not the only ones encountering problems with their booking. There was no dishwasher and no daily service. The place was not that clean. Wifi was terrible. It was adequate but I am sure a nicer place could be found for the same cost. The lady checking us in was flustered and did not really have much confidence in her ability to deal with enquiries. Would I recommend staying here - No.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We cannot fault the sovereign views apartments and this is why this is our 5th year of staying here on the long weekend in June. The apartments are cosy warm, spacious and has everything we need. Very very affordable, easy to get to anywhere in Ballarat and Wilma is always friendly and accommodating. We have already booked for 2015.

Room Tip: Over the five years we have stayed in the 2,3 and 4 bedroom apartments and all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Have stayed here twice now and I've got to say Wilma is the just great to deal with, We stayed on business and wanted great value for money and room to move, the location is excellent just a stones throw from CBD and Sovereign Hill, this place has underground car parking, is warm in winter, cool in the summer, very modern and spotless, has all the mod con's, we'll most certainly be back to this one. 10/10 I highly recommend this place, and I stayed in 174 motels last year so I know a good one when I see it.

Room Tip: Families will love this place, but also good for shared Business people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve3678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

**The GOOD things***

~Great location, super close to Sovereign Hill and walking distance to some restaurants
~Apartments were new, clean, airy and spacious with good water pressure for shower too
~Beds were good and linen clean with opening windows & fly screen, good for Summer
~Friendly receptionist pre-heated our room prior to our arrival (was a cold day)
~Has a table tennis table & foosball table for the teens (free) and a billard table (fee)

**THINGS TO BE AWARE OF***

~Apartments 16, 17 & 18 are up on level 1, facing the pool. In Summer, these rooms could be noisy due to pool noise. OK for us but not if you don't like kids!
~The apartments all have windows facing out towards the walkway. This means that people can peer into your lounge room as they walk past as the windows are not tinted for privacy They have blinds but they cut out light only. (note: apartment 18 would be ok as this is at the dead end)
~The view from these rooms is that of a very unsightly industrial ? neighbour. See other posters photo for view.
~For a 2BR apartment (1xQB + 1xDB 1xSB) cost us $230 peak period. I think this is a bit expensive for it's location (5 min drive to centre of town) and more importantly, it's lack of service in relation to the fact that the reception is only open from 8-6pm. Other places normally man their businesses at least until 8 or 9pm. We were lucky that nothing broke when we were there as I would be concerned that there was no one around to assist.

For $230 it is also expensive due to the lack of other facilities. Even a deluxe cabin at a Caravan park is cheaper and yet they offer a playground(s), jumping pillows, heated pools,
& pancake breakfasts on weekends. If you don't have kids, then you should be expecting a basic continental breakfast (or the supplies) at least in your tariff.

Would I stay here again? Yes, no , maybe. Depends on the tariff and what I was doing in town.

Room Tip: Rooms 16, 17 & 18 face the pool. This can be a good or bad thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beryl_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our toddler and the grandparents recently. Apartment was ideally situated for shops and attractions, clean, well presented. Modern and well equipped. We would recommend it.

Our only concern was that there were blinds in every area of the apartment which has chains dangling down which are obviously a hazard to children. These need to be secured really.
The living area has a 2 seater sofa and two dining style chairs. Not very comfy for a whole family to sit on but bearable for a short trip.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

We didn't know there was a swimming pool available or DVD players in the room so hadn't brought the necessary clothing and DVDs to use which was a shame. The website we used for the booking didn't describe these things, so they were an added bonus. We were able to borrow a child's DVD from the reception area.

We didn't really explore Ballarat beyond the gold mines but all in all we had a great weekend and felt very happy with our accommodation choice.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joweyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We booked this last minute, it was more expensive than anywhere else we had stayed but little else available. The actual apartment was very nice inside, but the building was depressing, a bit of a concrete block with metal grilles everywhere, also noisy with little privacy. There was a small table with chairs outside but it was not an attractive place to sit. Felt quite closed in.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
1.5 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
0.8 mi away
Bakery Hill Motel
Bakery Hill Motel
#20 of 32 in Ballarat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Main Lead
Comfort Inn Main Lead
#28 of 32 in Ballarat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Views Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Views Apartments

Property: Sovereign Views Apartments
Address: 5 Lal Lal St | Golden Point, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sovereign Views Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Sovereign Views Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing