We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Very good all round experience. Experienced high quality service from the moment I set foot into the establishment. Good food and smart comfortable accommodation. I will book to stay at Oscar's next time I go to Ballarat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverBullet2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

Convenient for railway station,parking in rear ok,service on arrival good.Room out front at top of stairs facing road clean and comfortable,first night full price,second night half price.Only stayed the two nights and didn't stay in for breakfast,but ate in both evenings,food very good & reasonably priced,restaurant very busy.Had a Function on on our first night,got woken up early am by noisy Australians laughing and shouting at top of stairs, which went on a bit,but we would probably stay there again,only mid-week!

Room Tip: If Function rooms are being used it's going to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slavetradersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My fiance and I travelled to Ballarat for a friends wedding along with another couple. We chose this hotel as it was centrally located to shopping and restaurants which was handy for us as we did not have a car. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the train station which was very convenient. Check in was quick and efficient. It is a traditional style country hotel. No elevator which did not affect us as we are able to carry our suitcases up stairs. Rooms are comfortable, bathroom is spacious. It does feel very much like you are in a room in someone's house which is quaint. The other couple that were travelling with us were lucky enough to be upgraded to a spa suite and their room was much more spacious than ours and down the end of the hallway so was much quieter as they didn't have the foot traffic past their room like we did. Food in the cafe/bar was great. We enjoyed breakfast there. It was a very handy location as we did a lot of walking around the town. If we were to return to Ballarat, I would stay here again, but I would ask to be put in an end room so it was a bit quieter.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end or the spa suite are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel is in a great location and you can walk to some great restaurants and landmarks really easily. The room was really clean and bed comfortable. There was a constant and irritating banging noise through out the evening and I assume it was coming from the closely located kitchen/bar. Overall the hotel is a little bit tired in some of the room furnishings but it's fine for a quick stop if you're not going to be spending much time if your room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lama016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

From the reviews l read this hotel didn't quite live up to my expectations.
Great building, modernised well.
Parking at the rear is great, bit of a challenge carrying bags through the restaurant.
Service on arrival was good. Room 9 was tiny, just room for the bed and a desk. It did have a good ensuite although the toilet kept running and the shower dripped, these items didn't cause too much of as issue.
Price was relatively low at $145 for the night.
Take my advise though, there are 2 function rooms and if you want a quiet night check before you book to see if there are any functions on.
The noise from the function room below was very, very loud. Had to turn the TV up much to loud, just to hear it.
The music either stopped or was turned right down at midnight.
The breakfast was great, not overly generous,( one egg and one piece of turkish bread) but good value and good choice on the menu. We don't eat big breakfasts so was fine for us.
Noticed when we went to The Lane for morning tea that their brekyies were much larger, but that was probably reflected in the price!
Overall good value.

Room Tip: Ask about the room and any functions on that night, before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Lovely hotel with king size bed and well appointed ensuite. I stayed in a studio which would be fine for 2 people. The food in the restaurant was divine - I can highly recommend dessert.

Staff were lovely and the only fault is there is no ground floor accommodation but there is porterage if you need assistance.

Would definitely book again.

Room Tip: They will match Wotif prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Beyond a doubt, this hotel is the finest hotel Ballarat has to offer!
From the moment I stepped into the warm and cosy reception, I was treated like royalty. The room was huge and with more luxury than I could imagine possible for the price (TV in spa)! With traveling a common routine in my line of work, I come across many hotels, and you can take it from me - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denx89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
0.3 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#4 of 34 in Ballarat
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#8 of 34 in Ballarat
256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
#6 of 34 in Ballarat
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 34 in Ballarat
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar

Address: 18 Doveton Street South, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Ballarat
Price Range: £87 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique accommodation in the heart of Ballarat CBD. Great food, friendly staff and sunny courtyard in summer and gas log heaters in winter.The perfect place to stay for shopping, the theatre, soveriegn hill or attending functions in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing