We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed.”
Review of Lydiard Wine Bar - CLOSED

Lydiard Wine Bar
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Spanish, Australian
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
400 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Closed.”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The Lydiard Wine Bar closed in July and no longer exists!
However, if you want to try the kind of local fare and quality food that was served up here, its former proprietor has recently opened a place called Catfish Thai, which I will review once I have eaten there.
So far people are raving about it and I presume that many of the Lydiard Wine Bar regulars are now eating there!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fional943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unfortunately now Closed”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

THE Lydiard Wine Bar, voted Ballarat’s best restaurant twice in two years, has closed. The multi-award-winning eatery, which opened four-and-a-half years ago, held its last dinner on the March 23 weekend after the venue’s lease was not renewed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Monners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sumptuous dining in Ballarat”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Truly high class dining at this venue, many tasty entrees followed by main course and dessert. Staff are very attentive to your needs. Special dietary needs catered too also. Every serve different flavours and textures are a delight to your taste buds.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Windy154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pakenham
1 review
“Okay”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

For a restaurant with such good reviews we expected their attention to detail to be much better. We had the taster entre which was nice but excessively priced. We sat in the lounge area to share - We had to ask for napkins, and were almost made to feel like we were an inconvenience, contrary to their website we didn't feel cosy at all! And then came the cheese platter. Frankly my 11 year old could have done a better job. Squirt of paste next to some cheese. The cracker bread stuff was burnt and awful. No garnish, fruit, nuts or anything other than cheese and awful crackers - for a wine bar I would consider the platter to be a signature dish - very poor value at the price we paid. This is the first negative review I have ever made in a restaurant - but we were travelling and googled reviews - selected this place over some other well reviewed places - not a winner for us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Not great, I'll leave that accolade to the really outstanding restaurants but it's a Ballarat favourite and the food and service is consistently good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiArrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lydiard Wine Bar also viewed

 
Ballarat, Victoria
Ballarat, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing