We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fine dining restaurant in Ballarat”
Review of Lydiard Wine Bar - CLOSED

Lydiard Wine Bar
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best fine dining restaurant in Ballarat”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We came to celebrate our anniversary and what a wonderful meal was in store for us.
We decided on having the degustation and loved every mouthful from start to finish. Taste sensations exploded in my mouth after each bite, the variety was amazing and the meal was very good value for money. We were totally satisfied at the end of the meal. We will definitely be returning and recommending it to our friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best restaurants in Ballarat”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Quality food is hard to find in Ballarat but Lydiard wine bar is definitely an exception. Service, ambience and the food is all outstanding and of Melbourne standards.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank melly125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not so special”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

After reading these reviews I had great expectations which were alas, unfulfilled. My partner and I found the decor not particularly to our liking and with a decided lack of ambiance. Sure it is housed in a beautiful old building but where were the subtle lighting or snug corners? We found it unimaginative and uninspiring. While there was nothing wrong with the service, we didn't find it particularly impressive and wait time was longer than it should've been. When our meals finally did make an appearance we found the portions too small to satisfy our appetites and neither of us is a big eater. The meals tasted good undeniably and they are not unreasonably priced but we would've needed another meal each to be satisfied. Disappointing.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Discerning_Damsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed 8 December 2012

It's been a few months but it was a dinner for 13. We had a set menu ($67 per head) and chose our own drinks. entrees were 2 separate samplers - oysters, smoked eel, mulberry leaf with trout. All remarked on an excellent main - choice of steak, barramundi or chicken. My barramundi was moist and flavoursome with a crisp (not overdone) skin. Desserts were interesting. It's not cheap and not a quick in/out dining place. But for a nice meal with good friends to celebrate, it's great. Our first visit impressed everyone - and two of them were ex-hospitality (one part-time lectures and teaches cooking). eaten worse for the same cost quite a few times.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Wow, great food and service, the steak and mango pudding were to die for, I am sure if this was in Melbourne, the prices would be a lot more than I paid, 3 courses, wine and coffee under 80 Aus dollars

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob99Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lydiard Wine Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing