We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trev&Ann Comfortable and reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Helstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trev&Ann Comfortable and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Convenient for railway station,parking in rear ok,service on arrival good.Room out front at top of stairs facing road clean and comfortable,first night full price,second night half price.Only stayed the two nights and didn't stay in for breakfast,but ate in both evenings,food very good & reasonably priced,restaurant very busy.Had a Function on on our first night,got woken up early am by noisy Australians laughing and shouting at top of stairs, which went on a bit,but we would probably stay there again,only mid-week!

Room Tip: If Function rooms are being used it's going to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slavetradersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    90
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
35
103
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My fiance and I travelled to Ballarat for a friends wedding along with another couple. We chose this hotel as it was centrally located to shopping and restaurants which was handy for us as we did not have a car. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station which was very convenient. Check in was quick and efficient. It is a traditional style country hotel. No elevator which did not affect us as we are able to carry our suitcases up stairs. Rooms are comfortable, bathroom is spacious. It does feel very much like you are in a room in someone's house which is quaint. The other couple that were travelling with us were lucky enough to be upgraded to a spa suite and their room was much more spacious than ours and down the end of the hallway so was much quieter as they didn't have the foot traffic past their room like we did. Food in the cafe/bar was great. We enjoyed breakfast there. It was a very handy location as we did a lot of walking around the town. If we were to return to Ballarat, I would stay here again, but I would ask to be put in an end room so it was a bit quieter.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end or the spa suite are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel is in a great location and you can walk to some great restaurants and landmarks really easily. The room was really clean and bed comfortable. There was a constant and irritating banging noise through out the evening and I assume it was coming from the closely located kitchen/bar. Overall the hotel is a little bit tired in some of the room furnishings but it's fine for a quick stop if you're not going to be spending much time if your room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lama016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

From the reviews l read this hotel didn't quite live up to my expectations.
Great building, modernised well.
Parking at the rear is great, bit of a challenge carrying bags through the restaurant.
Service on arrival was good. Room 9 was tiny, just room for the bed and a desk. It did have a good ensuite although the toilet kept running and the shower dripped, these items didn't cause too much of as issue.
Price was relatively low at $145 for the night.
Take my advise though, there are 2 function rooms and if you want a quiet night check before you book to see if there are any functions on.
The noise from the function room below was very, very loud. Had to turn the TV up much to loud, just to hear it.
The music either stopped or was turned right down at midnight.
The breakfast was great, not overly generous,( one egg and one piece of turkish bread) but good value and good choice on the menu. We don't eat big breakfasts so was fine for us.
Noticed when we went to The Lane for morning tea that their brekyies were much larger, but that was probably reflected in the price!
Overall good value.

Room Tip: Ask about the room and any functions on that night, before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollert, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Lovely hotel with king size bed and well appointed ensuite. I stayed in a studio which would be fine for 2 people. The food in the restaurant was divine - I can highly recommend dessert.

Staff were lovely and the only fault is there is no ground floor accommodation but there is porterage if you need assistance.

Would definitely book again.

Room Tip: They will match Wotif prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Beyond a doubt, this hotel is the finest hotel Ballarat has to offer!
From the moment I stepped into the warm and cosy reception, I was treated like royalty. The room was huge and with more luxury than I could imagine possible for the price (TV in spa)! With traveling a common routine in my line of work, I come across many hotels, and you can take it from me - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denx89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
121 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Centrally located; easy access / walking distance to all amenities. Administration needs attention: Rang to confirm booking - Person who answered the phone (man) had absolutely no clues who to handle my simple call! I booked for a queen bed for me and my partner, but was given a room with 2 single beds! Room was overlooking the courtyard; was a tad noisy as they had a function that night. Pleasant enough stay though, as we made the best of what we ended up with! Was here in April-2013

Room Tip: Re-confirm your booking details BEFORE you arrive - so you get what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERIC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.3 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#2 of 33 in Ballarat
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
0.2 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#7 of 33 in Ballarat
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
358 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
1.4 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar

Property: Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar
Address: 18 Doveton Street South, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique accommodation in the heart of Ballarat CBD. Great food, friendly staff and sunny courtyard in summer and gas log heaters in winter.The perfect place to stay for shopping, the theatre, soveriegn hill or attending functions in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing